We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and see the Magna Carta Exhibition”

Palace Green Library
Ranked #19 of 34 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palace Green Library, in the heart of Durham city, holds Durham University's special collections. Our galleries are open to all and display treasures spanning millennia and the globe.
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We learned a lot about how we became citizens rather than loyal subjects from this well laid out and interestingly presented exhibition. You won't leave your coat so leave that in one of the deposit refundable lockes in the lobby, but take your jumper because the air conditioning is set on the cool side.

Thank GdeB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thank you very much for your positive review and it was good to hear that you found the exhibition well laid out and presented.

Our feedback showed that 90% of our visitors tried or learnt something new during their visit and that ‘interesting’, ‘informative’ and ‘thought-provoking’ were popular descriptions in the comments book.

The temperature in the exhibition gallery is indeed a little cooler than is typical outside at this time of year - we have to keep the wonderful artefacts and documents at this temperature for conservation reasons so they do not get damaged.

Thank you again for your visit and we hope to see you again at a future exhibition here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magna carta"
in 19 reviews
"lindisfarne gospels"
in 9 reviews
"exhibition space"
in 4 reviews
"great exhibition"
in 3 reviews
"archaeological museum"
in 2 reviews
"scottish soldiers"
in 2 reviews
"changing displays"
in 2 reviews
"well laid out"
in 2 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 3 reviews
"scones"
in 2 reviews
"dli"
in 10 reviews
"battle"
in 7 reviews
"infantry"
in 7 reviews
"folklore"
in 2 reviews
Filter

70 - 74 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2015

Would have liked to have given no stars!!!
Warning bells 'rang' when I saw Ticketmaster involved...which is lazy organising on the part of Palace Green Library...and I don't want to have to have a Ticketmaster Account! Never mind, the website said tickets could be purchased at the door. We looked in the morning to find that there were over 20 tickets available for each of the time slots. We also rang, but no-one picked up the phone to speak to us.
When we arrived at 1:30pm...we were offered 2 tickets at 4pm. In the space of time it took us to say "Yes", he replied, "Oh, I can't...they've gone. We looked around...no-one else had been served..."No, it's the system", he said.
We've been to recent venues in Stockholm and Orkney where they have been only too pleased to say 'Yes', rather than disappoint someone at the door.
I guess it's ALL about online ticket sales.

Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to obtain tickets in person when you arrived and that you were unable to get through to us on the phone when you called.

We were very busy indeed in the last few days of this temporary exhibition and the tickets available at the desk on the day sold out very quickly. Our audience research suggests that many people prefer to buy their tickets on-line but we do recognise not everybody wishes to do this hence why we also offer tickets at the venue, but always subject to availability. Ticket availability changes very rapidly at high demand times, and unfortunately this is what you experienced.

I do hope this experience will not put you off attending a future exhibition at Palace Green Library and if so we would be pleased to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

What a wonderful setting! Brilliant exhibitions and really friendly and knowledgeable staff too! We've seen a few things here and each time there's been a couple of different things to do. Easily spend a couple of hours there.

Thank PBBADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you enjoyed this exhibition and also that you have seen other exhibitions here too. It is good to hear that you found our staff friendly and knowledgeable will certainly pass your comments on to my colleagues.

We now know that around 25,000 people have visited the Magna Carta exhibition, coming from at least 25 different countries, and also 64% of them visited Durham mainly for the exhibition.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again at a future exhibition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

When we stopped in here we had no idea the Magna Carta exhibit was here. We were just touring the sites and happened to go in the library. Enjoyed the historical memorabilia.

Thank SmokiesJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thank you very much indeed for your review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!

If you should visit Durham in the future please do look in and visit us again for a future exhibition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Saw the wonderful magna Carta exhibition here Excellently presented by courteous staff Has a nice peaceful feel about the place Lovely

Thank shakirayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thank you so much for your kind review and for your comments about the presentation of the exhibition and our staff who will be very pleased to receive this positive feedback.

You might like to know that over 45 different ‘rights’ for which people would protest were posted on the sticky note wall and that ‘Freedom of Speech’ was far and away the most popular vote using the tokens!

Thank you again for your review and I hope you will come back and visit us again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace Green Library also viewed

 

Been to Palace Green Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing