We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly overlooked by its two grand neighbours”

Palace Green Library
Ranked #25 of 60 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palace Green Library, in the heart of Durham city, holds Durham University's special collections. Our galleries are open to all and display treasures spanning millennia and the globe.
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Three things here. Firstly Bishop Cozens Library is a bibliophiles heaven. The smell itself might be bottled and sold. A amazingly intact 17th century library in a stunning room. Find time for this.
Secondly, there is an exhibition upstairs showing the development of Durham. Sounds a mite dull but it is not. Children as well as grown ups will love it.
Thirdly, a nice quiet restaurant/café at the back, and if the refectory in the Cathedral is full, or if the purse is suffering from overuse, then pop in here.
Was a student here for 6 years in the 60's, but being a scientist, never went in. How things have changed.

Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magna carta"
in 19 reviews
"lindisfarne gospels"
in 9 reviews
"exhibition space"
in 4 reviews
"great exhibition"
in 3 reviews
"archaeological museum"
in 2 reviews
"scottish soldiers"
in 2 reviews
"changing displays"
in 2 reviews
"well laid out"
in 2 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 3 reviews
"scones"
in 2 reviews
"dli"
in 10 reviews
"battle"
in 7 reviews
"infantry"
in 7 reviews
"folklore"
in 2 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit to Durham and a visit to the palace green and Palace Green Library is essential- nice gift shop as well very knowledgable staff.

Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We happened upon this hidden treasure quite by chance - the library had just opened for a couple of hourse that afternoon and the lady on the desk strongly advised that we went down to see it - we then met a very interesting student from Sheffield in the library and he was extremely informative - explained how damaging the light was and why visitors are limited - really a fascinating place and so glad we saw it.

Thank maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Bishop Cosin's Library at Palace Green.

This is indeed a very special place and I'm pleased my colleagues helped you to make the most of your visit.

Many thanks again for taking the time to send us your feedback and I hope you will be able to pay us a visit again, perhaps to one of our regular exhibitions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Excellent library open to the public. Had an old library donated to them with books still in use. Have exhibitions upstairs. Current one about Durham in the past. Also has a small shop

Thank Bohojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Library and our "Living on the Hills: 10000 Years of Durham" exhibition.

Do come and visit us again one day; we have an ever-changing programme of exhibitions and events and hopefully we have something for everybody!

Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We went to see the Magna Carta exhibition here. It was very well curated and extremely educational. I have studied a lot of British history but learned lots of stuff I had not known before.

Thank Wolframwolfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceGreenLibrary, Manager at Palace Green Library, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition.

It is great to hear you found the exhibition well curated and educational and I will pass your comments on to my colleagues who work in these particular areas.

Our feedback showed that 90% of our visitors tried or learnt something new during their visit and that ‘interesting’, ‘informative’ and ‘thought-provoking’ were popular descriptions in the comments book.

Thank you again for your visit and we hope to see you again at a future exhibition here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace Green Library also viewed

 

Been to Palace Green Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing