We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
DLI display

As library used to collect our tickets for the Castle Tour took the opportunity to look at the DLI... read more

Reviewed 2 February 2020
Michael N
,
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Norman Cornish exhibition

Visited this today. £2 admission fee. Was quite small exhibition but some lovely pieces of art on... read more

Reviewed 23 January 2020
Andrea M
,
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Read all 119 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Durham
from US$34.55
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
53
43
9
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
43
9
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display exhibition dli infantry tickets video
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016

There seemed to be nothing here when I went in February. Perhaps this is the wrong season. Gosh, I would have liked a look at the real library but this - so to speak - didn't seem to be on the books.

If I came back at another time, it might well be great.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank M2462CXchrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Visited for the "triple" Antarctica exhibition - Scott, Shackleton, Modern Research - each very well done. The photo of Scott's team at the pole having been beaten by Amundsen is probably the definitive representation of exhaustion and heart-break. The 3D model of Antarctica with the ice removed was astounding. Well done Palace Green Library!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The collections within this library have kept me entranced for hours, and it frequently hosts the best historical exhibitions in the north east. An absolute gem.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

My wife and I went to the recent Antarctica exhibition and I was spell-bound. It focused mainly on Scott and Shackleton and included a lot of the original photography from Shackleton's photographer. They were stunning and the story that unfolded as you walked the exhibition made me reflect about the character and will of these great explorers.
The library is a set of connecting rooms within an old building and much has been done to retain lovely architectural features. In addition, the staff are brilliant; very warm, friendly and knowledgeable. It even has a great cafe for time to rest those tired feet! Accessible by wheelchair, it is well worth a visit. Their next exhibition is on the Somme 1916 and its links back to Durham through the men of the DLI and others who served in the Great War.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank JHT2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Great exhibitions are held here. There is a quiet cafe which is useful for catching breath and plotting your next walk.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank 69Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews