We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my medium steak bled all over my salad”
Review of Hide Cafe Bar & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hide Cafe Bar & Grill
Price range: US$67 - US$67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my medium steak bled all over my salad”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

went there today, and looked forward to my lunch. I ordered rump steak, medium to well, and a glass of Pinot Grigio Rose. The wine arrived first but was white, it was exchanged graciously (after about 10 minutes) and I waited another ten to fifteen minutes for my steak - it looked OK, but I soon discovered that the waiter had misheard my request for a medium to well done steak and ordered a medium rare - big difference.

The service was courteous, and other diners seemed happy with their meals, but alas, I won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best meal in Durham”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Definetly the best food in Durham, good menu range as well as very nice cocktails! Really good service, Valentine's menu was excellent, have been a few times and consistently enjoyed it. Definetly the place to eat in Durham. Not cheap but worth the money

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's ok, helpful staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This place is ok, I've been on several occassions, but I really wouldnt rant about it. The last time I went it was very busy and but the staff were very helpful and made space for us, on a night when the University combined with a festival to make Durham the busiest place in the world. We were happy with the food which was workmanliek but uninspiring. This place sells to its audience and it does that well but I would not seek it out especially.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksonFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Small portions with a quite expensive price tag. Not much choice for vegetarians. Food OK

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington , UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Why bother!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

have been a few times to Hide, whilst food is nice variable service. staff don't want to be there and hence service is slow to on medium. Have tried to have breakfast a few times, but varying opening times. I stood outside once and the staff could see me there but didn't ever come to open up. heckled when they were supposed to be open but this was never the case. The last straw is that on the week end they said had ran out of food and weren't serving!
Absolutely terrible! Once told the fridge had broke and not serving.
Won't be good there ever again! Can't be relied on!

Helpful?
Thank nikcoopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hide Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Witton Gilbert, Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing