We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay”

Ask Italian - Durham
Ranked #89 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Durham is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Durham menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Corringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very friendly service but as with many Italian restaurants found it a bit pricey.
Food was very tasty,Chicken escalope with greens wasn't my taste and they could only offer side salad as an alternative.
Still tasty though. My wife had a very nice and large chicken salad.
Desserts to die for especially the honeycomb cheesecake

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taurean_traveller122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    135
    84
    62
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island
Level Contributor
211 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Convenient for Millennium Square visitors.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We'd been dropped off our coach near the lift up to Millennium Square and had no idea where to go, but saw Ask and immediately recalled our daughter's recommendation.

We were not disappointed and we shared a very tasty thin crispy pizza (we'd had a large hotel breakfast!). The red wine was served at the correct temperature in a quirky glass.

We liked the decor, the service and the view of the live music in the square.

Afterwards we explored the old indoor market hall and sadly had to leave Durham

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madamemerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overall perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I always use Ask and this venue again ticks all boxes.

You can also add or takeaway items on your main meal, if you for example do not like mushrooms an alternative can be given.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOBBYAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Friendly, helpful and efficient staff in a centrally located restaurant that provides a great choice of high quality food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank johnkfenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food - not the best environment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The food and waitors were very nice and pleasant, nothing below standard. Plently of room, being a large restuarant. Regular service from the waitors too, despite this. Our only complaint would be it's location. Just outside there are a number of bars and clubs full of people who have had a little to much to drink and as you walk through this area, especially with children, you can't help but feel a bit shocked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arabesque10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ask Italian - Durham also viewed

 

Been to Ask Italian - Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing