We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only self catering place to stay in...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary
Granary Forecourt Spacious Lounge/Diner with Oak floor and beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
The Granary
Granary Forecourt
Spacious Lounge/Diner with Oak floor and beams
Green Bedroom - Double with fitted wardrobes
Twin Room and en-suite shower room
Blue Room - Double with fitted wardrobes.
Kitchen
Newstead Abbey
Abbey Lake & Stable Block
The Granary (West View)
The Granary (Front View)
Green Room with fitted wardrobes
Twin Room with fitted wardrobes
Blue Room - Double
Lounge with oak stairs to the blue double and twin
Granary Forecourt (view from blue bedrooms)
The Granary (West & North views)
Blue Room luxury en-suite
Blue Room en-suite
Green Room luxury en-suite
The Lake & Byron's Folly beyond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newstead, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LouLouMay...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mid range accommodation”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I found this property by googling 'pet friendly' and then saw lots of positive reviews so I enquired. However, after the owner sent me the policy on dogs I decided not to take my collie and that proved to be the right decision because the house isn't really appropriate. There is not a garden, only a shared courtyard for parked cars, and to reach the grassy off-lead areas it is a one mile walk, along a narrow road shared with cars, to the grassed areas surrounding the Abbey.
The grounds around the Abbey are stunning. The Granary is part of a renovated steading type area at one end of the park. The other properties in this shared area seem to be privately owned; indeed one owner was upset with me and 'holiday-makers' for using the wrong re-cycling bin and shining car headlights into his windows; neither done purposely.
The Granary is nicely appointed with beams and wooden doors. It's quite dark downstairs with only a small window in the lounge. The kitchen window has been covered with an opaque sticky film so you cannot see outside. The lounge is a fair size with comfortable sofas. The pine dining table is only big enough for four adults and the galley kitchen is very small and dark. A vacuum cleaner sits under the stairs but it failed to 'pick-up' when I tried to use it and it left an unpleasant odour.
An open-plan staircase leads from the lounge to the twin room and the blue room. Both of the bedrooms are tastefully decorated with large bathrooms.
The green bedroom is via a staircase on the other side of the lounge and sits directly above the owner's kitchen, therefore you hear their activities every morning between 7-8. Also, the heating to the green bedroom seems to be controlled from the owners house and therefore comes on with their heating which wasn't always convenient to our time in the bedroom, therefore the room was often cold on going to bed and getting up.
My main issue with the property was the green bedroom; the mattress was awful. Very uncomfortable with springs going and a thick plastic mattress protector not aiding any comfort. The duvet and pillows were thick wads of man-made fabric; not nurturing in the least. There are no bedside lamps in the green room. Lighting is supplied by nine bright overhead lights which were not conducive to bedtime reading.
I have seen this property marketed as 'five star' and 'luxurious'. It is not. It is mid-range. Clearly many visitors have enjoyed their stay at The Granary but, unfortunately, it didn't do it for me.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Sorry the property was not ideal for you. We had spoken to some guests staying over this period but not to you personally, and they were very happy with everything.
Guests are provided with details before they arrive and on arrival stating they should let us know if they need anything or have a problems, we only live next door. However, none of these issues were brought to our attention at the time.
The green room can get extremely hot and different guests want different degrees of heat. We noticed you had used the extra blankets but were also aware the sky light was left open most of the time which let the heat out.
I always send dog rules in advance so the guests have the choice whether to bring pets or not. These require dogs to be supervised as there are many horses in the park and so owners are expected to use dog leads. Then guests are able to make the correct choice.
We have 10 acres in the middle of a large county park so there are plenty of places to walk dogs, but not off lead.
The issues we are able to address will be corrected, we are dependant on guests to inform us of concerns so they can be addressed so thank your the feedback. We try hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B
Mackay
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The only self catering place to stay in Nottinghamshire”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Wonderful - this was our second time staying in this amazing accommodation - our third time to be in March 2017 and I very highly recommend it
Steve and Carol are fabulous hosts - the cottage was decorated beautifully for Christmas and the homemade Christmas cake waiting for us lovely welcome
The accommodation, 3 beds all with en-suite baths are perfect for families and groups and all accommodation to a very high standard
Location within grounds of Newstead Abbey is perfect - walking, duck feeding, cafe all there to do
I cannot recommend this property highly enough
Thank you Steve and Carol

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Always a pleasure to have you stay and look forward to your return.
Nice that someone appreciates the Christmas decorations.& thanks for the Pigs Peake
See you soon.
Steve & Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millymoll...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home with friends from Germany”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My husband, son and I arrived to this stunning property, ready for the arrival of my friends who would be driving for 16 hours from Rotenburg AF Germany for my husbands birthday. The Granary is stunning in a fantastic location within the grounds of Newstead Abbey. A home made birthday cake and birthday banners greeted us on arrival, along with tea and coffee. Everything was fantastic; you could fit at least 4 people in the bath if you so desired. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the cottage
Liked least: dining table too small
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Mandy thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Steve and Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwalli...
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We enjoyed our fifth visit to The Granary at the end of the October Half Term. For the first time, though, we had use of the third bedroom as friends of ours were joining us and it was all as lovely as the rest of the cottage.
As time was limited, we opted to cook a meal in the cottage for our friends and it was so brilliant to have the homemade blackberry and apple pie for dessert which Carol had made to leave for us on our arrival. The measure of the owners' thoughtfulness is that they also left two sachets of custard to go with the pie - now that's what I call service!
Our dogs, as always, loved their mini stay with fabulous walks through autumnal tree lined avenues down to the grandeur of Newstead Abbey.
We will, I'm sure, be back for our sixth visit in the new year. This place is a real gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Always good to have you stay. and thank you so much for this lovely review.
See you again soon I hope.
Steve and Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy D
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our son was getting married in the area, we found this place through a friend. We are all very happy of this place. On arrival we had an apple pie, our daughter in-law said it was very reminiscent of The Railway children and she thought it was a cute touch. We have various family members coming and going. We hope to return and visit more of the general area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you it was lovely to have a large Italian family stay with us in the Abbey park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catloveri...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over the Mayday Bank holiday with our adult children, their partners and our baby granddaughter, so the three ensuite bedrooms were ideal. Two have huge baths, with overhead showers, the third has a large walk-in shower. Two of the bedrooms are on one landing, the third is at the other side if the cottage. There's a living area with comfy seating and a dining area which seated 8. Off the living room is a small room with a dog cage but we found it ideal for parking the pushchair.The kitchen is well-equipped and even has recipe books. There's lots of tourist information in the cottage, as well as books and games. Steve and carol thoughtfully provided home made cakes and tea, coffee and milk so we could have a drink on arrival. They were also kind enough to bring our towels in when it rained whilst we were out. There's a friendly feel to the cottage and the whole family loved it (I even got brownie points from my son in law for booking this cottage ).the location was ideal becayse it us midway between different family members , is easily accessible from the M1 and is in a lovely location. We will absolutely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments; so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenifer R
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not suitable for dogs”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at the cottage for 3 days. It is a lovely location and lovely cottage. Not suitable for dogs as far as I'm concern!!..No outside space to let the dog out for a wee. Every time the dog wanted to go out we had to take him on the lead. There is also dogs roaming round and barking at you whilst trying to walk your dog!! A caged area is under the stairs where you are told you HAVE to put your dog at night and if you leave them alone. Being the owner of a Bullmastiff who has never been caged this was a good idea so I ended up staying in for the day whilst my partner went to the places we couldn't take the dog. Hundreds of ANTS in the kitchen and attacked our food,the bin was swarming with them. Very strange for this time of year! We never met the owners so never got chance to air our views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The lovely big bathrooms
Liked least: no outdoor space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
I am sorry the guests did not feel the cottage was dog friendly, we have many guests with dogs who have stayed and all had a great time. We have a 10 acre site and are in the heart of Newstead Abbey Park where people take dogs for walks on and off lead it is perfect for doing so..
I can't comment on the ants as the honest truth is we have not seen any when we cleaned, new guests who the same day that these current guests left and they have not seen any?
We were not here when the guests arrived but they are informed in the details we live next door and if they have any issues to come and see us, they also have our telephone number.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing