We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amateur vs Professional”

Wigan Little Theatre
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amateur vs Professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Please understand, that amateur means "for the love of it", whereas professional means "getting paid for it. The terms have nothing to do with standards. The people involved are actors, and, whereas some people are brave enough to enter the professional theatre which is highly competitive and overcrowded, others take the more pragmatic approach by treading the boards in a well organised, and, and well run outfit such as this one. The actors at Wigan Little Theatre, of whom I am one, could well be professional, but choose to eat instead.When you go to the theatre, remember that there are good, bad, and indifferent actors both in the amateur and the professional theatre. That, presumably, are why critics make a living. Go with an open mind and be prepared to be entertained. The show you see might well not be to your taste, so the secret is to choose wisely to avoid disappointment

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cozy little theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I like Wigan Little Theatre but when compared to a more professional theatre such as the Octagon in Bolton, I find it a bit expensive as it is only an amateur one. I've been a few times and the performances were average, nothing special. It annoys me that you can only buy tickets after a certain time at night, so it is not very convenient. I'd rather go some place else.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anaowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

1st time in visiting Wigan Little Theatre, and very surprised, very nice place, all the staff very helpfil. nice seating. excellent overall

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality productions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wigan Little Theatre is an excellent theatre producing plays which equal professional standard in many respects. The scenery is so good and the choice of plays are to most people's taste. The seating is comfortable and the bar area very cosy. Overall they are to be congratulated on providing excellent entertainment throughout the year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were a party of six who went to see the last night of a production of Absent Friends, there is a very friendly atmosphere around the theatre, the downstairs bar took our order for interval drinks and we enjoyed a great performance. We would all recommend the theatre for an enjoyable night out!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wigan Little Theatre also viewed

Appley Bridge, Wigan
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Wigan Little Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing