We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service.”
Review of Baby Elephant

Baby Elephant
Ranked #54 of 398 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Award wininig south indian home style food / bar/ restaurant / takeaway service/
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ignored for half an hour before complaining for someone to take our order. No apology was made. Food is good but let down by very very rude staff and poor service overall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vinlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    52
    16
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best onion bahjis ever”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Been several times and never disappointed. Eat there or take away: always up to a very high standard. Can really recommand this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wiejebetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Over-Rated”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have been to this supposed up-market Indian restaurant a few times. The service has always been excellent to a degree. The food on every occasion has been quite poor. Have had better from average Indian take-away's. Last visit I recall ordering duck tikka which was so over cooked it resembled charcoal ! This was sent back of course. The waiter returned saying no more duck was available so I opted for lamb tikka. I could not believe that this was cooked to the same level as the duck, once again, charcoal-esc ! The main course was oily and did not resemble to menu description at all. Having given this restaurant a few tries with friends, I have to say they will not be getting another visit from me again. Avoid and look elsewhere...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Indian restaurant ”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The restaraunt itself has a tasteful and cosy interior. The staff were very attentive. Food was delicious. I believe that this restaraunt would benefit by having a children's menu available for younger guests. Overall a pleasant dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank lyndsay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Indian”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I come up to Wigan to see my grown up kids and over the years we've tried every Indian restaurant in the area going as far as Bolton and Manchester. Not any more, now we always go round the corner to Baby Elephant. We usually dine early - about 6.30, no need to book and no hassle to get served. Good service and really good Indian food - what's not to like!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baby Elephant also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Chorley, Lancashire
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Baby Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing