We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holts Arms

Holts Arms
Ranked #66 of 393 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fabulous Home cooked food in a 17th century inn with excellent wines and quality cask ales, roaring fires in winter, stunning beer garden in the summer. One of the best little pubs in Lancashire!
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We took eight Swedish friends for some food and drink here during their recent visit and we all had a good meal with lots of drinks. The ale here is very good and our friends certainly agreed! We also drink here and our dog is always welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    40
    22
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Warm and pleasant atmosphere, welcoming staff.

Food was particularly good, large portions, hot and all freshly made, The beer garden is large with the bowling green and kids play area.

Definitely recommend the Sunday dinner :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sleak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Call of Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Called in on spec when out for a long walk.
Large beer garden, front and rear.
Really good menu and we chose a starter and two mains which and i have to say - were superb.
I neally changed my mind when i kept seeing different mains comng out of the kitchen but wasnt disappointed, it was great.
Really old and atmospheric pub this but also very clean.
...I'll be back'...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and Pictureque Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Heard favorable reports about 'the foot' from a few people and thought
we would give it a go.
Really thorough and good menu, wide choices but not overpowering like some places.
Big Beer Garden and Dog friendly.
Good price range with a terific result...'spot on food'
Prawns and the Kebab were 'lush'
Really polite service from the girls behind the bar.
Will go again - no worries

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch with daughter & grandson.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a very nice lunch here. The landlord was very helpful, & accommodating with our 3 month old baby, despite being very busy. The pub was nice and warm, music was in good taste and not too loud. Daughter said her smoked haddock tagliatelle was amazing and my fish n chips was delicious. Facilities were clean and adequate. Nice to see. Plenty of car parking and also a great childrens outdoor play area (though our 3 month old baby is bit young!!) Definately be using that in the future! Will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holts Arms also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Billinge, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Billinge, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Holts Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing