We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Fifteens of Swinley
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fifteens of Swinley
Ranked #3 of 5 Wigan B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Me and a friend had booked a night to stay in this lodge. As we arrived we ordered drinks but kept getting replys like "we don't do them" simple drinks like wkds as it is a pub after all! Then once we had been out in wigan and came back at 3am in the morning, to then realise that the key they had given us did not open any doors on the outside of the hotel, therefore left me and my friend stranded outside for two hours in the early hours of the morning until we had to ask a stranger in the streets to pull open the door! As we knocked on the doors and rang several times, there were simply no answer at all! This left me and my friend absolutely horrified and freezing! We're both fuming and would not recommend this place to anyone! To end this review as i parked my car outside the pub (as there were no where else to park it) i pacifically asked if i was ok to leave my car there over night, the lady at the bar said yes but make sure it is moved by nine it'll be fine, as i went to my car at half past 8 the next morning i had a penalty fine on my car!!! I would never come to stay here ever again! Completely horrendous!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graceclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
18
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after watching four in a bed and the hotel looked quirky!
We stayed on a Saturday night. Arrived to be greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our room!
It was fabulous! Clean and definitely different - in a good way! We had en suite -again lovely and clean. Tv, stereo tea and coffee, just what we needed to chill out before going out. We were given keys to let ourselves back in if we were going to be later than 1am.
Obviously there is a bar underneath the rooms so if you are looking for somewhere quiet to stay this might not be the best choice! But we were out until the bar closed so didn't bother us.
I noticed some reviews have said negative things. I had a fantastic time couldn't fault the accommodation, bar or staff will be booking again very soon and to top it off it was only fifty pounds! BRILLIANT.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank KarenF3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The 1968 Trades Description Act says places like these cannot:
'make certain kinds of false statement about the provision of any services, facilities or accommodation.'
Even so, it says it on the pub door and on their website 'bed and breakfast', there is NO breakfast as other writers have discovered.
In my case, there was barely warmth.
My £50-a-night room had a tepid radiator, and a bed mattress you could push all the way in - it was that ragged and soft.
The free wi-fi didn't work and the room kettle was black on the inside. It's a minor point, but you would have though someone might have wound the clock back to the right hour?
I explained that I would be late, and the manager gave me a side-door key. I needed two keys as it turned out, and I didn't have the second.
By sheer luck, a late customer was having a fag outside the now darkened pub at 11.20pm, yup, they bed early around here, and knew the manager lived around the corner.
By banging on her window, she appeared in pyjamas and slippers and produced another key to let me in.
I let myself out in the morning through the side door: not a soul was stirring, and left a room with a fine TV and all channels, as well as a modern bathroom that boasted not one piece of soap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wigan hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great welcome and owner was very courteous and hospitable. The style of the room was really nice, you can tell the owners are very proud as the room was immaculate and very tastefully decorated in its own boutique style. Good facilities in room . a really nice stay thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt_0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here a couple of times.

Lovely room and staff. It's a 10 minute walk into the town centre. Kirsty is very friendly and helpful. She even spent lots of time trying to find another hotel for us when we called once and 15's were full. Excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

It's a nice enough place, and staff were friendly and helpful, but... where's the breakfast? In fact, besides crisps and a pint, there's nothing on offer in-house. And the wi-fi doesn't reach as far as the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed for two nights.All in all we had a good stay at fifteens at Swinley. We were greeted with an entusiastic welcome. After we arrived we went ot into Wigan,and on our return, we were told there was a mix up with our room, and asked if we were okay about changing rooms. We were happy to do so, and the chap in charge, apologised and certainly made up for the slight inconvenience. We slept well. He made us feel very welcome, gave us a recommendation on where we could park the car, and generally couldn.t do enough for us.
However on Saturday when we returned to 15s, we were disappointed to see that the room wasn't made up for us. The bar was busy, so we didn't want to give any extra work to the welcoming staff..However, as I say overall a pleasant stay.Fifteens is value for money, but does need to pay more attention to detail. Breakfast not available, but we knew this.

Room Tip: Short walk into Wigan for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorsetWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
1.5 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Wigan
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifteens of Swinley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifteens of Swinley

Property: Fifteens of Swinley
Address: 15 Upper Dicconson Street, Wigan WN1 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fifteens of Swinley 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish boutique rooms, including both double and twin non-smoking rooms. Continental breakfast included in rates and tailored to your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fifteens of Swinley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing