We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice buffet”
Review of The Chinese Buffet

The Chinese Buffet
Ranked #85 of 421 Restaurants in Wigan
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice food and atmosphere. You can have some things cooked in front of you. Unfortunately, you have to pay to park on the car park.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank darncar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi there, thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed dining with us. The car park doesn't belong to us its a private car park which we have no control over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am a picky eater and love the fact that there is soooo much choice - much more than other supposed buffets. Fantastic value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Texmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

thanks for your feedback, always great to hear back from someone especially when they struggle to find dishes they enjoy. So glad we could offer you plenty to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

really enjoyed the food at night as there is a better choice, nice and friendly staff spotlessly clean.and we liked the refurbishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank colinG193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for your review, glad you like the refurbishment and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have visited the Chinese Buffet in Wigan on several occasions, the first was at the beginning of last year (2013). i have been a few times recently and it seems to have had a face lift since i last went, all the 'self-service food areas' are a lot better organised, so you don't get any banging into other people when trying to find what you want.

I tend to go with my partner and nan, who both love Chinese food. Me like my five year old son are not so fond of it but don't mind the odd dish or two. But there is a good choice for everyone, including the kiddies with a selection of english dishes also. My son loves it because he can just go with me and choose what he wants without being told what he has to eat, even if it is a funny combination he still enjoys it.

The manager is great, very friendly, some of the 'younger' staff seem a bit clueless at times and don't seem to know what they are doing but you can't have everything. The seating is in a good layout, catering from couples up to large families or business lunches.

For the lunch menu I think the price is still a bit steep for what is on offer compared to the evening/weekend menu, but if you think about it, you can get a starter, main and desert (or several of each) for the price, i don't want to patronize myself but I think a few quid off would appeal to al ot more people.

The best part for me is the deserts, there is a whole range of different mini desserts, they may be little but when you are having 2, 3, 4 ok maybe 5 (or so...) you get a good choice.

All in all not a bad place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a lengthy review. You're right, we have had a facelift recently and I'm glad you like the new layout and experience. We also appreciate your comments about there being something on offer for those who don't enjoy a whole Chinese experience and while we are jot a world buffet, we do try to cater for these tastes especially in our younger guests. Once again many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the food in the Chinese buffet is excellent and a really great choice. it is good value for money as you can eat as much as you like. the service is also very good and the staff friendly. a really enjoyable experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karaoke-queen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet also viewed

 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Tyldesley, Wigan
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing