We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough for a weekend base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Leeds
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough for a weekend base”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Used this hotel for base for Ironman UK, Bolton.

Rooms adequate and staff were not concerned when we took all triathlon kit up to the room including the bike.

The location is good-Wigan town centre is only a 5 minute walk and there's a great shopping centre.

The restaurant and bar facilities are a bit rubbish. After Ironman we wanted a few celebratory drinks and the bar was shut at 11pm, so we only managed 1 drink.

Breakfast was good though with a well earned cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I was a concerned to read your comments with regards to the bar and restaurant facilities. We do offer drinks to guests, after 11.00pm, however it seems that you were not aware of this and for that I apologise.

We will be ensuring, in future, that all guests are aware of this. I do hope that this did not spoil the enjoyment of your stay and that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    212
    114
    21
    21
See reviews for
54
173
37
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for just one night in July 2014. The hotel delivered exactly what we wanted - no frills, just excellent value. Reception went like clockwork, room was ideal with a huge bed and a spacious bathroom with plenty of towels & plenty of hot water. Everywhere was spotless. Close to the town centre, close to the main road, but not noisy - we couldn't have asked for any more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Candid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. It is always very pleasing to read that our guests have had an enjoyable stay and I hope that you will choose us again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I needed to stay in Wigan as no room available nearby the Oak hotel is a budget establishment Bedroom was OK and bathroom adequate getting served for dinner was slow and painful service was poor.
However breakfast the following morning service was much better and food was hot with a good choice

Room Tip: There is a big car park which is free for residents
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read about the delay in your dinner service and hope that this did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your stay. I will be discussing your comments with my restaurant and kitchen team and thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is an excellent choice if you value your privacy. You can come and go without any fuss and at the same time mingle with other guests in the bar and restaurant if you desire.
There is something attractively old fashioned about the public areas of this modern establishment. The staff are are excellent. The food is good. We could not find any fault with the facilities during a four night stay. If we are in Wigan again we will not even consider staying in another hotel. The hotel might consider re-positioning the entrance. The present location does nothing to enhance the impression one gets of the hotel on arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the staff and food are much appreciated.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife, my dog and i stayed overnight at the Wigan Oak Hotel on our way up to Scotland. I had booked it blind on the internet because of the location and price. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the all round cleanliness of the room and the helpful staff. The room was very spacious and comfortable and we were supplied with sufficient tea, coffee, milk etc as well as shampoo and shower gel. Breakfast was bought as an extra but the buffet was plentiful and again very helpful staff on hand if requried. An all round good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your first stay with us and hope that we exceeded your expectations. We strive to give all our guests the most comfortable stay possible and it always very rewarding to learn that we have done this.

Thank you for your review and I hope that you will choose the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A guy called Joe assisted us late on the Wednesday night. His name was Joe. He only brought us towels and an iron but he was very polite and professional. We had a conference the next day and a lady called Sandra served us breakfast and also assisted with the lunch order. She was very helpful and friendly. Very welcoming team.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kateec94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review and and, in particular, for your very kind comments about Joe and Sandra.

Rest assured I will pass a copy of your review on to them.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel with polite and friendly staff and a great breakfast, also only a short walk from the town centre. Have a drink in the nearby Sam's bar on your way into town, it's rough and ready but very friendly

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Symon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that your stay with us was both enjoyable and comfortable.
If you are a regular traveller, why not take advantage of our Le Club loyalty scheme? You can earn air miles or a free nights stay. Details are available at any of our hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wigan hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Property: Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Wigan for business, taking in a game of Rugby or football or simply a relaxing weekend away, The Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel will make you feel right at home with its welcoming atmosphere and first-class cuisine and if you are a golfer, you'll be in seventh heaven too as we've negotiated preferential rates on the 9 and 18 hole courses at Haigh Hall Golf Complex. The hotel offers free parking and free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing