We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year at the Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Hotel

The Park Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Wigan B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Year at the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

New Years Eve at the Park Hotel is a brilliant way to celebrate the New Year. You have your own table all evening, have a wonderful meal, waited on by friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble. The landlady is always on had to help you enjoy the evening and at midnight there is free hot pot. There was 4 in our party and though my wife and I came here last year we weren't disappointed. There was no queuing at the bar because we were waited on hand and foot. Altogether a splendid evening and looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    6
    10
    21
See reviews for
25
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We went as a family to have a Sunday lunch at 4.15 ordered at 4.30. Ten minutes later told theres no Sunday lunch left...! Ordered new meals reluctantly and told 5 minutes later no fish and chips....!! 45 minutes later still no meals. Other people were served before us and told we had gone behind due to all the orders even though this was not our fault. When the meals came we had 3 different chicken dinners that all tasted the same, they were bland and dry with no flavour it,s as if the chef had to suddenly make all these meals because the Sunday lunches had run out and just did a load of chicken in the oven. No refund,no free drink or bottle of wine to compensate. My advice is don,t go there.....absolute terrible service and food.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayzer1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wigan hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Clearly a busy pub which doesn't always shine but I only view by my own experince and it was excellent food, excellent service and a pleasure to have visited. Try it out.



The multipitched slate roof is well maintained with a flower watering system based on the desert.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

What was suppost to be a family celebration of a 70th Birthday was spoiled by poor service. 1 meal out of four had to be sent back as it was under cooked, the waitress just said she must have been given the wrong information from the kitchen. Food was obviously just kept warm whilst the error was corrected and by the time it was brought back out the rest of the family had finished their meals. Whilst I was left to eat a plate of kept warm food with not even an apology . The drinks were mixed up. Poor attention to any details from the staff ruined our celebration night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a very good meal here, the service was a little slow but overall a good dining experience with a very nice atmosphere.
The Park Hotel is just off the M6 j25, it has a large car park with access to the restaurant at the front and the rear. There is an outdoor seating area at the rear of the restaurant. Access for wheelchairs is at the rear via a ramp, all the tables are on the one level inside.
Beware there is no disabled toilet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Went Wednesday evening. Had a chicken tikka curry and drink. Very good value for money and very tasty. You also get naan bread and popadom. Very friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Have been back since and had Sunday Carvery again, very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkEllend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Undercooked and overcooked food served on dirty plates. Waitress brought out starter and realised I had spotted dirty plate she took back to kitchen. And returned with a barely better plate! Salad was yellow and old main. meal of gammon steak raw. With scampi meal burnt. Awful and this was second time here. Actually thought I would try and give restaurant another try after first visit but wish I hadn't bothered!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ricky076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wigan hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
2.8 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 625 Wigan Road, Wigan WN4 0BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing