We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having booked this at the very last minute and only paying £54 for a family room I wasn't expecting much from this hotel but I was so wrong. The room we were put in (Room 129) was huge with a double bed at one end of the room and 2 single beds at the other with lots of room in between. Much better than some of the family rooms in the mainstream budget hotel chains. The restaurant was packed when we arrived so we opted not to dine in there on the night of our arrival but we did dine in there for breakfast. The meals were excellent value for money with a traditional breakfast costing only £3.90 filling even the healthiest of appetites. There was free on site parking however due to the popularity of this hotel it was extremely full by 7pm. The only negative I could pick on was the windows. They are only single glazed and due to the location of the hotel being on a busy main road in Wigan the traffic noise was quite disturbing through night

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    129
    51
    24
    21
See reviews for
60
125
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

25/04/2014 Room 126,
Room -
What a tatty old and shabby single room made into a double. As you can see from the picture, the headboard only covers a single width of the bed. The bathroom had split, peeling and discoloured silicone. The wall light fitting kept falling to one side and the carpet was well past its replacement date. I do understand that we only paid £49 to stay the night however I have paid less for much better.

Staff-
They were the only reason I did not complain. They were helpful and friendly and tried to make the best stay out of the facilities they had.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
891 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Can't give it a very good rating but don't take that the wrong way as this is great value for reasonable rooms and facilities. Usual Wetherspoon stuff with the pub but all in all I would give this a thumbs up and a recommendation without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Only a single night stopover for a visit to Wigan Athletic FC some 2.5 miles away. Adequate for our needs and generally clean. Free on-site parking behind hotel a bonus. Very pleasant reception on arrival. Bedroom quite small but again ok, all standard comforts provided, flat screen tv, tea/coffee, hairdryer etc. Approx 10 minute walk to town centre & also on a bus route. Had evening meal and breakfast both very reasonable, burnt toast being the only fault. Drinks at a fair price as in all Wetherspoons. We booked the day before at a very keen price and found Wigan to be an interesting and friendly town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluefox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ok if you don't want to spend much cash. Bedroom was spacious and clean. Bathroom was also a good size. That's were it ends. Bath had hairs in it my pet hate ! Why should I have to clean up after someone else.
Dinner was again good value but nothing to remember here. Steak and chips not talking Michelin star are we? Sirloin was tough, chips were not crisp soggy , the mushroom was ok so was the tomato.
I would have preferred to pay more and have a decent meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobra2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

When booking I required a single room but was told that the only room available was a double, unable to find anywhere else at short notice I accepted. On arrival the receptionist, who was very polite and pleasant, gave me room 107, when entering the room the actual bedroom was clean but basic, adequate tea & coffee etc., the double bed was two singles put together with a big ridge in the middle and the décor was rather aged. The rub came when I went into the Bathroom, immediately the mould all over the wall and windows stood out, it did not invite you to take a shower or a bath at all and the tiles were like walking into a Victorian public toilet. Having paid full price for this room it was not satisfactory at all, it was not cheap. When confronted with this the receptionist did give me a discount and offered another room, but this was the only one available wasn't it ?. She did explain that the whole hotel was awaiting a full refurb, maybe they should have had the room at a discount in the first place instead of trying to rent it at full price when it clearly was not up to standard. The staff by the way, were very good, shame they had to cover for the companies discretions. Would I stay again ?, stayed in better for a lot less.

Room Tip: Not 107 unless interested in different types of mould.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great VFM, clean hotel, Alison, who oversees the hotel side, cannot do enough to help and is an excellent advert for Weatherspoons. Room was clean, modern and Wi-Fi is easy to use. My first time staying here but will be returning. Book with confidence

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

I am always happy to help as are all of the Hotel team.

I am very glad to see that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and hope you have a safe journey.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
0.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
5.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#9 of 11 in Wigan
52 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brocket Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brocket Arms Hotel

Property: The Brocket Arms Hotel
Address: 38 Mesnes Road, Wigan WN1 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brocket Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is within walking distance of the town centre. It has 28 individual en suite bedrooms, all of which have been recently refurbished and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brocket Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocket Arms Wigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing