We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
derry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at the Brocket Arms twice within the last month, once for a wedding and then for a christening, on both occasions the stay was comfortable,enjoyable and reasonably priced with clean tidy rooms and friendly staff.We ate down in the bar and although this was bar food it was very good and at a reasonable price which was served very quickly by a friendly waitress or waiter.If I had one small complaint the rooms at the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy first thing in the morning with traffic on main road, rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.Overall a good stay and would return to the Brocket Arms again if I was in Wigan.

Room Tip: Room 118 at back of hotel facing on to a quite back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salouDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    130
    51
    24
    21
See reviews for
61
125
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our third stay at the Brocket though the first time we've stayed on a weekend night. No real complaints on the hotel side of our stay. Check in was efficient and friendly and our room warm and clean with a comfy bed. Only problem was a leaky tap in the bathroom which caused a wet floor. We had intended eating in the pub downstairs but changed our minds because the place was crowded and the service very slow. Perhaps this was a Saturday night because it hasn't been a problem on pervious stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed over night whilst travelling further south to break up the trip. I was very pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room for the money we paid. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly on arrival and asked us to let her know if we were not happy with room. We had dinner in the bar and agin the waitress that served us was extremely friendly and bubbly (young blonde haired girl) sorry I never got her name the meal was as you expect from a Weatherspoons no fuss honest pub food. I would definitely stay again for an over night trip

Room Tip: Room 110 is at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the outside this Hotel might seem somewhat austere however once inside you will be amazed. Plush carpets, polished brass and mahogany panelling and that's just the corridors.
My top three requirements of a hotel bed room are, a comfortable bed, absence of noise and a shower that works properly. In this case all three scored ten out of ten hence the above rating.
My only gripe is that the "York" ventilation unit, mounted on a roof outside of my bedroom, was a little noisy. This could be cured by fitting attenuation ducts that blow the air upwards rather than side wards or maybe an acoustic screen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

A very large family room with one double and two singles (not sofa beds!) so kids happy.
Check in very friendly and informative. A very busy eating pub, had steaks and excellent, being a Whetherspoons hotel excellent price too.
One small gripe, a lot of noise outside after one in the morning with people talking loudly.
Overall stay brilliant, oh and just 10 minutes walk from the town.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LynWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester.,England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Called in for breakfast. Nice large restaurant and looked very clean. Service was very prompt and the food was way above average even unlimited coffee refills. Will definitely be going back again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute and was shocked at the price. Didn't plan to use the room much but it would have done for a few nights not just one. Hotel is part of big Wetherspoons, which is great and handy for a night out round Wigan. Had some food there first and again was no problem. Whole stay was fantastic. Staff very helpful and courteous. Explained the room and facilities well.
Would I stay here again? For sure. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lew216830095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
0.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
5.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#9 of 11 in Wigan
52 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brocket Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brocket Arms Hotel

Property: The Brocket Arms Hotel
Address: 38 Mesnes Road, Wigan WN1 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brocket Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is within walking distance of the town centre. It has 28 individual en suite bedrooms, all of which have been recently refurbished and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brocket Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocket Arms Wigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing