We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mount

The Mount
Ranked #264 of 395 Restaurants in Wigan
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Been here twice now and plan on many more visits! Lovely food, good portions. Kids menu is great with lots of choice, they do a drink and dessert for £2.
All in all a lovely pub for a meal that doesn't break the bank. They also have a few booths with a TV that play cbeebies for the little ones!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    103
    62
    52
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“joke of a place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Sat 1st March at 19:45 was told would have a 45 minute wait for a table (you can not book a table at this place on the weekend which is a joke) any way they do not have a very good system they take your name and tell you to wait at the bar until they call you.
Any way we waited and waited, still nobody called us! After we waited for 70 minutes we asked how much longer it would be for us to get a table, bearing in mind it was only a table for 2 that we wanted! Only to be told by the idiot who booked us in (Steve Merchant look alike) that he had already seated that name!!!!! What a joke!!!!! He then just looked at us like a deer caught in the head lights. At this point it was 21:00 people were allowed to stay on tables long after they had finished their meals!!!! No wonder the wait for a table was so long. Customer service in this place is a joke. We promptly left and went the Raj gate which was far superior, excellent customer service and food. We will not return to the Mount and we certainly will not recommend the place to anyone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie6721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited at lunchtime just for a 'quick' sandwich and chips light meal.

They operate a system where the server who takes the food orders at the bar then gets the drinks as well, leaving the next customer (and plenty more in the queue) just standing there. Why they don't ask you what drinks you want first, then have another person getting them whilst you order your food, would be a question requiring a manager to observe the queues and come up with a better system, but there seemed to be no evidence of any management.

Then, when you want a second drink, you have to go back to the bar and queue again, behind lots more people ordering food, and the server getting their drinks as well.

Sandwiches were nondescript, chips dark brown and very soft.

We won't be going again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dont expect good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have visited the mount before but only for a drink which was ok. We decided to take Sunday Lunch, on arriving we were given a table for two and when we asked for the table to be reserved for a short time while we went outside we were told yes and a reserve sign was placed on the table. On our return the table had been taken by other diners with the knowledge of the staff and our drinks had gone. We were found another table and ordered food from a very poor uninspiring menu, roast beef was off so I ordered beef and ale pie mash and peas, I have tasted better hospital food, the pie was large in area but very thin and very little filling of which the beef was mostly grisle, the pastry was rock hard, the mash was from a packet and the peas were tinned. The front of house service was good but the kitchen seemed more a means to heat up bought in products rather than an area to actually cook food. I cannot recommend the mount to eat unless McDonalds is closed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I came here with my 7 month old.son and my mum, I.didn't have high expectations tp be honest as the hungry horse chain pubs in Liverpool are quite bad.

I was pleasantly surprised as the staff were really friendly and genuine. The pub felt more like a home, it was immaculate and the tables were not sticky. The menu is big, with quite the variety, and the prices are very good to.

Our food arrived very quickly and it was busy. The food was hot and looked appealing, the portions were spot on for my appetite - BIG! The food was as delicious as it looked.

I will definitely be returning back as soon as possible! I've been recommending it to all of my friends in Liverpool!

Thank you - the mount - one happy customer :)

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mount also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Leigh, Greater Manchester
 
St Helens, Merseyside
Hoylake, Wirral
 

Been to The Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing