We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wulfruna Hotel

Wulfruna Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wulfruna Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just returned from a weekend staying at the Wulfruna, our room was clean and tidy and the beds comfortable. The hotel overlooks the sea, they even provide a telescope and binoculars in the guest lounge. The breakfasts are well cooked delicious and plentiful, I would return when visiting Paignton.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    14
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

A last minute find through Booking.com and very good value. We had two adults and an 18-month old for two nights mid-week, and took a family room that over looked the green, beach and harbour (to the right) at Paignton. On request a travel cot was provided with appropriate bedding (unusual, in our experience).

Overall, we were very happy with this stay. On the (very slight) downside, the room and hotel has a fairly - let's say "traditional" - decor about it (only important if you are a sticker for design style over function), and there a few minor maintenance tasks that are probably waiting for the down season to fix (eg new shower head required), and whilst the tv in the room had freeview to help entertain the lad, it lacked a dvd player (though one was available in the communal lounge).

The breakfasts were great; there was free WiFi (unlike £200 per night hotels who charge extra!); there is a telescope in the public reception room that I enjoyed playing with; and the family hosts were very friendly and considerate. The location for Paignton and beyond is ideal, with the beach and new "geo park" playground just a short toddle away. The zoo with a little person in tow was brilliant.

The sun rises viewed from our bed were outstanding! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasterOil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Well this is a fantastic hotel! Wendy was so helpful and made us feel at home without being too intrusive. We had a fab room,plenty of room for us and our young son and best of all we had a sea view! We enjoyed it so much that we stayed an extra night! The breakfast was beautiful and there was plenty of it!! The location is great, overlooking the sea and being a 2 minute walk from the pier and amusements. The fact that you could park your car right outside the hotel is a big plus! Five star accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Postie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just got back from a two night stay and will definately be returning. Wendy gave us a lovely warm welcome and made our 4 year old daughter feel very at home.The room had a marvellous sea view and was lovely and clean, very comfy bed. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to choose from. Look forward to going back in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwmbran
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Wulfruna. I went with my sisters, friend, auntie and mum. We wanted somewhere where my mum and auntie could relax and we couldn't have picked a better place. Wulfruna is right on the sea front and was perfect for my mum and auntie who enjoyed sitting in the comfy chairs in the bay window looking at the sea and watching the world go by!
I had explained to Wendy that they were not very mobile and she gave them a lovely room on the ground floor. All of the rooms were a good size and were extremely clean, comfortable and homely.
We had dinner at the hotel on the first night as we thought it would be easier for mum and aunt and the food was excellent and good value. Wendy explained that they don't normally do evening meals at this time of year but when I explained that walking was a bit of a problem, she went out of her way to put on a lovely meal for us.
There are actually a good selection of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.
We used the large, comfortable lounge a great deal and my mum said that she felt like she was at home!
I really couldn't fault the Wulfruna. The location is perfect, the rooms are clean and comfotable, the food is excellent and Wendy could not have been more helpful. We will definitely be going back there and are already planning our next trip early next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We didn't and I so wish we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were greeted very warmly, shown to our lovely room & informed of the local establishments that provided good value food.
Breakfast was delicious, and the attention that Wendy gave to her guests added a quality that one would not find very frequently in a bog standard B & B.
Thankyou for such a great stay- we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Wendy is so warm and friendly nothing is to much trouble . She made us feel really welcome and made a fuss over my granddaughter, Room lovely and really clean and the breakfast is fantastic. It was my 2nd time there and we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannypasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.6 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wulfruna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wulfruna Hotel

Property: Wulfruna Hotel
Address: 8 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wulfruna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wulfruna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wulfruna Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing