We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming”
Review of Waterside Inn

Waterside Inn
Ranked #43 of 183 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Flaming Grill are national group of great pubs, that offers fantastic food in a family friendly environment at great prices. We have a sports bar with a pool table and four large TV's for football and sky / BTsport games available.Opening for breakfast at 11am (out of busy season and 10am in season) through to lunch and dinner. We have a great menu with some fab challenges on our new menu. Check out of full menu on our website or our face book page
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I went with my husband and two friends for the Monday quiz , a group at the bar were extremely noisy and loud , we had to hav a few questions repeated , weall ordered s drink each , snd was enjoying the quiz until almost the end when a woman who we believe was the manager , came to our table to collect our drinks and said there's a bar there you need to get drinks as we have to pay fir the quiz master !! How rude !! We were shocked and for all they knew we could have been going fir a meal on a later occasion !! However we will NOT be going again and no thanks for the unwelcome reception

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    105
    73
    37
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Longest I've ever had wait (1hour 15 mins ) from ordering for the toughest steak I've ever attempted to eat absolute rubbish won't be going there again on My next holiday to paignton

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sh52stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic food great menu excellent value for money”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been 3 times in a week every visit as good as the last food and drink as good if not better since new management

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterbarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the Waterside Inn yesterday after we could not get served in another local pub (see my other review). We were served our drinks in 5 mins and were even given a bowl of water for our dog without any drama. It was a nice sunny day and people were sat outside, the seating areas were clean and tidy and the hanging baskets all looked very pretty. We did not eat but there were plenty of people who were and my husband said the carvery looked very well presented. So we will give it a try next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treetops41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful food rude staff”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Called in for two meals for £12 not expecting a la carte but at least tidy pub grub.
Instead we got burnt food even my sister in laws dessert was burnt. And the staff knew because they all disappeared we tried to attract attention but they just ignored us.
We left there £33 lighter and hungry. Awful

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louise n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterside Inn also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing