We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brampton Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to stay, rooms clean and spacious, but most importantly for us was the warm and friendly service, great breakfast enjoyed by all Mark. Alysson, do not change your sense of humour for anyone, made our stay that much better! Hopefully see you for bmad biker event next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SezzySez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Even though i read reviews a lot this is the first time i have ever wrote a review. We booked this B&B on Late Rooms and after a long four hour drive i was quite shocked by the welcome i received at the door by Mark.There was no smile when Mark opened the door to me, there was no hi can i help you? After a short conversation with Mark in the hall way of the B & B he understood i had left the fiancee in the car ( TO KEEP AN EYE ON THE CAR ) plus the suitcases and also i was quite concerned because unfortunately i had to park on double yellows with not being able to find a space on the road of the B & B. Now I didn't have time to go back to the car and sort any of these issues before Mark asked me could i make full payment for the stay in the room. Now It just would of been nice as a guest in his B & B that maybe i could have solved one or perhaps all of my issues relating to my car first!!!! I will say though, its a shame my first impressions of Mark and the Brampton guesthouse spoilt our stay because we both thought Alyson was a really attentive host and the B & B was in a good location with a nice breakfast, but unfortunately the "WELCOME" i received left a sour taste in our mouths!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alypal, Owner at Brampton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

In seven years of running this B & B, my "welcome" has never been questioned. As I remember it, I was very attentive to sorting out his parking issues as I always am. There is a sign on my door which says " If you have enjoyed your stay, tell others. If you haven't, tell me". It is annoying that people hide behind these reviews when they haven't got the courage to say something to someones face. To leave us an overall score of 2 for this is both unjust and uncalled for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We found this b&b on late rooms after a spontaneous decision to stay for the night in Paignton. It was the best decision we made choosing the Brampton as the location is fantastic for the amenities of the area, the hostess is lovely and can't do enough for you and the price is great value for money, the room is standard but nice enough and the breakfast was quality. We ended up booking in for another night rather than travel to another local resort as we were that impressed. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and have no doubt that we will be back in summer or the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gembot1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alypal, Owner at Brampton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Aw, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review and such kind words. So glad you found us and look forward to seeing you in the summer. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Well,where to start!! After finding this B&B on the internet,i'm glad to say what a find!!!!! Mark and Alyson are the perfect hosts,make you feel like family :) We arrived on the saturday afternoon,and Alyson met us at the end of the road...when we arrived it was cosy and lovely. We paid up and then Alyson took our bags upto our room. A beautiful,clean room,light and airy. We settled in and decided to have a wander around.
The beach is only 5 mins walk,so great for us as i had got my 5yr old daughter with me.
Breakfast was excellent,a great choice of cereal,Alyson even went and bought my mom some Special K,and mom bought some fruit,which Alyson kept in the fridge for her. Cooked breakfast was excellent,lovely hot plate and lovely hot food. Plenty of toast and tea,and great conversation...
We could even order sandwiches for our journey home on the train,and you got a drink,crisps and fruit with that too,all for £2.50 each.

All in all,we had a brilliant holiday,a beautiful room with comfy beds,and hosts that were charming,nothing was too much.Thankyou Alyson and Mark,and we will see you again,i have no doubt...The O'Sullivan Girls :) xxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meghannsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

House is close to the beach (big plus here). very clean, family atmosphere, attractive price great service and teasty breakfest. We like to recomend this place to all people looking for quiet and not to expensive holiday. b&b is placed on midle Torbay so is easy to get to Brixham and Torquay where is lot of atractions .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dariusz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here late June this yr.A budget guest house with 5 star service.The owners Mark and Alyson make you feel very much at home.Our room was very comfortable with en-suite shower.The breakfast was very good,with something for all tastes.Everywhere was spotless.deff recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for ensuite as some rooms share a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noonoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just returned home having stayed in the family room for a 7 night stay and was not disappointed at all. The location was excellent as the beach, crazy golf, places to eat and a great play park is at the end of the road, which my 5 year old daughter absolutely loved !! Also its a really good base to visit all the other attractions in the area like the Zoo, Living Coasts, Model Village as they are not that far away. The room was very comfortable and very clean and the hosts Mark and Alyson were wonderful and very friendly. They provided the home from home feeling that they advertise and provided a generous supply of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and also provided excellent breakfasts everyday and nothing was too much trouble. I just need to mention that whilst there is a council owned multi storey car park at the end of the road and you can buy a weekly ticket which is excellent value at £33.00 and is transferable between various car parks in the area. The only problem that we experienced was the security on a night in the Victoria car park and unfortunately our vehicle was badly damaged overnight by youths that tend to congregate in the car park, so try and park it on the road in the evening outside after 6 but you will need to move it by 9 the following morning. However this is not any reflection whatsoever of the great stay that we had at the Brampton and would love to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alypal, Owner at Brampton Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and a very nice one too. It would be lovely to see you again. As you say, it is a shame your experience of Paignton was affected by the problems you had with your car. Whilst it is the first time we have ever had a guest have their car damaged (still once too often), we do have a problem from time to time with youths hanging there and are constantly battling with the local council and police to address these anti-social issues. We have now taken it up with our local councillor and will campaign to get these issues addressed so that holidaymakers coming to Paignton have a better all round experience without facing issues such as these which frustratingly are a little out of our control - but we will keep on campaigning! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brampton Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Guesthouse

Address: 11 Beach Road, Paignton TQ4 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £41 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brampton Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mark & Alyson are dedicated to providing a home from home atmosphere in a clean and friendly environment. Only 2 minute walk to town or beach. Tariff includes full English breakfast you will find hard to beat! (Light alternatives available). Free Wi Fi,Freeview TV, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities etc. in all rooms. All major debit/credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Brampton Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brampton Guesthouse Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing