We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paigntons Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Waters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Waters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Paigntons Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just arrived back from a mid Christmas break, the new hosts Jackie and Colin made us feel right at home, very warm and friendly couple. The room was clean and comfortable with easy access. Colin is a chef by trade so breakfast was excellent. The B&B was just behind the Palace hotel which is right on Paignton front therefore easy to get to all that Paignton has to offer. Parking was never a problem, managed to park just on the road near to the premisis. Hopefully will be returning in the near future to this little Gem Blue Waters Lodge.

Room Tip: Nice and quiet location but only 5 mins from Paigntons main attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyH347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
139
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at Blue Waters between Christmas and New Year 2013. Greeted like we were family. Jackie & Colin (new owners) were keen to help us settle in after a long journey, made us a brew and carried our luggage up in the meantime. Lovely room, light and airy, clean and comfortable. Large TV with DVD slot (and plenty of DVD's we could borrow). Fantastic breakfast, presented & served well with lots of personal touches and plenty of choice. No rushing to eat & finish up, time to chat with other guests. Both were very knowledgeable about the area and could advise on places to visit, things to do & see and recommended local eateries. A minute's walk to the beach, down the promenade, Paignton Pier and only a few minutes walk into the shopping precinct. Situated in a quiet area, some other hotels but also residential homes. The only down side to our stay was waiting for a parking space outside the front door - Jackie happy to repark her own car for our benefit. We plan on returning in summer. Thankyou Jackie & Colin for a fantastic long weekend stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Blue Waters for the weekend. Gillian and Paul were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely - it was a good size, very bright & clean with good facilities (including bottled water). Sight seeing information was provided and Gillian recommended several restaurants for dinner which were within walking distance. There was a good range for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Paul cooked us vegetarian sausages as requested which we appreciated. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PASTE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

we booked by phone after finding this b and b online. I then later emailled with dietary requirements which posed no problems, I was even asked which brand I preferred!

hosts were most welcoming serving coffee and biscuits outside on arrival and taking our case to our room. they knew lots of people locally and made good recommendations and also checked our thoughts afterwards to ensure their information was still up to date.

our room was light and airy and spacious. the en-suite was the cleanest I've ever seen! breakfast was excellent and between the guests in residence there was a selection of dietary requirements catered for.

located in a quiet road parking was tight but we had no problems as we walked to town or beach and caught the stream train so our car didn't move all weekend!

the only complaint we had was that our host said it wasn't going to rain one evening and it did :-)

we'd recommend you visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellingboroughCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Well what can I say we were greeted as though we were old friends,& it was our first stay.The room has excellent facility's with a decent sized shower as good as any hotel shower which often we found was very cramped.Everything we needed was there.The room was always spotless and breakfasts just delicious,& more of anything if wanted.There were so many thoughtful touches in the bedroom extras often not found in visits to hotels.Gillian was always there to see if we needed help to find out places to go,or very excellent suggestions as to how to spend a day which we took up on more than one occasion.Absolutely nothing was too much trouble.We would certainly stay there again should we decide to visit Paignton .Thankyou so much Paul & Gillian you are stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Gillian and Paul greeted us like old friends as soon as we arrived, even though it was our first visit, and stayed the same until we left. Car parking at the front door for the whole week was a real added extra with no added cost - Thank you Paul. We booked at the last minute and could not have found anywhere better. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who became more like friends very quickly and welcomed us into their home. And that is how it felt - home. We could not fault any part of our stay and we will be back again, hopefully before too long. If anyone is thinking of a stay in Paignton think about Blue Waters Lodge as the place to stay.

Room Tip: Whatever your needs, family rooms, four poster, twins or doubles this guest house has them all, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Gillian & Paul are the consummate hosts, welcoming without being cloying, with nothing being too much trouble, I am sure if I asked for the moon, they would do their best. I have stayed in many B&B's etc whilst on the road, this rates in the top 5. On this occasion it was a surprise planned by my daughter and me for my son for his 16th birthday, with my daughter. We were provided with a very well appointed family suite two rooms with a twin bedded room plus a double. (all en suite). Very clean & tidy rooms. There was even a card for my son, how thoughtful. Highly recommended. I would not hesitate to rebook.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingswinford Guest House
Kingswinford Guest House
#3 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Lodge

Property: Blue Waters Lodge
Address: 4 Leighon Road, Paignton TQ3 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Waters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Lodge Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing