We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden little gem!”
Review of The Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambassador
Ranked #20 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Out of hundreds of Guest Houses offering their services throughout Paignton we plumped for the Ambassador and didn't we pick a winner!
Visiting Paington for our grand daughters 1st birthday party.
On arrival greeted by Mark who was for our 2 night stay the perfect host.
Allocated room 5 which was large and spotlessly clean with the added bonus of a make up station in the bathroom.
Loads of little add ons - toiletries,bottled water,biscuits etc which you often don't even get in 5 * accommodation!
Breakfasts superb cooked to order with whatever you requested and continental something special with fresh strawberries,grapes,melon together with cold meats,cheese and croissant.
We most certainly will be back in the future.
Thank you Mark and Yvonne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our guesthouse and thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Yvonne and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

A lovely little Guesthouse!!!! Close to the beach and shops/restaurants etc. We were greeted on arrival with a smile, setting the scene for our 2 night stay. Our room was large and clean, with everything you could want in a hotel room plus some extra little treats like biscuits and hygiene products!!! If you're looking for good nights sleep, the bed provides this perfectly, being one of the most comfortable ever!!!

The owners were friendly and had a great knowledge of the local area.....Thanks to Mark we had a wonderful coastal walk allowing us to see all the local hidden gems along the way!!

Breakfast was cooked to order, lovely, hot and fresh......Delicious!!

Overall a definite winner!! Will recommend and return in the future!

Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 5 was spacious, airy, clean and had THE most comfortable bed ever!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We welcome any feedback but are always glad to hear we have met or exceeded expectations and our guests have had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very nice guest house. Clean and comfortable, clean facilities and a warm welcome from the hosts. A pleasure to go back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drchilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

We appreciate your comments and return custom. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Great location, 2 minute walk from the strip and beach front.
Lovely owners, very welcoming and friendly always had time to chat to us
Breakfast was very nice, good selection. Hotel is nicely decorated and spotless throughout, we stayed in a double room - very comfortable. Clean fresh sheets and towels, rooms well equiped with tv/dvd player.. Kettle and condiments. Selection of dvds in the lounge which you can take to your room to watch. Cannot fault and will be returning again this year. Would definatley recommend +++

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlove06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We visited the Ambassador for a third time in September,and I cannot express the warmth and dedication that Yvonne and Mark put into this beautiful Guest House. This time we met up with friends,who we had recommended the Ambassador to,they were not disappointed; so come on folks,where else will you get 5 star treatment with a 3 star tarriff; from the welcoming smile as you arrive, to the wave goodby as you leave, it doesn't get any better than this, trust me.
Thanks again Yvonne, Mark, Mollie,Bracken, & "little bump"

Room Tip: Ground floor bedroom is excellent, but you can only have it when my husband has dragged me kicking a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

What luck !, took a chance and picked this B&B as we were staying 1 night, we could have stayed for 7 ! The greeting and hospitality Yvonne & Mark gave us was outstanding, particularly my elderly mother was feeling poorly. So quiet and decor lovely , room very clean with en-suite well stocked with toiletries and parking on drive. Breakfast fantastic, even smoked salmon & bagels on menu !
Definetly recommend this B&B !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great B&B. Rooms nice and clean with good sized shower room/toilet with extra touchs like shower gel & shampoo etc. Breakfasts plenty to choose from and well cooked. Hosts very welcoming Yvonne and Mark were more than happy to help. Would definitely stay again and recommend highly. Pete & Lynn Cooper

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador

Address: 23 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small recommended 4 star guesthouse close to all amenities and beach. An ideal location to explore all Torbay and South Devon have to offer. Family run with comfortable, well maintained and clean en-suite rooms. Free car parking available to guests and free wifi throughout the property. Hearty breakfast included with traditional, continental or alternatives like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Larger superior doubles available for longer stays and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing