We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended by us”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambassador
Ranked #18 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Recommended by us”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just stayed overnight, room was comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. Yvonne was very friendly and she and Isla made us very welcome . Slept well in a comfortable bed and the shower worked perfectly. Breakfast was both tasty and generous. We would be happy to stay here anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejenny5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope we will be able to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
95
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is our second stay @ The Ambassador, and we will always stay there while visiting Paignton. Yvonne and Mark are very helpful and friendly, ready to give ideas of where to visit in and around Paignton. The rooms are very clean with all the facilities needed, very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent everyday, with loads of options to choice from. Great location, beach, train station and bus station only a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are grateful for your kind review. It was great to see you both again and hopefully we'll see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We returned to the Ambassador after having a great experience last time.

We had brilliant, warm & sunny weather this time and met up with our family for a meal and a visit to Exeter to see the grandchildren.

Lots to do and see in the area and, as expected from our previous visit, a superb stay at the Ambassador. Breakfasts were huge with an excellent choice, our room (No 5) was large and comfortable and lastly our hosts were super friendly and helpful. We've stayed in a few places in Paignton and now found our favourite and, when we revisit in spring next year we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have less traffic noise and a good view over the Rugby Club grounds and the Steam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
It was wonderful to have you both visit again and we appreciate you taking the time to review us again. We look forward to your visit in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Spent 3 nights in the family room, really enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean and spacious and en-suite very modern. Hosts were really pleasant and accommodating and we received an excellent breakfast. It was brill to have a parking facility, once parked we never moved the car as everything was in walking distance. Thanks very much for a fantastic stay - we will be recommending to friends :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review. We look forward to welcoming you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

our second stay here for three nights.Lovely room again and amazing breakfast,great menu choice.Mark and Yvonne make you feel welcome and warming.Looking forward to next years stay.we took my mum this time she enjoyed the short walks to the bus and train station and just around the corner to the beach great location .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
It was lovely to see the three of you again and we hope to see you again next year. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Colin& I stayed at the ambassador for 2 nights we arrived early & Yvonne gave us a lovely welcome we had room 5 which was a lovely large room . Mark cooked us a fab breakfast which set us up for the day. Mark& Yvonne are such a lovely couple & made us really welcome. We recommend the ambassador & will be returning. Whilst in Paignton we visited the zoo & thought how lovely it was. At night we had a lovely meal at harbour lights worth a.visit. Recommend booking. The second day we did the round robin ,we went buy bus to tontnes then got on a boat along the river to Dartmouth you can stay as long as you like then got the steam train back to Paignton well worth doing cost is £23 very good value.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colinbaulch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you both for taking the time to review your stay and we are delighted that you had a good time enjoying the local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend it was our first holiday away together and my first time in Devon and thank you so much Yvonne and Mark for making this time so special. We had a lovely time, nothing was too much trouble and our breakfast every morning was gorgeous, Yvonne was so attentive and always had a warm smile and good chat in the morning (and made a smashing brew!) We stayed in room 1 and it was a HUGE room, very clean and modern and we had a very comfortable couple of nights.

Thanks for everything, will definitely be returning!
Alice & kris

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We are delighted your first trip to Devon together was a memorable one and would be happy to welcome you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#24 of 100 in Paignton
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#30 of 100 in Paignton
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#19 of 100 in Paignton
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador

Property: The Ambassador
Address: 23 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small recommended 4 star guesthouse close to all amenities and beach. An ideal location to explore all Torbay and South Devon have to offer. Family run with comfortable, well maintained and clean en-suite rooms. Free car parking available to guests and free wifi throughout the property. Hearty breakfast included with traditional, continental or alternatives like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Larger superior doubles available for longer stays and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing