We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Florida Guest House
Ranked #41 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Florida Guest House was situated very well, being only a few minutes walk from the sea front. The room that we were given was adequest if a little small, my partner and I are both quite tall and we really struggled as the room was a little small for us. It was, however, clean and tidyand the breafast in the morning was served hot and set us up for the day ahead. The owners were very pleasant and I can not fault them. Our stay at the Florida was nice and I would recomment it for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EThompsonJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at The Florida for two nights with the son.
Very nice place with friendly hosts Tim and Pauline.
The room we had (2) was very clean. Tea and coffee well stocked, breakfast well cooked and enough to keep you going through til dinner.
Only a ten minute steady walk into the town, even shorter if the tides out and you walk along the beach. And only a minutes walk to the beach.
Would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwilko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

me and my friends stayed here in july and had a great time. the hotel is very nice and clean and only a few minutes from the beach with a bar just at the top of the road. the town is around 15 minute walk away, we parked outside the hotel and would definitley return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the florida guest house paignton for 4 nights it was excellent breakfast as u want it and plenty of it clean tidy and very helpful hosts we WOULD stay again when we get down to devon again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. A few yards from the Embassy Bar in Colin Street and a few more to the sea front. Friendly and helpful welcome on arrival from Pauline and Tim, comfortable bed and full English breakfast for only £4. Great value for money and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have just had a 7day stay at the Florida guest house,which has to be one of the best value for money band b,'s around.The room a little dated but clean and linen changed often.Breakfast was excellent and quickly delivered,including early one day so we could catch a train.Our hosts cheerful and friendly. Paignton a lovely old fashioned seaside town and the Florida ideally situate to take advantage of the seaside attractions,especially for people on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shacksnzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We chanced upon the Florida because there was a dearth of B&Bs sleeping 3 in a room. After a 2 night say, I can truly say that if you are looking for a good value, comfy and clean B&B then look no further. Add in the friendly proprietors Tim and Pauline and the great cooked breakfast (excellent bacon and sausages, no cheap rubbish here), then you have an excellent package. Tim and Pauline do not profess to run a boutique hotel, but the bedroom was bright and aired and our 10 yo grandson loved the arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.2 mi away
Waverley Guest house
Waverley Guest house
#58 of 96 in Paignton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#36 of 96 in Paignton
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#32 of 96 in Paignton
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Haldon Guest House
The Haldon Guest House
#21 of 96 in Paignton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florida Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Guest House

Property: The Florida Guest House
Address: 9 Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England (Formerly Florida Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Florida Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida Guest House is a family friendly bed and breakfast situated in the English Riviera, just 80 yards from the beautiful Preston Sands beach, and a short level walk to Paignton beach and Paignton Harbour.With it's ideal location it is perfect for days on the beach, strolls to the local shops and evenings spent at any of the many restaurants and bars.Pauline and Tim offer a warm welcome, a delicious home cooked breakfast and a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy your break in Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Florida Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing