We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at the Florida Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Florida Guest House
Ranked #38 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Florida Guest House”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had stayed here before but on a room only basis, this time we stayed bed and breakfast. A lovely clean well maintained guest house just off the sea front in Paignton. The room was bright and had tea and coffee making facilities with a chocolate on the side to welcome you and biscuits to have with your drink, a very nice touch.
Breakfast was well cooked and very tasty, with cereal, juice, toast and a full English on offer. The fried bread was the best we had ever tasted!
The owners were lovely welcoming people.
A value for money enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are both on suite and non on suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped for 3 nights, room was very clean, warm and nicely decorated, bed was really comfortable, plenty of tea/coffee , ensuite was small, shower was a tight squeeze and a bit dated, never the less spotlessly clean with free toiletries. Just a short walk from the beach and about 10mins from paignton centre. Hosts very friendly and welcoming :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1987catwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the florida guesthouse for 5 nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed it! Tim and Pauline were fantastic hosts!! The room we stayed in was clean, warm and the bed was incredibly comfortable! The breakfasts were great quality and very filling and we had enough tea or coffee to wake us up for the day!! We didn't want to come home!! We will definitely be staying there again asap!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaznian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Florida Guest House was situated very well, being only a few minutes walk from the sea front. The room that we were given was adequest if a little small, my partner and I are both quite tall and we really struggled as the room was a little small for us. It was, however, clean and tidyand the breafast in the morning was served hot and set us up for the day ahead. The owners were very pleasant and I can not fault them. Our stay at the Florida was nice and I would recomment it for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EThompsonJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at The Florida for two nights with the son.
Very nice place with friendly hosts Tim and Pauline.
The room we had (2) was very clean. Tea and coffee well stocked, breakfast well cooked and enough to keep you going through til dinner.
Only a ten minute steady walk into the town, even shorter if the tides out and you walk along the beach. And only a minutes walk to the beach.
Would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwilko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

me and my friends stayed here in july and had a great time. the hotel is very nice and clean and only a few minutes from the beach with a bar just at the top of the road. the town is around 15 minute walk away, we parked outside the hotel and would definitley return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the florida guest house paignton for 4 nights it was excellent breakfast as u want it and plenty of it clean tidy and very helpful hosts we WOULD stay again when we get down to devon again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.4 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#32 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Lodge
Sefton Lodge
#68 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trentham Guest House
Trentham Guest House
#16 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florida Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Guest House

Property: The Florida Guest House
Address: 9 Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England (Formerly Florida Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Florida Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida Guest House is a family friendly bed and breakfast situated in the English Riviera, just 80 yards from the beautiful Preston Sands beach, and a short level walk to Paignton beach and Paignton Harbour.With it's ideal location it is perfect for days on the beach, strolls to the local shops and evenings spent at any of the many restaurants and bars.Pauline and Tim offer a warm welcome, a delicious home cooked breakfast and a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy your break in Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Florida Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing