We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation for Paignton Sailing Club event”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #8 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked a room for me and my daughter as she was sailing in a National Series event at Paignton Sailing Club. The booking was rather last minute and I didn't know what to expect. On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised to find that although the B&B is about 1/2 a mile from the club, all the boats were neatly lined up directly opposite the B&B ready for launching from the slipway opposite. All we had to do in the morning was unload the boat from the B&B car park and pull it over the road ready to sail. The accommodation was excellent - comfortable beds and very clean. The breakfast was first rate and it was nice that after cooking, Stuart joined their guests for breakfast for a friendly chat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fabulous place to stay, breakfast is excellent, lovely, friendly people, stay there every year at easter. we have a sea view room. Dogs are very welcome to stay there too & are given a bag with essential things.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dougta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have lost count of the number of times we have visited "The Commodore" with our Black Lab. "Barney" Every visit is special as we are treated as old friends. Our new Black Lab, Storm, was made very welcome despite being a very active puppy. (He is 2 years old now and much better behaved). Stuart's breakfasts are amazing and set you up for the day. The accommodation is always faultless and Stuarts stories in the bar are legendary. We will keep going back!!

Tony & Kath

Room Tip: Sea view Rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Katonoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the Commodore and as before it was excellence all the way. Great room, great breakfast, great views from the room and superb hosts in Katrina and Stuart who are quite happy to sit with you and point out where to go and what pubs we can take our dog to which now adays is a rariety. It was my birthday weekend and they made it very special. They also allow our dog Angel a little Shih Tzu to stay and made her feel very welcome with a doggy bag with blanket towel and bowls which is fantastic. We have already booked in for next year May bank holiday and look forward to the stay.

Room Tip: Tell Katrina and Stuart what your needs are and they will pick the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiBazAngel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The first and last time that we decided to find a place when we got there. After driving around trying to find Prince Harry's latest favorite pub we happened upon the Commodore. In a row of similar buildings we picked the Commodore because of the pink color, boy did we luck out.

We got room facing out to the sea and even help with our luggage. We were sent over to The Shoreline a restaurant facing out on to the sea, they were kind enough to keep he kitchen open even though we arrived just as they were closing down. The food and service were great, so good that we actually went back after breakfast the next day for a coffee and to use their wifi.

A full cooked breakfast the next morning was excellent and more than we could eat but set us up for the day.

Overall a great stay if we're ever in the area again we would return, now off to Port Isaac.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit. We love coming here. Stuart & Katrina are lovely, friendly and very welcoming. We chose to stay here as our Cocker Charlie is made very welcome too. When we arrive he is given a "Doggy Bag" with towels, blanket and food & water bowls.
The cooked breakfasts are lush too!
We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snugs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCommodorePaignton, Owner at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for a great review, it is always lovely to see you and remember as always to call us direct for our best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went to visit a relative and sought a reasonable priced room. The Commodore was quite, friendly, lovely breakfast, good location with lovely views, if you book an upgrade for an extra £10. Not 5 star What more could you want.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidcotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCommodorePaignton, Owner at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for a great review, we are not 5 star, which is why we are so reasonably priced. When we were rated by the AA and Visit England we were rated as 4 Star, however as most guest didn't have a clue what the ratings meant, we decided to let our guests rate us and for us to concentrate on giving a great service at a realistic price, so that we can exceed your expectations. We are glad that we have accomplished this in your case, and hope to see you again soon. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#15 of 97 in Paignton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: 14 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £58 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. It's Great to Stay and Play in the UK if you are staying at The Commodore, Paignton, devon. We are a traditional family-run seafront B&B offering guest accommodation all year. The beach is just across the road, as is the 3D cinema, Pirate Bay crazy golf and the new Geo-Play park which is free and the kids love it. We welcome families with children and dogs and our aim is to make your stay as welcoming and relaxing as possible. 4 of our rooms have uninterrupted sea views across Paignton Green to Torquay and Brixham. The location is excellent with bus, coach, railway stations, the town center and the harbour, with it's ferry services just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing