We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed & Breakfast in Paignton”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Commodore
Ranked #6 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bed & Breakfast in Paignton”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just got home after having 2 nights at The Commodore Hotel, we booked at the last minute and where extremely lucky to have the last room available. Katrina & Stuart were extremely friendly and very welcoming, very happy to allow dogs in rooms as well, supplied with a doggy bag which was a lovely gesture. The rooms at the Commodore are immaculately clean, spacious, and a very comfortable. We slept really well. Breakfast in the morning was amazing, I have to be honest in saying it was the best breakfast we have had. Full English was extremely filling and sets you up for the day, with such a variety of choices. The Commodore is situated in the best position right on the seafront with off road parking outside the hotel. I would really like to thank Katina & Stuart for making our stay with you a very happy one.
Fantastic walks around this area. Recommend Paignton to Brixham coastal walk bit hilly and a few steps but so worth it. No 12 bus back to Paignton. We had a boat back to Torquay and bus back to Paignton.

Room Tip: Front of hotel have fabulous sea view rooms. Back bedrooms have the sun most of the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rolodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
177
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a weekend break in July. The breakfast was excellent with a mix of variations from the menu. Our room had a sea view, which was superb. The off road parking was very welcoming. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. It is ideally located for the local hostelries. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ones with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08-10-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A fantastically located B+B in the classic coloured buildings that are famous around Paignton (and after 20 years finally got to stay in one).

The service was fantastic and the breakfast was very good! rooms were clean and loved the themed rooms. A very good touch and some history too!

If your going, choose here as its located smack bam in the main part of Paignton :)

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms as the views out to sea are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthvader666uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my hubby stayed here for a weekend in July. Lovely guest house although breakfast was a bit hurried. Owners very friendly. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the sea view was amazing. Would recommend. Mike and Hev..

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I took our 2 year-old for the weekend and it was just lovely. The proprietors were so welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was delicious- good variety and well made. Our grand-daughter is neither badly behaved nor perfectly behaved- she is 2. But in spite of a few wobblies she was fine and we didn't feel we had disrupted things by the proprietors or the other guests. Just a very pleasant experience. We will be back- maybe with the dog and sans the toddler next time. Excellent location. Clean. Nice bath and shower facilities. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Try for the front with a sea view. Also in the summer so you don't get the sun in your room as m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cece0312usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Myself and three business colleagues stayed at the Commodore for four nights. The rooms were bright very clean and comfortable. It's my second time to stay at the Commodore, it's a home away from home, they are so friendly you feel like part of the family. The breakfast is fabulous and will set you up for the day. They have an all pets are welcome policy but unless you seen one you wouldn't know it's that clean. The Commodore is in a great location, close to everything but far enough away that if it's peace and quite you're looking for you won't be disturbed. The next time I'm visiting i'll bring my family with me and make a holiday of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Skiptracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Commodore for 2 nights in the Napoleon Bonaparte room and we were really pleased with everything.The room was very clean,big enough with one double and one bunk bed ,the toilet had everything you need( towels and toiletries ).But the best part was the breakfast ,delicious ! Thank you very much for everything and definitely we will come back:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#3 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#4 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: 14 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. It's Great to Stay and Play in the UK if you are staying at The Commodore, Paignton, devon. We are a traditional family-run seafront B&B offering guest accommodation all year. The beach is just across the road, as is the 3D cinema, Pirate Bay crazy golf and the new Geo-Play park which is free and the kids love it. We welcome families with children and dogs and our aim is to make your stay as welcoming and relaxing as possible. 4 of our rooms have uninterrupted sea views across Paignton Green to Torquay and Brixham. The location is excellent with bus, coach, railway stations, the town center and the harbour, with it's ferry services just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing