We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #8 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

just returned from a 10 night break at the commodore,where do we start it was absolutely great stuart and katrina were fantastic hosts nothing was too much trouble.rooms were spotless every day,towels and bedding were immaculate.breakfast was to die for so much choice.everywhere was within walking distance.non of us wanted to come home will definately be back soon.10 out of 10

Room Tip: we stayed in the napoleon bonaparte room superb family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've just returned from a weeks holiday and it has been just perfect.
Stuart and Katrina made us feel at home from our arrival to our departure.
Our room had a great view overlooking the seafront.
The breakfasts were consistently brilliant and we will miss them now that we have returned home.
We hope to come back again next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barriebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

great place to stay, right on the front and just round the corner from all the shops and pubs
breakfast was fantastic and sets you up for the day.
Katrina and Stuart were great and couldn't do enough for us.
room and en suite were great and everything we wanted was there for us
hopefully we can go again next year

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debra2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had not booked before going to paignton ring the bell and felt a very warm welcome we booked for four ngts had a great time at the commadore very freindly clean exellent breakfast choice and good portions room very clean and smart all tioletries in the ensuite snow white towels I put in the visitors book the hotel inspector on the tele would be very proud of them. Have told our friends we will be back next time we are in paignton well done to you both see you soon

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were all ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 186cannockroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We've just come back from a 4 day break at the Commodore. Katrina and Stuart were very welcoming and always had a smile on their faces. We had a sea view room with our dog. Dogs very welcome. Breakfast was scrummy and lots of different choices. Rooms always clean and many restaurant choices to take your dogs with a very handy manual in the room on all of the places to take your dog. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mels77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a great few days staying here. Perfect location, looking out to sea. Really friendly welcome from the owners who couldn't do enough to make our stay a great one. Was great to be so close to the sea and all the shops and restaurants of Paignton.

Rooms were well sized and clean and comfortable. En suite was great too.

As for gage breakfast, what can I say. I still miss that. So good.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for sea view on the second floor. Great to wake up to the sun rising over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anthonyf621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just got home after having 2 nights at The Commodore Hotel, we booked at the last minute and where extremely lucky to have the last room available. Katrina & Stuart were extremely friendly and very welcoming, very happy to allow dogs in rooms as well, supplied with a doggy bag which was a lovely gesture. The rooms at the Commodore are immaculately clean, spacious, and a very comfortable. We slept really well. Breakfast in the morning was amazing, I have to be honest in saying it was the best breakfast we have had. Full English was extremely filling and sets you up for the day, with such a variety of choices. The Commodore is situated in the best position right on the seafront with off road parking outside the hotel. I would really like to thank Katina & Stuart for making our stay with you a very happy one.
Fantastic walks around this area. Recommend Paignton to Brixham coastal walk bit hilly and a few steps but so worth it. No 12 bus back to Paignton. We had a boat back to Torquay and bus back to Paignton.

Room Tip: Front of hotel have fabulous sea view rooms. Back bedrooms have the sun most of the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rolodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#15 of 97 in Paignton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: 14 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £58 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. It's Great to Stay and Play in the UK if you are staying at The Commodore, Paignton, devon. We are a traditional family-run seafront B&B offering guest accommodation all year. The beach is just across the road, as is the 3D cinema, Pirate Bay crazy golf and the new Geo-Play park which is free and the kids love it. We welcome families with children and dogs and our aim is to make your stay as welcoming and relaxing as possible. 4 of our rooms have uninterrupted sea views across Paignton Green to Torquay and Brixham. The location is excellent with bus, coach, railway stations, the town center and the harbour, with it's ferry services just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing