We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We just got back from a 2 night break at this hotel which we really enjoyed the staff are really friendly the rooms are lovely and clean and the foods nice too the only downside was the showers in our room and also in my daughters and sons rooms too , they kept going hot then cold and very slow which was a shame other than that we had a great time the entertainment was brilliant a comedian on saturday night and magician on sunday they were first class we will definately come again .

Room Tip: Room 224 was a lovely size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good afternoon, thank you for your review. I am delighted that you really enjoyed your break and found the staff to all be very friendly. They really pride themselves on delivering top class customer service.
It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant menu as we are constantly trying to improve and deliver the perfect dining experience for our guests.
I have passed you kind words on to the room attendants about their cleanliness for which they are very grateful and pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
The showers in your two rooms have been looked at and adjusted and I can now confirm they are running at the optimum temperature for the duration they are running.
Overall it is wonderful that you a great time and I am delighted that you will definitely be returning to us. Hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    125
    42
    8
    9
See reviews for
104
235
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

we went to the queens hotel in paignton for tinsel and turkey ,with woods travel barnsley ,and was overjoyed with hotel ,,,,starting from staff greeting to cleaners work ,,,waiters FANTASTIC,,over all it was our pleasure to stay there ,,entertainment was just perfect i cannot find anything to put has a bad report ,,,food was excellent ,,,thank you queens for giving me the pleasure of your hospitality ,,,,,,

Room Tip: just accept any room ,, unless you are one that likes to moan ,,,, about small items
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Good Afternoon, thank you for reviewing your holiday with us at the Queens Hotel. I’m pleased you arrived to such a warm welcome and lovely clean room. It’s great to know the service you received was fantastic
It is wonderful to hear you found our restaurant menu to be excellent and the entertainment to be just perfect.

The pleasure was all ours and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens Hotel before too long.

Kind regards,
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

we enjoyed a turkey and tinsel there recently, the atmosphere was truly Christmas. Staff were friendly and obliging, with the food being excellent. Some of the rooms that we have stayed in there are on the sma;; side, but kept clean and fresh by their dedicated room staff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I’m really happy to read you enjoyed your turkey & tinsel break, we put a lot into making it such a special break for everyone, especially the good girls and boys, and I’m glad it showed during your stay.
Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the high standards of cleanliness of our rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel is brilliant. The place is immaculately clean and well looked after. Room and bathroom so nice.. The food is incredible and pleasantly served by the restaurant staff. Entertainment every night was super and we had a great time. Thanks to all the staff and management. I have tried to find a Duchy hotel nearer to where I live but they are only found in Torquay and Paignton..

WE NEED MORE DUCHY HOTELS !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretlilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Good Morning. Thank you for your kind words, our house keeping team are a real asset and I will be sure to pass your comments on. I’m pleased you liked your room so much aswell as the food and service, the restaurant team do a fantastic job and are so pleased to read your review.
Although we don’t have any Duchy Hotels closer to you I can see by your review its was well worth the journey and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we went with a coach trip to the Queens hotel and found it excellent, very clean and well kept, staff helpful, food was well cooked and plentiful with a good choice of dishes. Entertainment every evening, had a lovely time and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Good afternoon, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of the Queens Hotel. I’m pleased to hear yourself and the coach party enjoyed your stay with us, I passed your kind words on to housekeeping, front of house and kitchen staff, which was gratefully received.

I look forward to welcoming you and your party back next year.

Kind regard,
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend on coach trip with dancing class. Room although quite small was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and also the service could not fault our waitress. The entertainment was also really good with something different each night. The location was also good near the beach and the town. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank two-taffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Good Morning, thank you for taking the time to write about your long weekend with us. It was lovely to have you here, to see your dance group having such a good time and taking advantage of our dance floor. It’s nice to hear your room was kept to the high standard of cleanliness we always look to achieve and you enjoyed the food and service, I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the team.
We always put on a great verity of entertainment so it’s great to know you really enjoyed it. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for more dancing, fun and time to enjoying The Queens Hotel and our great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday for a weekend, the welcome was lovely. Checking in was quick and professional. The room was ok, very clean but a couple of layout issues, if you used the loo at night the light as you opened the door blinded whoever was in bed and the position of the hair dryer meant you couldn't see in any mirror.

Breakfast was served in a lovely airy restaurant, the service was good and quick but the food obviously cooked ahead and a little dry. We didn't sample dinner but the menu looked wonderful.

Overall the staff were very helpful and approachable, it was very obvious they are a close and professional team.

One issue is noise at the front, there is a terrace where people smoke and this got a little noisy on Saturday night.

We would stay again but would request a room at the back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggshants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Good Morning, I’m pleased to read you had a warm and professional welcome, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
It’s nice to know housekeeping are keeping up their ever high standards and keeping your room clean and well serviced. Due to the nature of the building rooms do have varying layouts.
Thank you for your compliments on the restaurant, you really should try dinner next time, it’s as good as the menu looks.
Thank you for your compliments on the staff, I will be sure to pass this on for you.
Please do contact myself or one of the team at the hotel and we are always more than happy to try to see to all requests.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 2 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#4 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing