We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as Usual”
Review of Channel View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Channel View Hotel
Ranked #29 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just got back from the Channel View Hotel. Had a four night stay and it was just as good as the previous times spent there. Good room, even though it was on the top floor, good food as usual (got to go on a diet now we are back home, thanks "Tom jnr"). Also thank you Tom and Jenny for adding to our lovely stay, and to the people we meet there each time we visit.
Hope to be with you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

we stayed at the channel view hotel for 3 days food was brilliant and plenty of it jenny and tom were a very nice couple and the hotel was comfortable and friendly lovely views of the sea will definatly be going back again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BirminghamElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

After several dissapointing holidays we have finally found our permanent holiday destination, not only have we fallen in love with Torbay but with Channel View too!!

The hotel is ideally situated just steps from the beach, the views are stunning. Our room had recently been refurbished and was an absolute pleasure to stay in. The hotel is clean and inviting and the hosts, well Tom and Jenny are lovely people and were the icing on the cake. Great food & service, excellent company and a well stocked bar!!! What more can we say, roll on next August, we can't wait to return. Thank you Tom and Jenny for a wonderful week x.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank libertybell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We have just returned from channell view hotel we spent four nights there which was lovely having damaged my leg in a accident was made most welcome from the start nothing was to much trouble for Jenny and Tom room was lovely and the food excellent and lovely views along the bay and the guest what were staying there were lovely and friendly will being going back to stay again at some point.

Room Tip: book early as busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anthonyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

after hauling our luggage up 4 flights of very narrow stairs we were less than impressed with the quality of the room allocated
The matress onthe bed was most uncomfortable and the antiquated shower was very clausrophobic and barely gave enough water to have a proper shower and our towels were not changed daily badly in need of a redecoration
However on a lighter note tom and Jenny were very nice people and the food could not be faulted

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alfred012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Wonderful place, lovely food, cheap bar, nothing was too much trouble for Tom and Jenny the owners. Have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vixta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

On arriving we were met by Jenny who made us extremely welcome that included a very much needed pot of tea after our journey from the midlands.
This hotel has a fabulous conservarory sun lounge that overlooks the sea and coastlines, we retired to this room after our enjoyable walks, it is here that we met some wonderful people (now friends) while we sipped our drinks. Most of the tourists to the channel View are regular visitors of which I am about to become one.
The meals were not only well presented but delicious in flavour. The dining area is bright and light easy dining. After dinner you can relax in the soft furnishing by the bar or take some comfortable relaxing in the sun lounge. The hosts Tom and Jenny have got this business spot on. A comfortable warm friendly experience

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tonybabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel View Hotel

Address: 8 Marine Parade, Paignton TQ3 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £88 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Channel View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-run hotel, just 15 yards from a gorgeous sandy beach, we have stunning uninterrupted, panoramic sea-views from our relaxing conservatory and bedrooms. We serve delicious hearty breakfasts, and optional home-cooked evening meals. All rooms are ensuite, with freeview tv, clock radio, hairdryer, refreshments, free WIFI and other small touches. With free parking, a short level walk to the beach, a 5 minute stroll to the harbour and buses every 10 minutes to the rest of Torbay, The Channel View Hotel is a perfect location for your short-break or longer holiday. Why not give us a try? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel View Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing