We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shearing coach trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Shearing coach trip”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Nice hotel, good food, rooms not very big, coach driver left a lot to be desired! There was a good choice of food, room 8 as always was adequate, bathroom or maybe it was a converted cupboard was rather small, under our tea making cupboard was rather dirty underneath on the wall, see picture. Entertainment was very good especially Lee, give him a rise , he was so funny. One of the workers was called Garath another one that deserves a rise, always smiling & helpful good luck to him. WE had a man next door at no 6 that liked to wake us up at 6.30 am & various other times with the TV turned up full, he wasn't even deaf! He is a regular there so beware! A holiday is only as good as the coach driver. Our coach driver was Denis, our full day excursion lasted from 9.30 to 3pm as he had to get the train home to Exeter, the other coach was out before us & back at 5pm! You had the distinct feeling all the folk on the coach were an inconvenience, no trip anywhere lasted more than 1 1/2 hours. It is too be hoped that we NEVER get him again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROSY47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    200
    94
    53
    19
See reviews for
59
265
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

A group of 16 of us from St Helens stayed for 4 nights. We had a great time, made even better by the unexpected sunshine we had. We would all like to thank the staff who were all so friendly and helpful. Food was excellent, only downside was, that some of the bedrooms were a bit small, but they were very clean. Plus we didn't spend much time in them.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Fantastic Holiday, Hotel, Food and Staff Was 5* Quality.
Didn't Want To Come Home And Will Definatly Book To Go Here Again. =]
Love Gwen. x

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2011

no complaints to add as unlike other hotels where i have stayed(not bay)
everything was taken care of with perfection-right from the point of check in
and i could not have asked for a better more trelaxing break.
my commpliments to ALL the staff for making my time with them so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewiebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

we arrived on 28th feb for five days and only wish it could have been longer. we were met on arrival by the manager who introduced us to everything . the reception met our every need promptly and always with a smile. the food was more than adequate and service, considering what they had to do was very good. our personal waitress , karen, always looked smart and fresh no matter what time of day and always had a smile and a good word to say. the location was ideal, right on the promenade and not too far from the local shops . the only thing i could criticise is the space between the toilet and sink, they were quite close, but that would be picky, as everything else more than made up for it, the room and bathroom were spotless and our maid was really pleasant and efficient at her job. the staff at the bar were always polite and friendly in their approach to people and displayed extreme patience when tested by one customer who was trying it on using two room cards to obtain drinks. the lad stood his ground and never lost his temper once
would really look forward to another visit to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Because we were not traveling with shearings wew were treated second class. Our coach driver was SCORNED by the other drivers.We were servied last with the meals and they were very poor.The rooms were not cleaned our toilet never saw any cleaning produce.Our bin was never emptied,the shower was dirty and the hand basin was not cleaned.The passage leading to the bar always smelt. They allowed certain drivers to go into the kitchen to get their own food,my though on that was food hygene.The only good thing in the hotel was Clair in the dinning room.When she was off the other staff were lost,even getting two orders correct was too much for them.One person asked for poached egg on toast and was given a full breakfast. we ordered white toast and recieved brown.When I arrived home I was ill with sickness,so were alot of other on the coach. I have been off work.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

the hoel was clean thats all i think i could say about it the receptionests if they smiled there faces would crack we were on a coach tour with a different opperater than shearings they are all for shearings and they couldnt be bothered with us they tret us like second class sidazins
i would never go to that hotel ever again wouldnt recomend any1 else to go
the food was ok but lacked of staff and was slow and you got wrong orders at times

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank garybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 18 in Paignton
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing