We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would not go again!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Food and staff were helpfull BUT the hotel seems run down with paper coming off the walls and ceilings. We arrived Monday 13th February-17th February 2012. The corridor to our room (10) smelt like an old peoples home. The lift in the corridor was out of action for the duration. Our room had several cobwebs on the ceiling and around the smoke alarm. Areas around door handles (particularly toilet) were dirty. Thick dust on power points & light fittings. Greasy smears on wardrobe. The hot tap was not attached to washbasin and wobbled on use. Thick grime under cold tap. Shower area was grubby with rust from grab handle running down wall. Shelf under mirror missing. Toilet area so small we had to manouver under washbasin to sit on toilet.Lino cracked. Old CR TV just about acceptable but sound poor. No air-con. We asked for alternative room, but hotel full for half-term.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade and hope for better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PINEWOOD007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Pinewood007_11
Thanks for your comments, it is good to read the comments about the food and staff. Sorry if you did not find the room to your liking, and that you found cleanliness issues, this is not usual and if we had received complaints about this would have acted upon them immediately. The lift had a technical fault, which required a new part which had to be ordered. This was repaired within the week.
Greer Whitworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    200
    94
    53
    19
See reviews for
59
265
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have just returned from a five day self-drive break here at Bay Esplanade Hotel.
We received a warm welcome, and were ablr to join in the coach trips with the visitors who had come by coach- a real bonus!!!!
The food choice was excellent- always important for us women, although the service was sometimes a little slow.
Evening entertainment was the best we have had at a Shearrings hotel--- Well done- we shall be back!!!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are bit bigger!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Auri-Auri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Auriauri
Thank you for your lovely kind comments. It is great to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay so much that they will return, we look forward to seeing you soon
Greer Whitworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just had a fabulous 3 day break over the New Year. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us and the food and entertainment was great. I agree the bedrooms are in need of refurbishment but the bedding was crispy clean and we had fresh towels every day.
The public areas were fine and the entertainment room was lovely. Please don't be put off by other reviews on this site (as I nearly was) there are some areas that could be improved but if you want good food, good entertainment and value for money then this is what you get. If you want 5 star then you will have to pay a lot more money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Queenofthemay0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Many thanks for your review, it is really great to here read your kind words. We endevour to deliver excellent customer service and your opinion is generally shared by the majority of our guests, and although we always strive to give a memorable holiday experience, sometimes a holiday is what you make it. Hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

the 2nd of dec we had nice weekend break in paignton the restuarant and entertainment rooms where nice and clean but bedroom requires a lot of basic attention ie there where large areas of mildew in both bedroom and bathroom also a very strong smell of bleach very off putting

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Glad you had a nice weekend break with us. Mildew can appear quickly and our cleaning staff are constantly checking for it, sorry if it was overlooked on this occasion. Hope it won't put you off a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

this hotel has the potential to be a 3 or even 4 star hotel if only the shearings group invested in good decor.Its a shame really.i dont know if shearings are just happy to leave it as it is and accept income..but everyone i spoke to seemed to agree that the food was superb,staff were great,excursions were good and drinks at top line,but bedrooms need upgrading and need to employ 2 or 3 more waiter/ess staff.Otherwise,superb value for money and the staff fantastic

Room Tip: ask for large room with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fwahfwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks for your very positive review. Many of our guests echo your sentiment; fantastic staff and value for money. We are constantly looking at ways of improving, and our rooms are constantly being upgraded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

On arrival the hotel looked quite impressive, the reception and staff were all pleasant and the meals were adequate. Our waiter did struggle when he had more than 1 table to serve and he spent most of the time apologising for the long waits that we experienced. The entertainment is in The Riviera suite which sounds quite royal but it is in the basement and a bit depressing but the entertainers were generally good. All the drinks were branded and I must say I don't know how this hotel can keep going on the prices that we paid to stay there. The absolute negative is the bedroom. I estimate that the room had not been decorated for 20 years and even then I don't know who decorated our room but the wallpaper was creased in the corners and the blown vinyl pattern had worn off over years. As soon as we walked through the double doors into the bedroom areas the smell was disgusting, the carpet in our room was stained and smelly and the vintage clock radio in between the single beds had me dreaming of that crocodile that was after Long John Silver it ticked so loud. The shower, toilet and basin were in a room the size of a broom cupboard and the same old wallpaper tired and dreary. All in all the bedroom/shower room was most depressing and we would not stay there again. The coach driver was friendly and informative and the break included 2 tours in the price.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any good rooms. We were in 124 and our parents were in 122 and both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry that the decor in the room wasn't to your liking, We do however feel that we offer superb value for money breaks. Had you notified reception regarding the problems with your room? Most of the problems you stated would have been looked into during your stay if you'd given us the opportunity to address them, and i'm sure they could have been easily resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Travelling with spouse and two other couples, we were happy to take advantage of a very good deal found on the internet. Therefore how much should we complain about the break we have just returned from? There are positives and negatives. The most disappointing was our room. The bedroom was small, but had a good enough storage space. The bathroom was a narrow corridor, again this would have been adequate had it been heated. The bedroom area had a small radiator which did not adequately heat the room. We assume this was already known to the hotel management as we were supplied with a electric fan heat. However when the heater was turned on, on return from the trip on the second day the electricity on the whole of the corridor fused. We were told this was because everyone had turned on their fires at the same time! The handiman came, and suggested we took turns at using our fires. In all the electricity fused seven times that evening! I am still not sure if anything was done by management to stop this happening, or whether our fellow guests took the earlier advice, but the electricity was maintained for the remainder of our stay.
Possibly because of the lack of heating our room, and especially in the bathroom there was damp. As a consequence the room smelled very musty. This made this room the worse room we have ever stayed in. When a written complaint was submitted on the third day, someone did attack the room with bleach, this smell did prove to be less offensive. On the positive side there was always hot water for a shower.
The food was mediocre but acceptable, and a flexible meal time is in place. The waiter, Sully worked hard and was extremely pleasent. All members of the staff are friendly and try to be helpful. There was entertainment each evening and this was good.
We won't be returning to this hotel as we could not chance having a room as poor as this experience Poosible if you pay more you do get a better room.

Room Tip: Do not go on the corridor 200 - 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Billmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 18 in Paignton
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing