We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Just came home from my holiday at the Esplanade Hotel in Paignton, and had a wonderful stay despite the false fire alarms on Sunday morning and Thursday morning. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially Josh our waiter and Lee the entertainment host, the entertainment is excellend and variable. Thank you for a lovely stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Rachael

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review, thanks for the lovely comments about our helpful staff, I will pass on your comments to Josh and Lee who will be very pleased to hear that they are appreciated. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    205
    95
    54
    19
See reviews for
60
271
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

At very short notice l booked a self drive, weekend break with Shearings at the Bay Esplanade Hotel for the 14th & 15th July, l read the reviews for this Hotel, so was not expecting too much on arrival. The Hotel is decoratively very tired, but clean and the welcome was warm. Our room was 106 and at the side of the building, but we had a glimpse of the sea from the Bay window. Bathroom was small, but like the room, clean, very crisp white bedding and towels, and no dusty carpet under the bed. The food was very good, food portions were not large, but requests for more were always met and, the waiters and waitresses, all the Hotel staff, worked very hard and quickly, with politeness and a smile no matter how much they were moaned at by some whinging guests ( and there were more than a few ) that seemed to think they had booked a 5 star Luxury Hotel, at a lot less than 3 star prices!!! The Staff earn every penny they get, and l for one couldn't careless if they arrive a few minutes late, l'm on a relaxing weekend break, not army maneuvers, or have nothing else to focus on other than exact mealtimes for regular bowel movements!!! From the staff we found out why the one of the lifts was not working, a part had been ordered from abroad, this takes time, it has to be made and shipped, then an engineer has to be arranged to fit it. Also when the Fire alarm went off on the Sunday Morning, we asked, and were told immediately why this had happened, we were two of the 30-40 people who did evacuate the building,( the rest must have been walking stick & zimmer gridlocked on the landings, or stone-deaf ) and had a good giggle about it with the staff. We did not demand, treated the Hotel and its staff with respect and received it back, we enjoyed our time there. This is one of the cheaper priced hotels Shearings use, so if you want up market and luxurious, then pay it and get it, what you pay at the Esplanade for halfboard you couldn't get B&B in a lot of Guesthouses, l know, l tried!!! SO, good value for the money, if you have a sense of humor to put up with the moaners, you will enjoy it, and Thank you to all the staff, we had a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornishmaid55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear how much you enjoyed it despite the reviews that you had read! Really good to hear again that you found our staff to be helpful, polite and with a smile!, I am really happy you enjoyed jour stay, we always endeavour to create a great holiday experience and it sounds like you had just that, despite other guests expectations. Many guests stay here regularly, enjoying the great food, location and atmosphere of the hotel and always comment on our great staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Ttrent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had a self drive weeks stay at the Esplanade in Paignton from 9th to 16th July.
We had not visited this hotel before but have stayed at fifteen other Shearings bay hotels over the past few years.
I have to say that this particular hotel was far below the normal Shearings hotels and will make us consider alternatives in future.
The lift was still out of action although no reason or proposed repair date was given by reception staff.
We were unable to arrange a meeting with a driver via two separate members of reception staff when we required to discuss a particulat coach trip.
We were unable to ascertain who the general manager was as he or she did not make themselves known to visitors and wore no identification that we could see.
The waitress arrived over ten minutes late on the morning of our departure and appeared in no hurry to statr her duties when she did arrive. She had previously been rude to an elderly lady on the next table to us and was no where near the normal standard within Shearings hotels.
We had two fire alarms but received little info from reception staff save to advise us that the second alarm was started by a shower in one of the rooms.
On the positive side our room was of reasonable size with a good sea view, and although the furnishings were dated the bed and the room in general were kept very clean and tidy by the domestic staff.
ERntertainment was well up to standard with a guy named Steve Davies being particularly talented

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandra160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. the lift being broken and now requiring a complete new lift, was out of my control, a new lift is due to be fitted. I am on duty 6 days a week, at the moment, available at reception desk. I am surprised to read that you found one of our waitresses rude and late, the staff here usually receive such great comments, perhaps if you had brought this to my attention, as I am not aware of the complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My Husband and I have just had 8 days at this hotel .This is the fourth time we have stopped at this hotel and enjoyed it as much as the first time .Yes it is a old building but the staff are always excellent and will help in any way they can .The food is good and our waiter (Josh ) was great ,we had a laugh with him every mealtime even though he was busy .we will be coming back to the Esplanade .wayne our driver was great always pleasant and looked after the disabled very well .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireJeanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
thanks you so much for your review. Again it is so great to receive such good comments, from regular guests, especially about our great staff; I will pass on your kind comments to wayne and Josh. Look forward to your 5th visit. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and we were aprehensive to say the least as there were some very bad reviews, but we were pleasantly suprised from the moment we got there.

The reception staff coudln't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble, admittedly the room was a bit small but we found it spotlessly clean and we were only in it to sleep, the bathroom was again small but clean, The food was perfectly acceptable and our waitress was efficient and accomodating, There was entertainment in the evenings and the staff made every effort to ensure everyone was happy.

If you want a five star hotel then this one is not for you, but if you want real value for money then give this one a go, for what we paid I don't think you could better it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanv759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Many thanks for your review. Again great reading, after your apprehension from some of the other reviews!. I am so pleased you found all to your liking. The esplanade is in a great location, has great staff, a head chef of 20+ years and a great strong, happy team, of housekeeping, bars, restaurant, entertainment and front of house. We always aim to service great customer service at value for money prices, with a smile and from your review this sounds just what you got. Thank for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just come back from a week at the hotel, having been on a coach holiday in a party of six friends. The hotel is in a superb location, straight across from the bay and easy reach of town. Like most hotels of its era, it is in need of updating but that is already under way. One of our friends had a very small, but beautifully re-decorated room. Our room was a good size but the bathroom was miniscule. The basin was a washroom sized one and difficult to wash in without splashing the floor. If the door opened outwards, into the bedroom, it would have made easier access. Elderly guests would struggle with the size and access. Birds are a nuisance - seagulls pecking on windows, so not safe to leave open - but there are warnings and it is difficult to know what else the hotel could do to rectify that. One lift is inoperable but they are apparently waiting for a new one to be fitted. Again, difficult to know what they can do in the meantime - maybe they do need to make it clear to customers and explain the reasons. It's obviously not going to be a problem solved over night. To be fair, we were warned that the hotel was not suitable for people with limited mobility when we booked. The layout is confusing - but that's how the building is, and once you find your way round you've cracked it.

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Didn't use the bar (typical, expensive prices) or go to the 'entertainment', since bingo and quizzes are every night and the entertainers are only there for about an hour. However, town is very close for those who are prepared to venture out.

Meals were of quite good quality and there is ample choice at each course of each meal to cater for different tastes. Food was usually good and hot and quantity was good. However, the mealtime experience was disappointing. The restaurant was, most evenings, packed to capacity. Meals were said to be from 6.30pm-7.30pm (not much leeway there, then) but the waiters were rushed off their feet. We prefer a slightly later meal, but if we came down at 7.00-7.15pm we were hurried through our meal as though we all had to be out as soon as possible. One evening, we ate a 3-course meal and had coffee in 50 minutes. Not a relaxed, enjoyable experience. Either there needs to be more waiters or the meal time extended. Surely, if some guests prefer to come later this should make life easier for the staff - but they appear to be trying to get through and out as fast as possible. Pity. Breakfast was also a rush on days when we had to meet the coach at a specific time and this, again, was through lack of waiting staff. It didn't help that all the breakfast was served at the table, whereas usually cereals, juices etc. are self-service. This delayed matters and put extra pressure on the staff, who were already struggling. Space maybe the issue but doesn't help. Mealtimes are an important part of any holiday - a good social occasion to be with friends or to make new ones. The hotel needs to get a grip on this aspect.

Overall, the hotel is worth a visit and is nowhere near as bad as previous reviewers would have you believe. We've been to worse! It is not a 5* but it does not purport to be. It is reasonable value for money. However, if you do have mobility issues, listen to staff advice when booking - and ask about the lift. Stress a particular need for either bath or shower where necessary. These issues could make the difference between a good holiday and a bad one.

Room Tip: If you struggle with mobility, ensure you are on a lower floor. Specify if you particularly need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjpanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, The hotel is in a superb location, straight across from the bay and easy reach of town, many repeat guests love staying here, despite the old building and small rooms. Sorry you found the restaurant service a little rushed, all Bay hotels operate the same mealtimes, apologies. Great to read that you found a value for money holiday and that you found that staff pleasant and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

my friend and i have just returned from a week in your hotel and found the staff most helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had good single rooms with sea view very light and comfortable. We even had fruit, bottle of wine and chocolates in every room. thanks for a good week.I know the lift only went to the first floor but I used the stairs.

Room Tip: first floor sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joy191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for your review, another great read, to find you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were all so pleasant and helpful and that you enjoyed our celebration pack. I hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing