We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of £600 !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
uk
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a waste of £600 !!!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a mistake we made in booking this hotel a complete waste of £600 ! Where do I start ???
1. £600 for a double room measuring 10ft 9in x 8ft 7in with a very small bathroom 2ft 6in wide by 2ft 3in !If we left our case on the floor we could NOT walk round the Bed !
2. Poor quality if food and very slow service we had a trip booked for 9,15 so got to breakfast by 8am .....by 8.40 we had just had our juice ! Were they growing it ? And then they were only 1/2 full .
3. Service was poor at meal times and all drinks had to be paid for in advance in another room ! Ridiculous !
4. First impressions of the Hotel and cleanliness were very POOR indeed ! The Bathroom in our room had a missing tile and where a shelf was remained unfilled in holes ! This added to the nicely peeling shower handrail What a bonus !
I was given a comments form to fill in and 1 section asked if any staff deserve a special mention ? Yes our waiter table 11a he was very very poor ! I think if you advertised the rooms correctly you would not get any 1 staying there !!!!
5. On arrival at least a Dozen couples were complaining about room size !

Room Tip: Pick another Hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thanks for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that your bedroom and bathroom were small. The rooms here are not large but we do have many, many repeat guests come here, who enjoy the hotel time and time again. I am not sure when you stayed here but we have not been “half full” all season, except in April when we were a little quieter this year. If you had brought your complaint to my attention and we were not full we could have relocated you to another room, but apologies if you found a tile missing and a peeling handrail. We do not usually receive complaints of food or service, many guests reporting here how good the food and service usually are. You do not have to pay for your restaurant drinks in another room, you can set up an account with your credit/debit card at reception and pay at the end of your holiday or pay at the bar after dinner, the choice is yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    210
    100
    57
    19
See reviews for
61
282
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Yes the hotel bedrooms & bathrooms are small & are in need of updating but the staff are excellent, the food was good with lots of choice the waiters & waitreses work really hard.
The rooms are lovely & clean with clean towels every day, the location is really good with links to lots of places from the bus station & steam train station only 5 minute walk away.
We had some lovely trips out with our coach driver, no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joellecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thanks you so much for your lovely review. it is really great to read how much you enejoyed your stay. We endevour to help create a great holiday experience, so thanks for your kind comments about the staff and service, it is really appreciated. The hotel is in a great location. I hope you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackheath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Bedroom and bathroom small, needs updating as interior very old and tired looking. staff helpful and friendly entertainment very good meals not to bad choices were given.
could not find ramp for wheel chair users and lift never worked during our stay.We doubt if we would stay there again unless the hotel was bought up to date as refurbishment is needed as well as decorating, and windows need changing. Not much privacy as our room over looked someone elses with a roof top in between. It needs some net or blinds up as the view was terrible.The net in bathroom was dirty and mouldy so cleaning needs to be looked at on regular basis.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view at front of building or better still ask to see room first if you dont like see i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your review, great to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful and meals and entertainment to your liking. Apologies that the lift is still out of order, we are awaiting an new lift being fitted, as the previous lift is beyond repair.We are Classed as assisted aid as we do not have suitable space for ramp into the building. We have an on-going programme of refurbishement of rooms, several done each year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Oh dear shearings, blown windows/no air conditioning/terrible service, how can you charge £420 for that rubbish, fire alarms going off with no appology or explanation from staff. No rolecall, a maze of corridoors, the lift only taking you to the first floor, no leadership in the dining room, it needs a head waiter. Everyway you turned they just wanted your money, nearly £2.00 for a bottle of water. Going back to the dining service, waiters dissapeared for ages, asked for a jug of water twice it never arrived, bought in food, you could tell they hadn't made it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for your review. This is an old building and we do have a programme of refurbishment and replacement of any blown double glazing, if you had brought it to my attention, perhaps I would have been able to relocate you. No, we do not have any air conditioning as do not many hotels of this age. We do have fans, if you ask at reception, as noted in our bedroom browsers. As you will see from other tripadvisor comments we usually receive great comments about our staff and service, so I am surprised by your comments, again, if you had brought this to my attention perhaps I could have had a word with our restaurant supervisor or restaurant manager. Most of the food is cooked by our head chef, who has been with us for over 20 years, with very few complaints
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Just came home from my holiday at the Esplanade Hotel in Paignton, and had a wonderful stay despite the false fire alarms on Sunday morning and Thursday morning. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially Josh our waiter and Lee the entertainment host, the entertainment is excellend and variable. Thank you for a lovely stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Rachael

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review, thanks for the lovely comments about our helpful staff, I will pass on your comments to Josh and Lee who will be very pleased to hear that they are appreciated. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

At very short notice l booked a self drive, weekend break with Shearings at the Bay Esplanade Hotel for the 14th & 15th July, l read the reviews for this Hotel, so was not expecting too much on arrival. The Hotel is decoratively very tired, but clean and the welcome was warm. Our room was 106 and at the side of the building, but we had a glimpse of the sea from the Bay window. Bathroom was small, but like the room, clean, very crisp white bedding and towels, and no dusty carpet under the bed. The food was very good, food portions were not large, but requests for more were always met and, the waiters and waitresses, all the Hotel staff, worked very hard and quickly, with politeness and a smile no matter how much they were moaned at by some whinging guests ( and there were more than a few ) that seemed to think they had booked a 5 star Luxury Hotel, at a lot less than 3 star prices!!! The Staff earn every penny they get, and l for one couldn't careless if they arrive a few minutes late, l'm on a relaxing weekend break, not army maneuvers, or have nothing else to focus on other than exact mealtimes for regular bowel movements!!! From the staff we found out why the one of the lifts was not working, a part had been ordered from abroad, this takes time, it has to be made and shipped, then an engineer has to be arranged to fit it. Also when the Fire alarm went off on the Sunday Morning, we asked, and were told immediately why this had happened, we were two of the 30-40 people who did evacuate the building,( the rest must have been walking stick & zimmer gridlocked on the landings, or stone-deaf ) and had a good giggle about it with the staff. We did not demand, treated the Hotel and its staff with respect and received it back, we enjoyed our time there. This is one of the cheaper priced hotels Shearings use, so if you want up market and luxurious, then pay it and get it, what you pay at the Esplanade for halfboard you couldn't get B&B in a lot of Guesthouses, l know, l tried!!! SO, good value for the money, if you have a sense of humor to put up with the moaners, you will enjoy it, and Thank you to all the staff, we had a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornishmaid55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear how much you enjoyed it despite the reviews that you had read! Really good to hear again that you found our staff to be helpful, polite and with a smile!, I am really happy you enjoyed jour stay, we always endeavour to create a great holiday experience and it sounds like you had just that, despite other guests expectations. Many guests stay here regularly, enjoying the great food, location and atmosphere of the hotel and always comment on our great staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Ttrent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had a self drive weeks stay at the Esplanade in Paignton from 9th to 16th July.
We had not visited this hotel before but have stayed at fifteen other Shearings bay hotels over the past few years.
I have to say that this particular hotel was far below the normal Shearings hotels and will make us consider alternatives in future.
The lift was still out of action although no reason or proposed repair date was given by reception staff.
We were unable to arrange a meeting with a driver via two separate members of reception staff when we required to discuss a particulat coach trip.
We were unable to ascertain who the general manager was as he or she did not make themselves known to visitors and wore no identification that we could see.
The waitress arrived over ten minutes late on the morning of our departure and appeared in no hurry to statr her duties when she did arrive. She had previously been rude to an elderly lady on the next table to us and was no where near the normal standard within Shearings hotels.
We had two fire alarms but received little info from reception staff save to advise us that the second alarm was started by a shower in one of the rooms.
On the positive side our room was of reasonable size with a good sea view, and although the furnishings were dated the bed and the room in general were kept very clean and tidy by the domestic staff.
ERntertainment was well up to standard with a guy named Steve Davies being particularly talented

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandra160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. the lift being broken and now requiring a complete new lift, was out of my control, a new lift is due to be fitted. I am on duty 6 days a week, at the moment, available at reception desk. I am surprised to read that you found one of our waitresses rude and late, the staff here usually receive such great comments, perhaps if you had brought this to my attention, as I am not aware of the complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing