We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Wellesbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Let Down”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for 5 Days. Found Food ok entertainment ok, Bar and Restaurant staff very good.My complaint was the Bed in my Room. Springs where sticking up when you run your hands over it, and when you laid down on it they stuck in your back. After an hour went down to reception to ask for a different mattress or a Room change I was in 227, was told only room available was a room which the toilet never worked, Deputy Manager bought a mattress cover to place over Mattress till the Morning. Spoke to the same Lady next morning, to say it was still Horrenduous and I would take other room with no Toilet, that room was not available NOW, I told her I was not there the 2nd night, but would like it rectified for the following night, her reply was Housekeeping had just taken a mattress up the Stairs to change it. Totally Fobbed off, on my return same mattress with a Duvet Cover on it now. I suggest the Lady I spoke to goes and stays and trys to sleep on that mattress for 4 nights, then she will realize why customers complain. If the hotel was full they could of offered to transfer me to any of there neighbouring hotels within the company. I would of scored this hotel an Average score, but rated poor due to lack of sleep. Would not return to this hotel, and will use another hotel the next time I am there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 525Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Replies – Thank you 525RACH for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel bed to your satisfaction, the duty managers always try to do their utmost to rectify problems, however on this occasion it seems that you were not offered an alternative room, although often we are full and not able to change rooms. We do not usually receive complaints about our beds, as you will see from previous TripAdvisor reviews, however we always endeavour to create a happy holiday experience and on this occasion we have failed, again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    205
    95
    54
    19
See reviews for
60
271
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Went for a Gala Party weekend with National holidays, and was quite disappointed. The staff were brilliant but sadly the hotel was a let down. We had a room with a wonderful view....straight into the car parked inches from our window! The room was basic with a tiny (and that's being generous) en-suite, with a tiny shower and an awful smell. Apparently our room had been upgraded, but we failed to see how. The first night the food was gorgeous so we had high hopes, but meals deteriorated from there with small portions, little choice and poor quality food. The "entertainment" on the one night we attended was poor and a little condescending, so we opted to go out instead.
A real shame as the staff could not do enough for you, and the hotel has a wonderful location. With a lot of money and TLC this could be a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view as previous traveller recommends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Pat W for taking time to post a review.
Thank you for your comments about the brilliant staff, we aim to please. I am sorry you did not find the upgraded room to your liking, they were only refurbished in January 2013, however it is worth paying extra for a sea-view, as all other rooms are either looking over the car park or back of the hotel. I am surprised by your comments about the food as we usually receive excellent comments about food, see other tripadvisors. Our entertainment is also regarded as excellent, maybe you should have give it try on another night, as there are different acts each evening. National holidays are a value for money break, the gals break including gala dinner and four drinks vouchers, which I am hoping you found very good value for money for the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Surbiton Surrey united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break. Staff, Food and entertainment were very good. But I should think we had the worst room in Hotel, very cold, black mould on ceiling and windows. The bathroom was terrible, cold with a foul smell, window ledge black with dampness also shower curtain should have been taking down and a new one installed, it was so bad I would not even have a shower, my Husband braved it. We should have reported it and been moved but Hotel was full. We did see some rooms when doors opened and they were better.
If we had better accommodation it would have been good value.

Room Tip: We if you are staying here do not have room 205, cold and mouldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Janet B for taking the time to post your review.
I am pleased to read how you found the staff, food and entertainment all very good, however apologies if you did not find the room to your liking, although it is always best to report any problems, which we always endeavour to rectify whilst you are with us rather than when you have already left, as we may have been able to offer an alternative room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had a 5 day break at the esplanade hotel with shearings holidays.The hotel is in an excellent location on the sea front and very close to the main shops. The hotel was clean and tidy and very comfortable, all the staff were polite and helpful and worked very hard. The entertainment was excellent and everyone had a good time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Christopher M, for taking the time to post your great 5 star review.
It is lovely to read all the positive comments about your holiday here; I will of course pass these comments on to each department. The staff really are a great asset, so again thanks for your comments and I hope you may return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned froma 4 day break with Shearings we paid extra for a sea view room a lot of people who had basic rooms said their rooms were tiny and so were shower cubicles so glad we upgraded. Rooms and hotel very clean entertainment good the meals are ok small portions but for what we paid I could not grumble. Our driver Brian was great the trips were good and he was very informative. Coach very comfortable although I would say we sat in front of someone who never shut up loud noisy and we had to hear the history of his life he became a nuisance and on the trips which spoilt it for us somewhat - still takes all sorts, became abusive when requested to quieten down
The staff are lovely a special mention for the bar staff so friendly and helpful the 4 free drinks each per day was brilliant. All in all a good value break the only downside for us is the feeder coaches merging at Cawley then all around the Wrekin to get home but I suppose you get what you pay for. We met some lovely people also a few "strange" ones lol

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank blonde1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Susan C, for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us.
Again I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to your driver Brian, he really is a gem! Thank you for your comments about the food, entertainment and of course the lovely comments about the staff, especially bar staff, which I will also pass on your comments too. I am sorry you had someone on your coach, who was disruptive, I am sure Brian would have had a word for you.I hope this did not put you off returning and may see you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Back from a 3 night stay at the Esplanade with National Holidays and cannot fault it.The Hotel is in an excellent location, just a small walk to the centre.We booked a sea view room which was slightly bigger and it was ideal, the beds were comfortable and very clean.Yes there were marks on the wall and cracks here and there but you get that in most hotels.The food was really nice with multiple choices for breakfast and dinner, the portions were not massive but adequate and with waiter service this cut down on the waste you see so often with self service.The wait between courses was only what you would get in a restaurant so no complaints there.The waiters worked very hard and were always pleasant as were the rest of the staff that ran the hotel. We had a great weekend and will definitely be going again to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Jeff G, for taking the time to post your recent holiday review.
I am very pleased to read your 5 star review and all the great comments about the room, it really is worth the extra for the sea view! thank you for your comments about the food and our great staff, I will pass on your comments and thank you again. Great to read that you would return, so see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

WE have just returned from The Esplanade, We found it to be very good value for money.
Shearings do budget holidays so if you want to relax in luxury, stick your hand in your pocket and pay luxury prices.!!! The hotel was clean, warm (I turned my radiator completely and the room was still cosy). The food was very good and with several choices.The hotel had good entertainment every night.Good vocals,good comedy. The bar, restaurant staff, and management were all very friendly.
It is idealy situated right on the promenade overlooking the sea with the Pier just a short stroll away
As you leave the car park the main shopping area is but a couple of minutes walk to your left. it starts with the usual gift shops, arcades and bars. The first bar/restuarant you will find is believe it or not. Wetherspoons. Overe the road are two regular pubs.for the traditionalist.
The weather was not very kind to us, so I would love to see this town in the summer.
I would not hesitate to return to The Esplanade.
As Chris Tarrant says WELL DONE EVERYBODY.

Room Tip: Try for room 116, brilliant view and right next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephsefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you Joseph Sefton, for taking the time to post your great review. I remember you and your wife, as when we spoke you told me about how much you liked your room, and that you would request it again. We always try to ensure a value for money holiday with us, so I am really pleased to read all your lovely comments, especially about the staff and service; and of course about how much you enjoyed our entertainment, I will pass on all your comments to the staff. The hotel is ideally situated and is in a great location for the beach, so a summer visit is a must! I am very glad you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to your next visit. Thanks you again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#35 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing