We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“odd bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed 22 March 2014

i opened the door to room 226 i am in an L shaped room a door to the left of me opens onto a shower compartment, the door on the right opens into the toilet area .continue down the long leg of the L and i come to the hand basin,and a view of the sea through the window, turn into the short leg and there is the bed ,nicely made up and another window looking out to sea,seems odd but its ok, plenty of towels coffee tray ,hair dryer, flat screen tv etc,food was fine served to us by rebecca. must say if you like a big breakfast you may be diss apointed in the size of the full eng ish and soggy toast, the drinks were expensive, but for what we paid for a 4 day holiday with natonal they have to make money somewhere all the staff i
came in contact were friendly and smiling over all value for money

Room Tip: 226 odd lay out bathroom wise but a nice enough room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to read what a good value break you enjoyed. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel but always welcome feedback on areas for improvement and all our facilities are serviced every day by housekeeping staff.
Your room (Room 226) is one of our newly refurbished rooms and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.Though we have small rooms and bathrooms, we try our utmost to make the most of what we do have and enjoy our ideal location in Paignton with sea, sun and the town centre just a stone’s throw away. The majority of our staff have been with us for many a year and pride ourselves on excellent customer service and value for money.

Thank you once again for your comments, I hope you may return to holiday with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at this Hotel from 7th March till 10th, we went to watch a football match in Torquay,and I must say it was most enjoyable, the weather was an added bonus. the Hotel is basic, very clean, and the food was very good too. All in all I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting somewhere to stay in Torbay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodegg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your time in providing the feedback for us.

I am so pleased that our team made you feel comfortable and welcome. We always strive to go the extra mile and provide good, honest customer service with a smile.
if it was the Rochdale v Torquay match you came for, which as I recall it was, then sorry you lost!, hopefully it hasn't put you off returning?

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We, 4 of us, have just had a pleasant weekend break at the Esplanade hotel.Good welcome at reception, booked in and found our rooms through the rabbit warren of corridors. The rooms were clean and adequate although the shower room/ toilet were the letdown, but we managed. Evening meal was well presented (but cold),very busy so did not complain then, but mentioned it to our waitress (Sandra) next morning, Within five minutes the head waiter arrived,very apologetic. Our meals were ok from then on, (a small hiccup).
Found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Entertainment, probably the best in Shearings so far and we have been to many.
Parking at £5 a day (£15 for the 3 night break) good value..£10 plus per day at the meters.,but better when hotel parking was free.
Bus service to get around very good and frequent but a bit of a walk to the bus station.

We will certainly continue to use Bay hotels for our short breaks in the future
Metamik

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and of course the fantastic comments about the entertainment, which I will pass on to our Host & entertainers.
We always try to challenge ourselves to achieve personalized service and provide memorable holidays for our guests, having many regular guests staying. Therefore it is great to again know that in your case we have managed to meet and maybe exceed your expectations, we were very pleased also to know that you liked our rooms, our food and thank you for the great comments about the staff & service.
We look forward to welcoming you again and we will do our best to meet your expectations once more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went to Paignton to watch our football team play torquay. Its a annual event so a lively on but we are all mature people and respect other. This hotel is standard and like the title says you get what you pay for. We paid £119 for a 2 nights stay bed breakfast and evening meal and enjoyed it. there are a lot of reviews slating the food and size of portion. I'm a big bloke and thought it was enough to satisfy me, it looked small but done the job. I thought the drinks prices where a little high but in general they are all around. The rooms are small but the bed was great, the bathroom you can wash your hair whilst using the toilet but the room is only used to sleep in so no real problem. Be careful because the water is hot.
The staff where very pleasant and as we where a lively bunch the had a good laugh with us. I think they are more use to dealing with older people so don't be put off.

Any way for £119 you carn't complain but I be some will. If you want better pay more

Room Tip: Ask for an end room as they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewrox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I remember your party, a lovely, lively group, who all seemed to really enjoy their stay.
Thank you for the great comments about what a good value break you had, we aim to please.
Our staff team have all been with us for a long time and all take pride in providing excellent customer service and go out of their way to ensure you have a comfortable and fun time with us.
I am please you enjoyed the varied and generous menu. Our head chef receives much praise for his menu choice, so I am happy that you found it to your liking as well.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just came back from this hotel myself and 8 friends spent 3nights there ,the food was not good ,we found that they ran out of choices as they got to are table so could not have the choice we made ,one of my friends was vegetarian and out of three nights she had to have salad .not good I would not recomend this hotel for the food

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am sorry that you were not happy regarding the food in the restaurant. Although I am surprised by your comments about the vegetarian choice, we actually have vegetarian option each evening and if this proved popular and sold out, we would offer an alternative. We are proud to say that our head chef usually receives praise for his menu choice as well as cooking, so I am sorry that you found it not to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Have just returned from a Shearing 4 day break to this hotel. From the minute we arrived we cannot fault our stay. We upgraded to a standard plus sea view room which had recently been modernised. The room was bright, clean warm and very comfortable. The food was varied, beautifully served and delicious. All of the staff were efficient and pleasant. The entertainment was appropriately pitched and everyone appeared to enjoy it and have fun. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your time in providing the feedback for us.
I am so pleased that our team made you feel comfortable and welcome. We always strive to go the extra mile and provide good, honest customer service with a smile. I am very pleased to read all your positive comments and will pass on to the staff.
Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We went on a Shearings holiday to this hotel. It is well placed near the seafront and a very short walk into town.
We had an excellent driver who lives in Torquay himself so knew loads of local info.
The included trips were good too on the whole..even though the weather was rainy and cold at times. The entertainment in the hotel was excellent, nightly bingo, quizzes, and 3 excellent acts over the week, especially Mr Nicklass the comedy impressionist who was superb.
Now for the not so good...The hotel is being refurbished gradually and this is the problem..IF you are lucky enough to get a refurbished room then we heard they were lovely but ours was not one of them . Far from it.
Our room which was on the 2nd floor, was freezing when we arrived and we had to ask for an extra heater which we needed to use the whole time we were there. There was no heater /radiator at all in the bathroom, so when you went for a shower it was really cold. The shower certainly had seen better days too and was very dingy.
The furniture was average but the window/wall and the bathroom wall were so damp they had black mould on a lot of them ...the room really should have been dried out and aired before any guests were put in it..
The carpet was never hoovered once whilst we were there even though it obviously needed it. The towels were never changed either in the whole 5 days and I had to keep drying them to re-use. The cupboard/wardrobe doors felt sticky like they hadn't been wiped down in months. We were not impressed at all with the room cleanliness
We heard the hotel was full with 3 coach loads that week so we considered there was not much chance of getting another room either...so it was a case of putting up with it.
The meals were mediocre with smaller portions than we have had at other Shearings hotels. They were sometimes not always very hot either. The cutlery was always clean however and usually the crockery too. We felt sorry for the poor waiting staff who seemed run off their feet trying to serve too many people each.....they should have perhaps had more waiting staff in the restaurant, as because of this there was often a long wait between the meal courses.
They really did try their best though.
The reception staff were also quite friendly and helpful. ...and the bar staff also deserve a mention as they coped well with the full crowd in the hotel.
So for us it was NOT the one of the best places we've ever been to and would advise you try to get a refurbished room if you intend to stay there.

Room Tip: There is a lift in the hotel although it is small and only holds 4 or 5 people. But adequate for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us here on tripadvisor.
We continuously challenge ourselves to achieve personalized service and provide memorable holidays for our guests. Therefore I am sorry to read that in your case we have not managed to meet your expectations.We were very pleased to know that you found our entertainment, bar & reception staff & service to be very good. Apologies you did not find the room to your liking, we did have some issues with rooms in January, as we had severe weather (wind & rain) which had affected a number of rooms, including those recently refurbished, which have all now been repaired/rectified. We would however have moved you to another rooms had you brought this to our attention. We also have a sign in the bathrooms requesting a towel change by placing soiled towels in the shower, these are then replaced. I am sorry you did not find the food to your liking, we usually receive great comments about our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#2 of 17 in Paignton
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing