We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good break”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is the second time we have visited the Esplanade at Paignton, on the first visit we were disappointed but after paying the upgrade we were rewarded with a much better room. All the staff were very efficient and contributed to a pleasant break. We did not see much of the entertainment on Monday but Tues/Wed/Thurs were excellent. The menus gave a good choice and the food and portions were good. The included days out were pleasant and interesting, enhanced by a knowledgeable driver.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade some of our party were in standard rooms and were complaining of very small bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you John G for taking the time to post your review.
I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for all your comments. It is great to read that you had returned to holiday again here and I am pleased you had one of our newly refurbished rooms. I will pass on your kind comment about the excellent entertainment, food and driver and hope you may return to holiday with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    205
    96
    56
    19
See reviews for
60
275
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crewe
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

When we first opened the door to our room we were extremely impressed, the furniture was new, the beds had white duvets and purple throws across near the base and it looked like we were stepping into a premier inn bedroom. There was also a new flatscreen tv, a large freshly decorated bathroom and a step at the side of the room leading to the window and a pleasant area with a round table and 2 chairs. Our cases arrived approximately 40 minutes later which wasn't too bad as our coach was full.
Meals in the restaurant were the usual Shearings fayre, plenty of choice and a nice tuna salad for me. Salads at all Shearings hotels are usually good and this was no exception. Our waiter Joseph was very efficient and never kept us waiting for very long even though we could see that one morning he had extra tables to attend to.
The included excursion was to Totnes then on to Dartmouth in the afternoon. We had never been to Totnes before so that made a pleasant change, it has plenty of shops but is quite hilly so may be a struggle for people with walking difficulties.
The entertainment was very good, the comedian on the Saturday night we had seen 3 times previously as we have stayed in quite a few Shearings hotels in this area, but he is so good at telling jokes that we still laughed even though we had heard them before. We also had 3 games of bingo each night playing for a full house each time which is good as some of the Shearings hotels try to rush through the bingo and only play for a line which makes me feel cheated as you have paid the same for your tickets. There was also a quiz each night which we both enjoy and of course the 4 free drinks on the Saturday night were very welcome.
The only thing we can fault about this hotel is that on the evening before we left there was no hot water for a bath before dinner. Fortunately I had washed my hair an hour earlier before the boiler `tripped` as the staff at reception explained, so my partner had to boil the kettle in the room to get hot water. The following morning, our leaving day, we had to have our cases outside at 7.15am but when I tried to get hot water at 6.45am there wasn`t any. The night reception manager gave us the key to another room further down the corridor which wasn't ideal but hopefully we could shower before breakfast, but the water there wasn't that hot either but better than ours. This room was a very pleasant single room also with new furniture and freshly decorated so it appears that this hotel has spent a lot of money making the rooms look nicer, but for us, we would rather have had guaranteed hot water and older bedroom furniture.
Speaking to some of the others on our coach, there were quite a few who had no hot water either, but then there were others who did have it constantly, so it appears there is a problem in a specific part of the hotel and this hotel should really concentrate on getting this fixed.
Apart from the hot water, the Esplanade is in a good position, a few minutes walk away from the harbour and 10 minutes from the bus station and the town. Buses run quite frequently to several places and there are bus timetables in a rack in the sun lounge of the hotel.
There are 2 lifts in this hotel, both quite spacious and modern and the lounges are pleasant for relaxing in. We would stay in this hotel again but only if they sort the boiler out first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmtigercrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you jmtigercrewe for taking the time to post a review of your recent holiday with us.
Thank you for all your comments, which I will pass on to the staff. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here; however please accept my apologies for a problem with the hot water whilst you were here. We did indeed have a problem with one of our boilers, which needed a new part; this was ordered but took 2 days to arrive, however we do have another boiler which should suffice, so please accept my apologies if this was not the case. I am very pleased you enjoyed the food, entertainment and excursions and look forward to welcoming you back for another holiday with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our 4th. visit to this hotel and we were pleased to find the room had been re decorated in lovely colours -grey & purple-was truly nice. The only let down was the bathroom which although had been painted had odd taps on the bath and no shower. It would benefit from a shower attachment. Food excellent as usual and staff always friendly and helpful. Ideal position for visiting places in Devon. Would recommend this hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: Sea view is good but rooms along the side road ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you AA for taking the time to post a 5 star review and thank you for returning to holiday with us, I am pleased to read this is your 4th visit, a great recommendation. I am glad you had one of our newly refurbished rooms. I am very pleased you like the decor and since receiving your review we have changed the taps in this room, so thank you again for bringing this to my attention, as a repair had been done to a tap in this room and not matched to the other tap. Thank you again for the kind comments about the excellent food and of course the staff, they really are a credit to us, working hard to ensure a happy holiday. I will pass on your comments and look forward to your 5th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

i opened the door to room 226 i am in an L shaped room a door to the left of me opens onto a shower compartment, the door on the right opens into the toilet area .continue down the long leg of the L and i come to the hand basin,and a view of the sea through the window, turn into the short leg and there is the bed ,nicely made up and another window looking out to sea,seems odd but its ok, plenty of towels coffee tray ,hair dryer, flat screen tv etc,food was fine served to us by rebecca. must say if you like a big breakfast you may be diss apointed in the size of the full eng ish and soggy toast, the drinks were expensive, but for what we paid for a 4 day holiday with natonal they have to make money somewhere all the staff i
came in contact were friendly and smiling over all value for money

Room Tip: 226 odd lay out bathroom wise but a nice enough room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to read what a good value break you enjoyed. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel but always welcome feedback on areas for improvement and all our facilities are serviced every day by housekeeping staff.
Your room (Room 226) is one of our newly refurbished rooms and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.Though we have small rooms and bathrooms, we try our utmost to make the most of what we do have and enjoy our ideal location in Paignton with sea, sun and the town centre just a stone’s throw away. The majority of our staff have been with us for many a year and pride ourselves on excellent customer service and value for money.

Thank you once again for your comments, I hope you may return to holiday with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleetwood,lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at this Hotel from 7th March till 10th, we went to watch a football match in Torquay,and I must say it was most enjoyable, the weather was an added bonus. the Hotel is basic, very clean, and the food was very good too. All in all I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting somewhere to stay in Torbay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodegg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your time in providing the feedback for us.

I am so pleased that our team made you feel comfortable and welcome. We always strive to go the extra mile and provide good, honest customer service with a smile.
if it was the Rochdale v Torquay match you came for, which as I recall it was, then sorry you lost!, hopefully it hasn't put you off returning?

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We, 4 of us, have just had a pleasant weekend break at the Esplanade hotel.Good welcome at reception, booked in and found our rooms through the rabbit warren of corridors. The rooms were clean and adequate although the shower room/ toilet were the letdown, but we managed. Evening meal was well presented (but cold),very busy so did not complain then, but mentioned it to our waitress (Sandra) next morning, Within five minutes the head waiter arrived,very apologetic. Our meals were ok from then on, (a small hiccup).
Found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Entertainment, probably the best in Shearings so far and we have been to many.
Parking at £5 a day (£15 for the 3 night break) good value..£10 plus per day at the meters.,but better when hotel parking was free.
Bus service to get around very good and frequent but a bit of a walk to the bus station.

We will certainly continue to use Bay hotels for our short breaks in the future
Metamik

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and of course the fantastic comments about the entertainment, which I will pass on to our Host & entertainers.
We always try to challenge ourselves to achieve personalized service and provide memorable holidays for our guests, having many regular guests staying. Therefore it is great to again know that in your case we have managed to meet and maybe exceed your expectations, we were very pleased also to know that you liked our rooms, our food and thank you for the great comments about the staff & service.
We look forward to welcoming you again and we will do our best to meet your expectations once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went to Paignton to watch our football team play torquay. Its a annual event so a lively on but we are all mature people and respect other. This hotel is standard and like the title says you get what you pay for. We paid £119 for a 2 nights stay bed breakfast and evening meal and enjoyed it. there are a lot of reviews slating the food and size of portion. I'm a big bloke and thought it was enough to satisfy me, it looked small but done the job. I thought the drinks prices where a little high but in general they are all around. The rooms are small but the bed was great, the bathroom you can wash your hair whilst using the toilet but the room is only used to sleep in so no real problem. Be careful because the water is hot.
The staff where very pleasant and as we where a lively bunch the had a good laugh with us. I think they are more use to dealing with older people so don't be put off.

Any way for £119 you carn't complain but I be some will. If you want better pay more

Room Tip: Ask for an end room as they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewrox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I remember your party, a lovely, lively group, who all seemed to really enjoy their stay.
Thank you for the great comments about what a good value break you had, we aim to please.
Our staff team have all been with us for a long time and all take pride in providing excellent customer service and go out of their way to ensure you have a comfortable and fun time with us.
I am please you enjoyed the varied and generous menu. Our head chef receives much praise for his menu choice, so I am happy that you found it to your liking as well.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing