We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great weekend away”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic position on the beach. Hotel was spotlessly clean and the meal services were really efficient with the food piping hot. The entertainment was fun with the staff - Ashley - joining in. Wish we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymfallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you ymfallows,for taking the time to post a great review of your recent weekend break with us.
Thank you for your great comments about the food, rooms and service you received, I will pass on all your kind comments, Ashley will be very pleased to read his name mentioned, he is a lovely lad, who always excels so thank you and hope you may visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    210
    100
    57
    19
See reviews for
61
282
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just back from self drive to this hotel and even the weather was on our side. The hotel is in a poor state of decour but for the price we were not bothered but would not pay the summer prices for the room we had(sink for washing in the bedroom away from the other amenities). The young waitress by the name of Reni? Was friendly and pleasant with nothing too much trouble for her to make our stay enjoyable. As I said before the bedrooms are not what is expected in 2014. Would go again to this hotel but only after a upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddragonWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you ReddraggonWrexham, for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that overall you seemed to have a good holiday. I am sorry you did not find the bedrooms to your liking, we do have an on-going programme of refurbishment, with bedrooms and public area’s planned for 2015. Hopefully you will return again and see the changes in the hotel. Thank you for your comments about Rene, she is a great girl, I will pass on your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our 3rd Bay Hotel this year.This one best of the three. Firstly the staff,atmosphere and ambiance were great, meals were o.k. and staff good until shortages forced a couple of changes later in the week.The entertainment was first class even with the competition from the world cup. The sun shone every day and Shearings were unable to charge this as an extra
The downside was our bathroom although spotlessly clean.plumbing was out of the Ark and the taps needed grips to turn them on and off. The age of the hotel is no excuse
for shoddy cheap upgrades. I urge Shearings to spend some money on decent quality workmanship. Beds were rock hard as usual but taking our own bed topper cures this. As usual bar prices were .O.T.T.and the £5 a night fee to park your car is quite frankly disgraceful as is the offer of a bottle of water on the hospitality tray for an extra charge of £2. Shearings are in danger of the ,extras, menu offered exceeding the brochure price of the holiday.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOXMAN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you BOXMAN57, for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
Thank you for all your comments. I am very pleased that overall you had a great holiday. We do have an on-going programme of refurbishment and hopefully you will visit again and see some changes in the hotel. I am sorry you did not feel the car parking was acceptable, however all our parking is now pre-paid. I hope this does not put you off a return visit. There is ‘free’ road parking not too far from the hotel if you want to avoid the extra costs. I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff are friendly very helpful, close to shops and amenities and beach, quite flat,
Special thanks to Cathy, John, Kgrere, Andy, Dee, Cara, Vinnie, Tyler, Cleaners and another special thanks to Nick Head Chef your doing a cracking job, your food is top class right portions and excellent selection of dishes. If by any chance you do not like any of the dishes on the menu Nick Head Cheff will speak to you and arrange your dietary or liking of meals with no fuss.
Clean and very comfortable rooms, good selection of drink.
Sea veiw rooms are amazing to look over Paignton to Torquay.
Could do with Parasols for the beautiful garden area so you can enjoy the gardens and keep cool.
Definitely going back again.
Thanks again for help making our 20th Anniversary Special.

Room Tip: Sea Veiw rooms are realy good and picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJames C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you John James C for taking the time to post your great review.
I remember you and your wife, a lovely couple and am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your anniversary holiday here, which I recall you intended for another week, as the weather was so good. Thank you for all your lovely comments about the staff, which I will pass on. Nick is very pleased to read your kind comments, we always aim to please and will assist with any dietary requirements. We hope to see you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed for a 3 night break, location of hotel was good overlooking sea front at quieter end near harbour. Hotel reasonable with well kept bar and lounge area. Dining room quite dated although service was very good, food was average, with choices at every meal. We booked a sea view room, this was very small, as was the bathroom no bath just shower, small cloakroom sink not enough room for full size and no towel rail for bath towel, it was clostraphobic and uncomfortable very disappointing, on the plus side bedroom was clean and had a glorious sea view. Bay Hotels are good value for money but if you are expecting top class hotels they are not for you.

Room Tip: Book Sea View room but check size some are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilliS_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you LilliS_wales, for taking the time to post a review of your holiday with us.
Thank you for your comments; we do aim to create a great value holiday. I am sorry you did not find the restaurant decor to your liking; however we are intending for further refurbishment of this room in January 2015, the carpets, tables and chairs are all new, the restaurant is being extended, the decor updated, so hopefully you will find it to your satisfaction if you visit again. We do have many small rooms here; however the sea-view sea-views are well worth the extra. I hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A recent 3 night break - our 3rd stay at a Shearings hotel We were not expecting much based on our previous stays - Valley of Rocks Hotel in Lynton - incredibly tatty (wallpaper peeling) rooms with OK food. The Lion Hotel in Hunstanton - room just about OK and food slightly better.
The Esplanade was a welcome change from the minute we walked in. Very helpful and friendly staff - most efficient in the restaurant. Excellent food (but see tips below). Clean and sparkling room. Shame about the poor entertainment but still a lovely break - better than expected !
Many staff at 3 and 4 star hotels should attend a training session at the Esplanade and discover the proper way to look after guests!

Room Tip: If you are slimming or diabetic, take your own sweeteners as these are not supplied in rooms or rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumbo415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you Jumbo415 for taking the time to post a review of your recent holiday with us.
I am very pleased to read your great comments, especially about the helpful & friendly staff and service, which I will pass on. The staff here really are a great team, always endeavouring to create a happy holiday experience. We do have sweeteners available, I am sorry you did not have these on your table in the restaurant. Again thank you for your comments; I hope you may return in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I booked for 5 nights on a DBB break. We did expect this to be an older hotel with reasonable food - the hotel lived up to our expectations, the food didn't. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly, couldn't have been nicer, and our chambermaid, Alison, was lovely and did an excellent job of keeping a very old hotel room very clean. The hotel is old and tatty in most places. Dinner was very uninspiring - the Cesear Salad starter was a sight to behold! and as for breakfast, I think its the smallest English breakfast I have ever seen - the 3 and a half grapefruit segments was just a tad too far in my book in trying to keep costs down. We opted out of the dinner and ended up having just bed and breakfast - not what we really wanted to do. Breakfast and dinner service was very rushed - we were supposed to be on holiday, not very relaxing. The car park charge of £5.00 a day, for a car park that was empty was asking too much - maybe during July and August I could understand it, but not when its sat there empty. We also paid for a sea view room and was disappointed to have an older room when we saw the refurbished one next door! The only good point really is the location of the hotel, very central.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must - ask for a refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindseyD1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased to read how you found the staff to be helpful and friendly; however I am very surprised to read your complaints about the food/service, as it was I (General Manager) who gave you a refund on your dinner package. You came to see me on the Monday morning after having had only dinner on Sunday evening and breakfast on the Monday morning, asking for a refund for dinner for the remainder of your stay (Mon-Fri) as you ‘wanted to do your own thing’. At no time did you complain of problems with the food or service following your 2 meals. We do not usually offer refunds on a pre-booked Dinner, B&B package and this was done as a goodwill gesture, as you said you wanted to eat out and did not want to be restricted to our restaurant opening times or be with the older coach party guests. We usually receive good comments about the food, had you brought any of this to my attention when I spoke to you, I would have tried to rectify any complaints. We cater for 30% self-drive guests and so not all guests are coach party bookings.The car park is all pre-paid and on occasion we do not have parking for all guest rooms, so pre-paid will guarantee a space, however there is free on road parking from 6pm-8pm nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing