We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh to be young again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed 25 September 2010

booked a long weekend with shearings out of paper cost us £75 each.Went with open mind and were very pleasantly suprised staff were great food was good with a reasonable choice of dishes the room was a little on the small side but the view out of window made up for that!
The biggest shock of the weekend was to find that we were the youngest couple in the hotel and at 42 and 37 that takes some doing! The majority of the people in the hotel appeared to be over 60 the majority of them were great but we did come across a few who seemed to expect ritz type service for bargain basement prices my message to them would be to get real.
I have stayed in far worse hotels for a lot more money and would recomend this hotel if you dont mind the odd arrogant oap sit back and enjoy the entertainment!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed for three nights and found the hotel to be excellent value for money. The room was a bit small but it was clean and comfortable and had a wonderful sea view. The food was good. I don't know how they can produce food of this standard for the price they charge and make a profit ! The service was good and staff friendly in all areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suegprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Esplanade and can't wait to go for the next weekend. Admittedly we have a great set of friends for company but we really enjoyed the whole weekend. Our friends have used the hotel before but it was our first visit. We had a sea view room and the room is basic but it is clean and has everything you need. The food choice and quality was good and the staff throughout the hotel are excellent. The entertainment was varied and good. The hotel is located right on the front at Paignton and the bus service along the coast was great. The hotel has been recently decorated in parts. For value for money we would certainly rate this hotel. The only downside were the sea gulls but this is the seaside. Coming from another seaside town I find them a real nuisance, not helped by the fact that visitors still feed them not realising just how vicious and menacing these birds are.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank DaisyMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

our room was at the backof the hotel but we were not disappointed it wasa big room nice furniture and spotless with ample en suite we found it very peaceful yes we could hear seagullsbut its only to be expected the hotel is on the sea front and they didnt keep us awake the food and presentation was excellent with plenty of choice the restaurant staff lovely we had a waiter called ashley his friendly personality made meal times enjoyable as did the person who was working on the morning we left thank you both the bar area was very comfortable and pleasant with lovely views we look foward to going again same room same chef and restaurant staff thank you all

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patsmith715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed for a week with Shearings. The staff are wonderful, couldn't fault them. The room like other people have said was very small and VERY hot although a fan was provided. Window wouldn't open far and as we were at the back on a flat rood we had a lot of seagull noise - day and night! But you expect this at the sea side!! Bathroom was very old and had no window and the fan was useless. but shower (which we had requested) was okay. It was a bit grubby. Some rooms have baths so the person who complained there was no bath obviously didn't request one when they booked! The beach/harbour is a very short walk across a road and a big green. The main street and bus station, amusement arcades, steam railway are 5 min walk for someone with normal mobility. Lots of elderly stay here as it is a Shearings hotel. Food was very good, good variety. Choice of meat, fish, chefs special and vegetarian option. 3 choices of dessert and 3 starters. Service was usually very quick and cheerful. We had a selection of different veg/potatoes each day. I guess the food depends which chef is on. Full English breakfasts are tiny and when I asked for extra bacon one day I was told it wasn't allowed although my husband was allowed an extra sausage each day! The outside area was being decorated and was cordoned off, but who would want to sit there when you have a fabulous espanade just a few mins walk on flat ground?! The main steps were being painted but access was through one of the lounges so it was fine. 2 toddlers were staying while we were there and the staff gave them lots of attention. The staff really were good, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble (except the extra bacon which was very tight!). There is a bar on the main level and also one downstairs where the entertainment room is. There is a large games room with a pool table and a full size snooker table, and darts. If you get the chance to see the variety show at Babbacombe Theatre - go - it is very good! Also Paignton Zoo is worth a visit, and Bygones.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butterfly012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

There is nowhere to start listing what was Not right about this hotel. The staff were friendly and obliging, but I had my doubts if any of the waiters had any training. The noise from the seagulls went on all night - perhaps as it was time for them to rear their young. We couldn't close the window unless we wanted to be stifled, and there was no aircon. "Discover Devon" consisted of isolated cafes/restaurants with expensive gift shops nearby. There was ongoing work in progress which started early morning, therefore there was no outside area in which to relax, and the sun lounge was being attacked.Had we been told BEFORE our arrival, we would have chosen another venue. As it is, we won't be going with Shearings again!l

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalsallPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I have just returned from a week at the Esplanade Hotel at Paignton. Desperate for a makeover. We had not been told of renovation work there until we pulled onto the carpark. It is not the best hotel I have ever been in. Our room was above the kitchens/back yard. . We had noisy birds screaming day and night outside the window. Even local residents were complaining about it. Noise from the kitchens with doors slamming, pots and pans crashing about late at night and early morning. The floorboards creaked so badly we only had about 3 hours sleep per night. The painter underneath our window had his radio going full blast and the machinery outside was also noisy. The sun room and garden were closed and when we asked if there was anywhere to sit outside, the receptionist could only suggest walking across the road and sitting on the beach! Hardly satisfactory at all with these amenities missing.
The bathroom was a corridor. The sink was a tiny cloakroom sink and bending down to wash my hands (I am 5ft 6in) was impossible without pushing the door open with my rear end. I am quite a thin person so heaven help anyone who was taller or bigger than I. The shower fluctuated to either very hot or cold during use. Not good for one who is unsteady on their feet and of course there was no bath. Dining room understaffed but very helpful. Lots of wasted food - 3 dishes of veg for 2 of us. Same veg every night for the whole week. 2 hours to serve dinner - one waiter to 34 tables. Bed linen stained. Best part was BABBACOME THEATRE variety show was fantastic. Entertainment in hotel not bad either. But wouldnt go again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShirleyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing