We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful”
Review of Cherry Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cherry Tree Hotel
Ranked #14 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt like we were home from home. Trish and Alan were fantastic hosts and felt like we had known them for years. We stayed for three nights as a family and catered for all ages. It was lovely talking to you both and the time you had spent with us. The location was fantastic just along the sea front which was what my mum had wanted and she loved it to bits. Thank you for upgrading my brother and nephew as they also enjoyed the sea view.

My room was perfect as I could roll out of bed for a 10K run which was lovely. I also now have a new name called 'wobble pants' from other residents staying at the hotel which I had found amusing.

Thank you for the lovely breakfast and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignt0nBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We are thrilled that your visit to the Cherry Tree was a good experience & that you enjoyed our breakfasts. Using high quality produce - local where we can - certainly helps to make our breakfasts great.
Thank you for the very kind words on our hosting - we have a great passion for what we do & we have the best guests!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return!

Best regards
Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Trish and Alan are fantastic hosts, they go out of their way to make the guests feel welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was high quality and perfect quantity. Views from room was awesome, room in general was comfortable with everything you need. Will definitely be a pleasure to visit again in the future!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank West_Country_Rusty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorquayBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about us & our breakfasts. We are pleased that you liked your room & agree that we do have some awesome views - we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to the Cherry Tree & we really hope that you will come & stay again!

Best regards Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have just had our 5th stay with Alan and Trish although it was just for one night, it was still the same homely welcome and hospitality you get from them, nothing is too much trouble for them and the breakfast is brilliant, We hopefully will be going back in June for a longer stay. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Paignton while Alan and Trish are at The Cherry Tree.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALLAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorquayBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind words about the Cherry Tree & especially about us. We just love having you both to visit and are truly pleased that you enjoy staying with us.

We are really fortunate that Cherry Tree seems to attract wonderful guests - that makes looking after them such an absolute pleasure.

We look forward to seeing you again in June!

Best regards Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend break at Cherry Tree Hotel which was very cosy, homely and friendly with a great breakfast! The location was great with a sea view (room 4) and round the corner from the train station, town centre and had ample car parking. Will definatly return if and when back in Paignton.

Room Tip: Room 4 had 4 poster, sea view and en-suite shower room. Best sleep had in weeks, room small though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorquayBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely words. We are thrilled that you find us cosy, homely & friendly & that you think our breakfasts are great!
We really are fortunate to be in such a glorious spot. All at the Cherry Tree look forward to welcoming you back on your return!

Best regards.
Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you are looking for friendly, helpful, clean & excellent hospitality, then stay at The Cherry Tree Hotel with the fabulous Alan & Trish. As always,an excellent stay in that big PINK hotel...Fabulous warm welcome on our arrival...Breakfast always beautiful and nothing is too much trouble...Alan & Trish provide a friendly atmosphere...They are an amazing couple, who would always try and accommodate your needs where possible.. Highly recommended . Big Hugs xxx
P.S. If you want to watch TV on holiday or short stay (noting a previous review), then you should really read your paper at the breakfast table at home...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignt0nBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We are delighted that you enjoy your visits with us at the Cherry Tree. We look forward to seeing you both too! Thank you so much for your very kind words about the Cherry Tree, the atmosphere & our breakfasts!
We really are fortunate to be in such a glorious spot. All at the Cherry Tree look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards.
Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel was very clean and tidy and the breakfasts good. We were allocated Room 12, advertised as a twin with sea view on the ground floor. The room layout (long and quite narrow with a narrow but tall window) is however not conducive for adults and really is only suitable as a single room or for occupation by younger children. No room for bedside cabinets to be placed next to beds. One very small low chair provided but insufficient room to sit and watch the 12" tv affixed high on the wall. The shower room was cramped and readily steamed up despite an extractor. The proprieters were very pleasant people and the hotel situation was fine with good parking.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12! unless for single occupancy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorquayBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Cherry Tree. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts, and found our standard of cleanliness to your liking.
We are really sorry the room did not meet with your expectations, especially with respect to the size. We do hope you will come & visit us again and take advantage of one of our more spacious sea-facing rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you are looking to enjoy a lovely break, whether a few days or more, then I really recommend that you try and stay at Alan and Trish's Cherry Tree Hotel. The Hotel is exceptionally clean, the breakfast is gorgeous, and their hospitality is so warm and friendly. You immediately feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure your stay is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floss922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignt0nBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Cherry Tree & hope that you will come & stay again!
Best regards Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 97 in Paignton
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Hotel

Address: 10-11 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly Cherry Tree Hotel is ideally placed on Paignton Sea Front, with stunning uninterrupted sea views across the Bay with a wide variety of entertainment just minutes from the front door. Guests can expect a warm welcome and will breakfast like kings on a hearty Full English or vegetarian breakfast in our warm and inviting dining room. Other facilities include our comfortable lounge with games, books and DVD rental and our well stocked bar - perfect for relaxing with friends and family. WiFi is free and avaliable in all rooms. The Cherry Tree is on the flat Paignton seafront & sandy family friendly beaches. We are ideal for exploring the local area as well as the Paignton Zoo, Torquay, Brixham, Totnes, Dartmoor & surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cherry Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing