We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Well that's our third visit over and not disappointed. As usual staff were on top form, efficiently bustling around but still making time to chat to the customers. Whatever you do keep your chef locked in the kitchen, worth his weight in gold. As Arnie said 'I'll be back'

Room Tip: excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

It was nice to see you returning to us again, we appreciate the review and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Marine Hotel Paignton. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff could not do enough for us, they all came out and waved our coach off on the Friday morning. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and all the meals were excellent with plenty to choose from even a good Diabetic selection. There was entertainment on in the lounge bar three nights out of the four.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christopher t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thankyou for your review about your Valentines break. Buckleys have the whole hotel reserved again next year for Valentines so hopefully we may see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I requested a room on low floor but was not happy with the one allocated. We asked if we could be moved and were shown 2 other rooms on the first floor, both of which were suitable. Cases moved from first room to second without asking. Dining room always spotless, food excellent and plenty of choices, especially the desserts (must have put weight on). Waiters and waitresses always very pleasant and never kept waiting at any meals.Bar staff again always pleasant and very friendly. Entertainment 3 nights and bingo 1 night. I must mention Chris Chaplin who was the entertainer on the last evening. Normally guest usually retire early on their last night but not one person left the room until Chris had finished and as most people were 70 plus this says a lot for Chris.
Well done everyone not forgetting our coach drive Adrian for a lovely holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: if you request a room on the low floor make sure it is not near the lift and gents toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winnieinWalkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thankyou for placing a review. I am sorry that your first allocation of room was not suitable but i am pleased to hear that it was dealt with immediately, should you come to see us again please feel free to give us a call prior to arriving to alert us of your requests. Chris Chaplin is a new entertainer to us this year and i am most pleased to hear that everyone is enjoying his performances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just spent a wonderfull few days at this hotel with friends on a nova tour and we couldn't fault it. Beautiful views,the rooms were very good spotlessly clean wonderfully warm,the food was great with plenty of choice,the staff were great especially Sharon who did more than her job when I was taken ill she even stayed well after her shift finished to help us thank you very much Sharon.we hope to return to the hotel in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thankyou for your very kind review. Nova Tours come to stay with us about once per month and always bring a great crowd, it's nice to hear that you enjoyed your first holiday with us. Sharon is an absolute jewel especially when someone is taken poorly, we've often joked that she should be working in care but we certainly wouldn't want to lose her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at the Marine Hotel for New Years Eve 4 day break.
Very good hotel, nice room, food is very nice and the staff are great.
The New Years Eve party was great, really enjoyed the entertainment and games proved by te staff.
We hope to return to the hotel in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thankyou for your review, it is most appreciated. Sorry for the delay in response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have just returned from 5th twixmas holiday with Nova tours this in itself speaks for the good value of this holiday.on arrival there's always a warm welcome with a cup of tea or a mulled wine and warm mince pie its like a family Xmas break as most of us has returned for numerous years,the rooms are very good and spotless,the ensuite bathroom is spacious and modern. The food and service is excellent with a good choice the homemade soup on the first course is one of our favourites,followed by excellent main meals and numerous sweets no one leaves feeling hungry.The nightly entertainment is pretty good although after returning yearly a few of the acts are a bit repetitive, all in all an excellent break from a very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thankyou for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Twixtmas with us once again, Nova have been so inundated with re-bookers that they have booked a second coach to come to us for Twixtmas in 2013. We hope to see you in December for your 6th Twixtmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Spent a long weekend here a couple of weeks ago on a Tinsel & Turkey break. I have to say that we had a really great time thanks to the very genuine and most helpful staff. Our party was made up of two couples, our friends together with my wife and I. My wife is disabled and in a wheelchair and although this hotel does not promote itself on the facilites for this, they could not have been more helpfull in ensuring that we were all made to feel special. We haven't laughted so much in quite a while. The room was comfy and warm, the water always hot, the food was excellent and plenty of it, good entertainment in an overall great location. What more could you want? We have travelled considerably over the years to quite a few countries and stayed in all classes of hotel including Hiltons etc., but we have never received the simple quality of service that we did here. Well done Guys!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thankyou for your review. We very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £80 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing