We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellgreen Lodges Annual Hoilday”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wellgreen Lodges Annual Hoilday”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is the second time that we as a group have been to this hotel and it certainly wont be the last
Pur group consisted of 18 older people the eldest of whom is 95 but al of them recycled teenagers!
From the moment we arrived we were well looked after by Nicola and her team
The food was great and the entertainment was up to its usual high standard
The hotel has been newly refurbished and the rooms reflect this with well chosen decor and nice bathrooms
This hotel is a joy to visit and I would highly recommend it to groups and families

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyS1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thankyou for your review. It is most appreciated. We always have a good laugh with your 're-cycled teenagers!'. We look forward to seeing you all again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    34
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
74
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My family and I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last few years. The hotel is in an ideal location, right on the seafront in Paignton. The staff are always very welcoming and friendly and the rooms are lovely and comfortable. The meals are always tasty and varied and the breakfast sets you up for the day! There is also a bar and quite often evening entertainment. I would highly recommend that anyone going to Paignton should stay in this hotel as they will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thankyou for your review Penny, it is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I so needed a break from the pressures that we were experienceing and we booked four nights in this hotel half board the week after Easter. We were given a super room with a sea view, very comfortable bed and a table for two in the dining room where we had excellant breakfasts and evening meals. We celebrated our 58th wedding anniversary on the second day and could not have wished to be anywehere else. The staff from the management to the cleaners were all so friendly and helpful. Deserves to go on being successful.Jean and Francis

Room Tip: Sea facing bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanDerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thankyou for your kind review. I am glad that we could be the getaway that you were hoping for! We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It's a nice enough hotel apart from breakfast is served from 8:30 - 9:30 and dinner is served 18:30 - 19:30 and you have to choose what you want for dinner at breakfast time.
All the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and tidy, the rooms are ok, if a little dated.
The food is nicely cooked and always served hot.
A couple of niggles, the TV remote in my room didn't work properly and one morning there was no hot water.
The hotel is situated just off the seafront, with views of the beach and it has a small car park, it seems to cater for coach parties mainly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomroyce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thankyou for posting a review for us. You are absolutely right, as a 2 star hotel situated where we are on the seafront in Paignton, our main business is coach holidays and holiday makers and has been for about 30 years , although we do get to look after some business people from time to time.

We hadn't realised that the breakfast time was a problem for you, if you had mentioned it we could have arranged an earlier breakfast for you as we have for other guests in the past. I am sorry to hear that your remote control was only working occasionally, if you had reported it to a member of staff, we would have replaced it immediately. There was indeed a problem with the hot water one morning which was rectified when we were made aware.

Once again, we appreciate your comments which will help us to look after our business guests better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Been here many times and you really cannot fault this hotel or the staff! If your staying in Paignton this has to be the place to stay. I have taken many people to stay here over the last 5 years with a great deal of customer satisfaction. Well done to Paul and Nicola and all the staff for doing such a great job.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robertworley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thankyou for your review, we look forward to seeing you again at the end of the month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Well that's our third visit over and not disappointed. As usual staff were on top form, efficiently bustling around but still making time to chat to the customers. Whatever you do keep your chef locked in the kitchen, worth his weight in gold. As Arnie said 'I'll be back'

Room Tip: excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
It was nice to see you returning to us again, we appreciate the review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Marine Hotel Paignton. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff could not do enough for us, they all came out and waved our coach off on the Friday morning. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and all the meals were excellent with plenty to choose from even a good Diabetic selection. There was entertainment on in the lounge bar three nights out of the four.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thankyou for your review about your Valentines break. Buckleys have the whole hotel reserved again next year for Valentines so hopefully we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing