We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sonachan House(Paignton)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Kingswinford Guest House(Paignton)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Beverley Holidays(Paignton)(Great Value!)
US$43
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
183
41
6
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
41
6
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontnothing is too much troublenext yearevening entertainmentwould highly recommend this hotelsea viewcoach partyturkey and tinselvisited this hotelclose to shopscannot faultthis lovely hotelthird visitcoach holidayhigh standardmy mumshort break
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have just returned from a group stay at the marine hotel....the stay was for pensioners and I am 39.

Check in was fast and luggage brought to room very swiftly.
The room was spoltless and comfortable with complimentary tea and coffee.

The staff made my holiday it was like staying with family..nothing was too much for them...this maybe be a three star hotel...forget it the staff and food make it five star.

The entertainment was great...singers magicians...exceptional...would compare to semi professional acts I have seen in my time.

This was my first ever holiday in UK and I was unsure...I am used to Carribean all inclusive...but I really enjoyed my stay..they weather was foul outside but i was sun and smiles all round in the hotel.

Me and my father run a coach company and this was our first but by no means last stay.

Well done Marine Hotel...miss you back in March xxxx Tracey

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trace h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to give us such a lovely review, the staff will be chuffed to read it (i always print our new reviews off for the staff to read). I am pleased to hear that you thought we were a 3 star hotel as we are only actually a 2 star! Hopefully we will be able to look after you and your company at some point in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Having just returned from another wonderful weeks stay at The Marine, we would very much like to thank all staff and management for giving us a fantastic autumn holiday.
It would appear that nothing is too much trouble, service, food and entertainment, first class, so good in fact that we could not leave without booking for 2014, how good a recommendation is that!!!
Thanks again to everybody, see you all soon.
Ed and Julie Arnold

Room Tip: Room 311 is fantastic, but we have already booked it for next year.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thankyou for your review. As always it was a pleasure looking after you, and giving you a bit of grief too! lol. Take care and we will look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our experience was not good. Ordered 2 larger shandy from the bar. I gave £20.00 over had £1.1p change. I waited for more money. Then was told you will have to wait till tomorrow. The girl then told me in the morning the till was right over breakfast. I later asked the other person behind the bar. If she left this girl behind the bar on her own. I was told in no uncertain terms no. I was made to feel very uneasy. I know for a fact she did leave the girl in the bar on her own as she went to collect glasses. I was watching. We also asked the chap behind the desk. We were left feeling very uneasy about the place. Last day service was very poor. Our room was above the kitchen. Which did smell of the cooking all evening. I am still wondering how 2 larger shandy come to £3.99. I did not think there was anything to buy for half a pence. Any way I could not air my view. It all fell on deaf ears.

Room Tip: Don't really know here. I was told when we arrived this was there favourite room. A 4ft bed with a single duvet to fight over all night. Will never stay here again.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Owner at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

I feel that we must respond to your review. The lady in question who was on the bar that evening has worked with us for 6 years and is a very trusted member of staff, however, we do take any incident of this kind very seriously. She has been questioned about the incident and we have looked at the CCTV footage from the camera behind the bar. She has said that you asked for 2 halves of draught cider but as we don't have it you had a bottle of our local cider (£2.75) split between 2 glasses and then topped up with a dash of lemonade in each (2x60P) so the cost was £3.95, you gave her £5 note and were given £1.05 change. You then said that you had given a £20 and the staff member explained that she would have to wait for the till to be checked in the morning by the manager. After the till had been cashed up the next morning, it was indeed correct. You questioned whether she was left on her own at all, i can only assume as you think that she had taken the money, i can assure you that this is definately not the case. The man you spoke to is actually the manager of the hotel who gave you the oppertunity to look through the CCTV footage with him but you declined. I am afraid to say that this time you were mistaken so to write a review on here grading us as poor is very unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Marine hotel Paignton devon.
just returned from a four night break at the above hotel, everything about it was first class.
Travelling with Buckleys Coach Tours,we arrived at the hotel to find teas and coffees waiting for us.Our cases were taken up to our rooms. Our room, indeed the whole hotel was spotless and well decorated.Meals were very good especially dinners ,where the menu was varied and imaginative.
Restaurant staff were very quick and very efficient and BRITISH1!
All in all,an excellent break.
we will return.
Marje & Phil Ridgewell.

Room Tip: sea view room 310
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review for us. It is appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

me and my mom stayed hear in august 2013 for 4 night and the service we got was 5***** all the staff were polite&professional, my mom suffers with an eating condition and can take about 1 to 2 hrs to eat her food and the owners and staff were more than accomodating to this they never made her feel rushed or in the way like some hotels we have stayed in before,the entertainment put on was excellent,a very clean&professionally run hotel & from my experience the best food iv'e tasted in all our 17 days stay in devon&dorset (thank you chef) hence we shall certainly return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speedy1767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to give us a review. It was a pleasure to look after you and your mum, we are glad that you enjoyed your break with us, it was nice to have a chat with you both once everyone else had left the dining room. Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews