We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I only stayed here for one night on our way back from Cornwall and had an excellent stay. The room was nice, the food was fantastic and the entertainment was great. We only wish we could have stayed longer but we do plan to go again. The only bad thing is their was no swimming pool but the sea is just across the road if you can stand the temperature.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on the seafront so seaview rooms will have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckers923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thankyou for your review, we hope that you will come and visit us again sometime and maybe you'll be able to stay a little longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

As joint organiser for a social club I have to say that this Hotel is one of the best hotels our group has had the pleasure to stay at. Everything from our arrival on the Thursday to our departure on Monday went smoothly. Cases were unloaded from the coach and taken to our rooms while we enjoyed a cup of Tea/Coffee in the main lounge. Everyone appeared to be satisfied with their rooms and the service, as I heard no adverse comments or complaints only praise during our stay. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, the food was very good and the varied menu suited everyone’s taste. Amongst our group are a few vegetarians and their needs were amply catered for. The evening entertainment was very good especially the zany Chris Chaplin (love you) and Peter Baffles the Magician who really did baffle us with his card tricks and illusions, I still don’t know how he managed to turn three doves into a duck at the conclusion of his act. On the other two nights the entertainers were singers with similar acts performing songs from the Musicals and the Rat Pack.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marine Hotel and would certainly like to return there again, Paul and Nicola are justifiable proud of both the hotel and their staff and rightly so. Well done to them and their staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thankyou for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you were all pleased with your first visit to us, i will pass on your kind words to our entertainers as well. Hopefully you will all come back to see us at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well situated hotel - on sea front and close to shops, harbour and attractions.
We have been taking groups to the Marine for several years and are sure of a warm welcome for our guests.
The efficient and friendly staff, good choice of menu and entertainment all make for an enjoyable holiday for our groups. The bedrooms are bright and very clean and cared for and the lounges are comfortable to relax in and watch the world go by.
A well run friendly hotel for groups with a good team to look after you. Very well priced and an added bonus is on site coach parking. We have already booked for 2014.

Room Tip: Always advise the hotel of any special requests when you make your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to give us a review. It was a pleasure looking after you, not so sure about Terry though! lol. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have just returned from a group stay at the marine hotel....the stay was for pensioners and I am 39.

Check in was fast and luggage brought to room very swiftly.
The room was spoltless and comfortable with complimentary tea and coffee.

The staff made my holiday it was like staying with family..nothing was too much for them...this maybe be a three star hotel...forget it the staff and food make it five star.

The entertainment was great...singers magicians...exceptional...would compare to semi professional acts I have seen in my time.

This was my first ever holiday in UK and I was unsure...I am used to Carribean all inclusive...but I really enjoyed my stay..they weather was foul outside but i was sun and smiles all round in the hotel.

Me and my father run a coach company and this was our first but by no means last stay.

Well done Marine Hotel...miss you back in March xxxx Tracey

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trace h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to give us such a lovely review, the staff will be chuffed to read it (i always print our new reviews off for the staff to read). I am pleased to hear that you thought we were a 3 star hotel as we are only actually a 2 star! Hopefully we will be able to look after you and your company at some point in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Having just returned from another wonderful weeks stay at The Marine, we would very much like to thank all staff and management for giving us a fantastic autumn holiday.
It would appear that nothing is too much trouble, service, food and entertainment, first class, so good in fact that we could not leave without booking for 2014, how good a recommendation is that!!!
Thanks again to everybody, see you all soon.
Ed and Julie Arnold

Room Tip: Room 311 is fantastic, but we have already booked it for next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thankyou for your review. As always it was a pleasure looking after you, and giving you a bit of grief too! lol. Take care and we will look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our experience was not good. Ordered 2 larger shandy from the bar. I gave £20.00 over had £1.1p change. I waited for more money. Then was told you will have to wait till tomorrow. The girl then told me in the morning the till was right over breakfast. I later asked the other person behind the bar. If she left this girl behind the bar on her own. I was told in no uncertain terms no. I was made to feel very uneasy. I know for a fact she did leave the girl in the bar on her own as she went to collect glasses. I was watching. We also asked the chap behind the desk. We were left feeling very uneasy about the place. Last day service was very poor. Our room was above the kitchen. Which did smell of the cooking all evening. I am still wondering how 2 larger shandy come to £3.99. I did not think there was anything to buy for half a pence. Any way I could not air my view. It all fell on deaf ears.

Room Tip: Don't really know here. I was told when we arrived this was there favourite room. A 4ft bed with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Owner at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

I feel that we must respond to your review. The lady in question who was on the bar that evening has worked with us for 6 years and is a very trusted member of staff, however, we do take any incident of this kind very seriously. She has been questioned about the incident and we have looked at the CCTV footage from the camera behind the bar. She has said that you asked for 2 halves of draught cider but as we don't have it you had a bottle of our local cider (£2.75) split between 2 glasses and then topped up with a dash of lemonade in each (2x60P) so the cost was £3.95, you gave her £5 note and were given £1.05 change. You then said that you had given a £20 and the staff member explained that she would have to wait for the till to be checked in the morning by the manager. After the till had been cashed up the next morning, it was indeed correct. You questioned whether she was left on her own at all, i can only assume as you think that she had taken the money, i can assure you that this is definately not the case. The man you spoke to is actually the manager of the hotel who gave you the oppertunity to look through the CCTV footage with him but you declined. I am afraid to say that this time you were mistaken so to write a review on here grading us as poor is very unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Marine hotel Paignton devon.
just returned from a four night break at the above hotel, everything about it was first class.
Travelling with Buckleys Coach Tours,we arrived at the hotel to find teas and coffees waiting for us.Our cases were taken up to our rooms. Our room, indeed the whole hotel was spotless and well decorated.Meals were very good especially dinners ,where the menu was varied and imaginative.
Restaurant staff were very quick and very efficient and BRITISH1!
All in all,an excellent break.
we will return.
Marje & Phil Ridgewell.

Room Tip: sea view room 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review for us. It is appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £78 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing