We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay.”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I would like to thank Nicola & Paul for a lovely relaxing stay. We stayed at the Marine hotel for the BMAD weekend. Our room was large clean and very comfortable with a side sea view. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Only stayed B&B but have to say the breakfasts were very good. The bar area has a lovely views to the sea, great comfortable seats and prices are very reasonable. Only problem the bar closed early as it wasn't busy. Not the Hotel fault just needed more customers. We had a wonderful stay and have rebooked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thankyou for your kind words about your stay with us.

We are glad that you were happy with your break and look forward to seeing you for BMAD weekend again next year if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    34
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
74
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rodborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are 12 retired persons who once a year around spring (when it gets a tad warmer) time look for something different to do. This year we decided on the "Round Robin Trip" Paignton/Totnes/Dartmouth, nice day out if you every fancy it.
Are week-end was made all the better by choosing to stay at the "Marine Hotel", absolutely brilliant, lovely clean room, excellent service, all staff were just great, could not be faulted in any way, a credit to both managers Nicola & Paul Monkhouse, two people who are defiantly in the right jobs.
If we ever decide on Paignton again for our week-end get together this will be our first port of call.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have lovely view of the Harbour and Sea Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontyC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write such kind words for us 'Monty'. It was lovely to meet you and your friends, hopefully you might come and visit us again at some point as a group but if not, you are most welcome to pop in for a cuppa anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Would recommend to everyone very welcoming staff are lovely (happy birthday Nicola) will accommodate any varied diet like mine cheesecake for breakfast that good already booked for next year !!! We had the bar opened all evening for us it's enjoyable to relax and watch the world go by .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review for us Laura. It was lovely to meet you and your friends this weekend. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for the BMAD festival and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. I had a lovely birthday, thankyou once again for my card from you guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at The Marine with my job as a coach driver for the first time in March and what a pleasure it was to do my job from here.
Its EXACTLY what a hotel should be, from the warm welcome on arrival to the the genuine goodbyes on departure. Every passenger on the coach holiday was so impressed with everything here. Rooms, Food, Entertainment, Cleanliness, Service in the Restaurant and so on.....

I stay in hotels most weeks and don't normally leave reviews, but i have to on this occasion as the manager and staff deserve all credit for the hard work they put in here.

If your looking for a hotel in this area the i can strongly recommend The Marine. I even look forward to going there next time, even though i`m doing my job. Its a pleasure to see all my passengers so happy.

Thank you to all at The Marine........ ;-)

Room Tip: Every room i seen was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coachdriver449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thankyou Leigh for posting such a nice review for us. It was a pleasure to meet you again and have the chance to show you and your company what we do. We look forward to taking care of more of your passengers in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

6th visit great as always not been for 15 months and bar staff knew our order without asking great food and room fine downstairs as we have dog very convenient straight out into gardens. cant wait to go again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
It was lovely to see you both (and Pippa) back again. Thankyou for posting your lovely review. We'll look forward to seeing you in August for your husbands birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had a 3 night stay and I cannot fault the effort that the staff put into making that stay the best possible. A lovely clean and welcoming twin room, comfortable beds and clean bathroom - what more could you ask for. Tea & coffee included and room cleaned and beds made every day. The food was delicious and the service was spot on. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and am hoping to return for my second visit, and that won't be the last.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased that you were impressed with your first stay. Hopefully we'll see you again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just returned from yet another great week's stay at The Marine, still as good as ever, food, staff, accommodation, everything really, nothing too much trouble. Forget about the recent flooding and travel disruptions in the South West, had a wonderful weeks break, everything open and clean, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 311 is our choice, but all front facing rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
It was lovely to see you both again as always. Thankyou for taking the time to write a review for us. We'll look forward to taking care of you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing