We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place,perfect holiday”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect place,perfect holiday”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spent a week in a hotel that catered for mature people who are looking for good food,good service and friendly staff who helped to make the holiday such enjoyable experience. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who likes to be entertained by good quality professional acts in a friendly atmosphere amongst people who all seem to be enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ericreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post a lovely review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves throughout your week with us. Hopefully you will come and visit us again sometime? We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    34
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
75
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Speaking as someone under 65 and actually under 50, I've just spent three nights at the Marine Hotel and had a fantastic stay. My party had two rooms and were completely happy. Our room was perfect on the side of the hotel with a bay window, a couple of armchairs and a sea view.
This was my third stay at the hotel and the best so far. We did not have dinner on any of the evenings as there are so many restaurants within walking distance and we prefer the variation. Breakfast was always superb. I had mentioned before in another review that the breakfast felt rushed as they were trying to get a coach party or two away on time. As long as you ask the very friendly dining room staff to give you a minute, everything is fine and you can eat at your own pace.
The cliental is generally over 65 but they are just older people not aliens. I'm sure their standards are no lower than anyone younger. You'll find this generation always up for a chat and very good company. My youngest daughter is 18 and commented how nice it was to talk to people when so many now are not very sociable.
You may find the evening entertainment a little cheesy but you don't have to watch it. There is a conservatory with a sea view to enjoy your evening lemonade, but I'm sure everybody secretly loves a "Comigician", don't they?

Thanks to all the staff for a very pleasant visit and especially for looking after the two youngsters who thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thankyou so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review for us.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us even more than last time and also that Emily & Billy had such a good time too. We all look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are over 65 this is definetly the place for you but anyone younger avoid like the plague. Dinner is served between 630pm and 7pm and a bell goes of to tell you it's dinner time we arrived at 5pm to be asked to do our dinner order straight away bell went and we went down to the dining area we had our starters out within seconds of arriving we had but our cutlery down and plates cleared imidiatley then second course was placed in front of us my partner was scared to put his fork down to have a drink incase they took his plate then as the first course the plates were removed and we were asked what desert we would like never felt so rushed at a meal in my life hence we only eat there 1 night after paying for 3 next morning we wanted a lie in and didn't go for breakfast so they called the room at 9am to ask us to place our dinner order ASAP hello we are on holiday and don't want disturbed didn't have dinner that night but had breakfast the next morning again it was get them in and out ASAP scared to put fork down that's the last we eat there and to top it all of we had a strange man walk in our room on the day of check out at just before 9 when we didn't need to check out till 10.30am and that bloody Bell felt like I was a kid back at school like I said ok if your 65+ don't go there if your under that we paid that but extra as there was cheaper because we thought you pay for what you get one hotel 2 doors down was half the price the reviews on here are wrong we had a basic room above the fan in the dinning area noisy and a tiny room for £130 a night Faulty towers would have been better

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review for us. We are very sorry that you left us feeling disappointed.
You are absolutely right, the majority of our clientele are indeed 65+ and keep us very busy, but we do aim to look after everyone equally. I am sorry that you found our evening meal service too fast for you, at any point you could have asked to be left for little while and we would have made a note for following meals.

We can only apologise for the interruption on your departure morning, as Paul (manager) explained to you, the man who walked in was one of our housekeeping staff and he had made a mistake thinking that your room belonged to the coach party who had just departed. There is no excuse for this and that member of staff has been suitably repremanded and re-trained on the departure protocol.

By way of an apology, Paul did take £50 off your bill.

I do feel it is unfair for you to say that our reviews on here are wrong as they are genuine reviews posted by previous guests who, for reference, were not all 65+.

As i said, we are sorry that you left us feeling disappointed but we will take guidance from the points you have mentioned and aim to avoid such disappointment in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I would like to thank Nicola & Paul for a lovely relaxing stay. We stayed at the Marine hotel for the BMAD weekend. Our room was large clean and very comfortable with a side sea view. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Only stayed B&B but have to say the breakfasts were very good. The bar area has a lovely views to the sea, great comfortable seats and prices are very reasonable. Only problem the bar closed early as it wasn't busy. Not the Hotel fault just needed more customers. We had a wonderful stay and have rebooked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thankyou for your kind words about your stay with us.

We are glad that you were happy with your break and look forward to seeing you for BMAD weekend again next year if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodborough
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are 12 retired persons who once a year around spring (when it gets a tad warmer) time look for something different to do. This year we decided on the "Round Robin Trip" Paignton/Totnes/Dartmouth, nice day out if you every fancy it.
Are week-end was made all the better by choosing to stay at the "Marine Hotel", absolutely brilliant, lovely clean room, excellent service, all staff were just great, could not be faulted in any way, a credit to both managers Nicola & Paul Monkhouse, two people who are defiantly in the right jobs.
If we ever decide on Paignton again for our week-end get together this will be our first port of call.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have lovely view of the Harbour and Sea Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontyC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write such kind words for us 'Monty'. It was lovely to meet you and your friends, hopefully you might come and visit us again at some point as a group but if not, you are most welcome to pop in for a cuppa anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Would recommend to everyone very welcoming staff are lovely (happy birthday Nicola) will accommodate any varied diet like mine cheesecake for breakfast that good already booked for next year !!! We had the bar opened all evening for us it's enjoyable to relax and watch the world go by .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review for us Laura. It was lovely to meet you and your friends this weekend. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for the BMAD festival and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. I had a lovely birthday, thankyou once again for my card from you guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at The Marine with my job as a coach driver for the first time in March and what a pleasure it was to do my job from here.
Its EXACTLY what a hotel should be, from the warm welcome on arrival to the the genuine goodbyes on departure. Every passenger on the coach holiday was so impressed with everything here. Rooms, Food, Entertainment, Cleanliness, Service in the Restaurant and so on.....

I stay in hotels most weeks and don't normally leave reviews, but i have to on this occasion as the manager and staff deserve all credit for the hard work they put in here.

If your looking for a hotel in this area the i can strongly recommend The Marine. I even look forward to going there next time, even though i`m doing my job. Its a pleasure to see all my passengers so happy.

Thank you to all at The Marine........ ;-)

Room Tip: Every room i seen was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coachdriver449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thankyou Leigh for posting such a nice review for us. It was a pleasure to meet you again and have the chance to show you and your company what we do. We look forward to taking care of more of your passengers in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing