We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely 3 night stay with my two grandaughters.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paignton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paignton Court Hotel
Ranked #23 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely 3 night stay with my two grandaughters.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

What a wonderful child centered establishment. The hotel is traditional, warm and comfortable, the bedroom and beds were welcoming after a long days travelling. Les's chips and omlettes were some of the best we have tasted. The girls had pancakes every morning they were so delicious and I really enjoyed my traditional breakfast. Both Les and Cynthia took an interest in the girls and engaged them in conversation despite the fact that the dining room was busy. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and are looking forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great, we were in room 9 which has a large double bed and bunks for the two girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    14
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We only stayed 1 night and chose this hotel to accomadate our mum who has a disability with stairs.. We were greated with a very warm and friendly welcome, I was shown mums room first and they had put a raised frame around mums toilet and made sure everything was ok for her. We were given the room next door so we could be near by. We all had a very comfortable night in very cosy beds.In the morning we explained mum couldnt get to breakfast as the dinning room was located downstairs, although i must add there is a ramp leading to the dining room but due to the rain we didnt want to risk mum slipping. Within minuites the owner had appeared with mums lovely cooked brekkie on a tray for her to eat in her room. Mum was overjoyed with this and was so thankful for the effort that was put in to make her stay so welcoming... Just want to say we will return and want to say a huge thankyou for all your efforts

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

What a fantastic break! Our hosts les,cynthia,haley and family are wonderful hosts. We stayed at this hotel in April 2011 with the old hosts who did not inform us the hotel was sold already, so it was a wonderful surprise to hear of new hosts. They have been so busy over the summer its only now that the updating is taking place, the decor will be fantastic.
Everyday we were treated to a wonderful selection at breakfast fuelled up for our days out around the area. We arrived by train with the hotel within a 10 minute walk or if you ring the hotel les will collect you. The bus station is also next to the railway station.
This is an old villa and yes the floorboards creak the walls are thin but thats the charactor of this hotel. We had an issue with the smell in our shower buts les dealt with it straight away.
When the evenings were wet we had their supper wonderful homemade chips burgers or sausages, omelets.
To those who moan on the computer, discuss your issue with the family first.

Janet and Phillip Williams-Hereford

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I am afraid the mix up with our non payment of the £50 deposit which we thought we had paid in March but apparently payment did not go through ruined our stay.
I do not think your establishment is very well organised and regret we will not be staying there again.
I also think the room we were given was not worth the £60 per night we were charged, the room was small, noisy from the main road, the floor was very squeaky and the shower had no power at all.
We also rang to say we would be arriving early so out of courtesy could we use the car park until our room was ready which Les said would be fine, on arrival again out of courtesy my husband rang the bell to inform you of our arrival and was shouted at "check in at 3 see you later darling" and the door slammed in his face!!
We only had breakfast once during our stay due to Cynthia who had worked a 17 hour day on Sunday and made sure all the guests knew this. Slamming down the coffee and toast was not expected.
We did not feel welcome by the female staff/owners but credit to Les he seemed to be doing everything from changing beds to cooking breakfast to DIY.

Room Tip: The location of this hotel is excellent for all amenities. There are other hotels on the same road w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worcestercouple35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was a family run seaside B&B hotel. Great hosts. Easy access to the seafront and Quay west water park. A great breakfast . Parking is limited but there is street parking nearby.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very friendly, family-run hotel. Our week there was a combined business and pleasure visit to Paignton and we couldn't have chosen better accommodation. The Paignton Court is perfectly situated for the centre of town, the excellent beachfront and public transport and we found it most convenient. We were made very welcome and comfortable in the hotel and we had everything we needed to make the most of the week. The breakfast menu has something for everybody and there's more than enough to keep most people going while out and about during the day. Having stayed at many hotels over the years, both overseas and in the UK, this has to be one of the best value and friendliest that we've experienced and we'll most certainly be back there again! Many thanks to Cynthia, Hayley, Les and Paul for making our week in South Devon so pleasant! Message too for Les ...... Nadine says your pancakes are the best and she's now hooked on maple syrup! Hope to see you all again before too long!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 16. Not large but very quiet with a very comfortable bed! Very little noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at paignton court b&b a few weeks ago,we found that the owners were very ignorant,towels were never changed when asked, and they seem to charge whatever they want, when they want, do not ask for any thing extra because you will not get it,if you have children do not go to paignton court as you will be charged £2.00 extra, for a full breakfast, we will not be going there again.

Room Tip: rooms to small need updating, still have 1960 decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pip504150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKH72, General Manager at Paignton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for your comments and I will address them each individually.

1. We treat all guests with the same courtesy and respect that they show us and our rooms.

2. Towels are changed in accordance with B & B guidelines after 4 nights stay unless requested otherwise at a small additional charge of 50p per towel.

3. Children are classed as under 12’s - rooms are priced and terms & conditions are advertised and indicate this. You brought 2 children with you one of which was 14 yrs old, this makes 3 Adults and 1 child. You were advised this fact on being notified of the additional charge, this covers the larger breakfast’s ordered and extra showers etc used.

4. If you were confused with why an additional charge was being levied, we would have been more than happy to explain further but you did not express any concern, confusion or any grievance.

We have had over 180 different people stay with us over the last month and to only received 2 grievances’ we feel we are doing something right, with many of which are set to return next year.

From The Paignton Court Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaways
Seaways
#42 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#12 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 100 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paignton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paignton Court Hotel

Property: Paignton Court Hotel
Address: 17-19 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paignton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paignton Court is a Licenced Bed & Breakfast with our own Large Private Car Park. We are in a convenient location on the level, in walking distance of the beach and shops. All our rooms are En-suite with their own Tea & Coffee making facilities, Flat Screen TV's, Hairdriers etc. We do accept dogs dependent on breed, please contact us first before booking to ensure our dog friendly room is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paignton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paignton Court Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing