We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Grimmett”
Review of Cleve Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cleve Court Hotel
Ranked #27 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“John Grimmett”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I Love this hotel from the moment you arrive Dave the owner is the best host
Food is first class and the bedrooms are wonderful
I lived in paignton for many years and this is the best hotel to visit
Ideal location for public transport
nice bar saves going into town
I go regular have never been disappointed

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you John for your lovely Review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Cleve Court again. We thank you for the Poetry, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes for the New Year.
Carole David and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
27
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

we stayed in room 3 the family room, with a gorgeous sea view (although not classed as sea view). it was so light bright and fresh. the cleanest I have ever seen and I do have OCD tendency. the Beds were fantastic, so comfortable and luxurious. the finishes have a real touch of elegance, a stones through away from the harbor and sea front.
The hosts made my little girl feel really home. breakfast had a wonderful choice and served tea/coffee the breakfast was delightful and perfectly cooked. only complaint the sausage wasn't great quality but the rest was lovely and huge portions.
due to the friendly welcome and superb hotel we hope to stay again very soon. a really gem.
thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for the lovely Review. It was a pleasure to welcome you all to Cleve Court Hotel. We trust you had a good journey home, and hope very much to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards.
Margaret, Carole and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked last minute and are glad we chose the Cleve Hotel. It's in an excellent position and we didn't need to use the car. It was a few minutes walk from the harbour and only about a 5/10 minute walk from the beach and centre. Everyone at the hotel was welcoming and friendly. It was clean and the food was excellent. Have already recommended it to family for perhaps a New Year getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for the lovely Review. It was a pleasure to meet you all, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Cleve Court.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Cleve Court Hotel was clean, the people very kind, the food excellent and the location was great. I would definatley stay there again and recommend it to my family and friends. Thank you for everything.



  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for the lovely Review. It was a pleasure to meet you and welcome you to Cleve Court. We hope you had a good journey home, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our 8th year running at Cleve Court. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!! Clean, welcoming, friendly and perfectly located.

Food was superb and so were the rooms.

Carol, Margaret and Dave are always so friendly and helpful.

It really is like home from home and I wouldn't hesitate recommending Cleve Court to anyone.

Thank you so much and see you next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you all for the lovely Review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Cleve Court. We look forward very much to seeing you again next year, especially for the Quiz night in the Bar, and maybe another trip on the "Big Wheel"!!

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked this hotel on the back of the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were already staying at the Premier Inn at Goodrington, Paignton and wanted to extend our stay in the area.

We originally booked for this hotel for 2 nights and then decided to extend our stay by another night.

We stayed in a Triple room. Our room was very clean and had everything you need for your stay. The staff are excellent, the food is lovely and fresh, we booked in for evening meal for 2 nights and it was excellent value for money. A four course meal with coffee included which came to £48 per person for bed, breakfast and evening meal, not to be faulted.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, excellent all round.

Well Done Dave, Carole and Margaret you have an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely Review. It was a pleasure to meet you all, we were really pleased you could stay the extra night. We trust you had a good journey home, and hope very much to welcome you back to Cleve Court in the future.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked this hotel for a five night stay based upon previous positive reports and agree with most that's been said, but for us it lacked something that would make us say "Wow".

I asked for a quiet room and was allocated Room 19. It is an adequate size as a double room, with high ceiling, modern décor, and plenty of clothes storage (full height double wardrobe, wide chest of drawers and narrow chests beside each bed). It was equipped with a good selection of both toiletries and tea/coffee facilities and had a hair-dryer. It wasn't a perfect room, though. I realise that conversions of old homes into guest houses or small hotels causes challenges and other rooms in this one will be different, but room 19 had a sink in one corner of the room and a really tiny en-suite with shower and WC (but no hand washing) in the diagonally opposite corner. The shower had very limited space in it - it was all too easy to knock the controls whilst showering, causing changes from freezing to scalding hot water with no room to escape the flow whilst you got it back under control! One aspect of this that really disappointed us was that only one bar of soap was provided, meaning it had to be transferred between shower and hand basin. It would be very easy for the owners to provide two, and surely it wouldn't spoil the profitability? I've no doubt that if we'd asked for one it would have been provided (as others have said, the owners are very friendly and obliging) but just feel you shouldn't need to ask.

The bed was comfortable but, unusually these days, had sheets and blankets rather than duvets, and I found this difficult to sleep with.

The room also suffered from road noise, as all those on the left of the house must do; the glazing is the original sash windows so when closed don't help to cut down outside noise as much as modern double-glazed ones do and when open rattle as soon as the wind strengthens. However they are in keeping with the period character of the building. The room was hot during the day so we slept most nights with the window open but had to get up to close it around dawn when the seagulls started calling.

Despite being in the diagonally opposite end of the house from the dining room, the smell of cooked bacon wafted in to the room as breakfast time approached and we enjoyed the many breakfast options (see the sample menu on their website). The cooked breakfasts were good - two rashers of good quality thick-cut bacon were well cooked each morning; although if I'm honest I felt the quality of the sausage let the side down a bit and to my tastes the baked beans had been cooked for too long. Eggs were always cooked freshly to order and service was both friendly and efficient.

We didn't use the evening meal option, nor did we use the bar or the large residents lounge, although both the latter looked impressive for a comparatively small hotel.

The location of this hotel, along with all the others around about it, is handy for the harbour, convenient for both Paignton and Goodrington beaches, and an easy enough stroll to bus station, train station and Paignton's restaurants and attractions. There's a bit of a hill on the way back!

The one negative factor with this hotel, though, has to be over car-parking. The hotel (like many others in the area) lacks enough driveway space for every car to park without blocking others. I felt uncomfortable at having to leave keys for the owner to be able to move cars around to release others when necessary, and (quite frankly) horrified to find that keys were just hung up in an easily accessible location. Whilst the main door is normally shut and locked so only residents should be in the building, I just feel this is an un-necessary security risk and wonder whose insurance would pay out if a car was stolen after the keys were taken from the hotel?

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the building (1, 2, 17, 18 & 19) will get some street noise from cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hailes family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We have been welcoming guests to our small family Hotel for the last 27 years. Our aim is to make your stay as happy and comfortable as possible, so it is with much regret that we feel we have failed you.

We received your booking 3 days before arrival, at such a busy time there was limited accommodation available. The company that you booked with allocated you a nice room but it was near the front entrance. As your request was for a quiet room we moved you to a quiet corner with no other passing guests. The traffic in Roundham Road is only residential at night.

We have no blankets on the bed at the moment, you had a top sheet with a lightweight bedspread, and small throwover at the foot of the bed for your convenience. We do provide duvets in spring/autumn/winter months, they are always available on request.

It gives us pleasure to provide over and above what is required of a 2 star small Hotel to give customer satisfaction, which is important to us. It would have been no problem to provide you with another tablet of soap when you asked our staff for extra shampoo.

We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your breakfast. We use good quality food locally sourced where possible. We would have been happy to provide another type of sausage if you asked either our staff or ourselves.

Parking can be difficult at times, so it was kind of you to consider other users by leaving your keys at Reception. However we are sorry to hear after your departure that you were "horrified" by this for security reasons. We could have kept your keys locked in the office, or left in your room if you had preferred. It is a pity that you did not relate your concerns when checking out, when you asked if you could leave your car on the car park until you were ready to go home later that day.

Owners and staff are all approachable and are passionate about providing excellent customer satisfaction. Whilst all your comments are noted, we regret that you have gone home with these concerns. We would have welcomed the opportunity to improve your stay and overcome some of your difficulties. We always welcome feedback from guests, as we can all benefit from these comments.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#17 of 96 in Paignton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Easton Court Guesthouse
Easton Court Guesthouse
#19 of 96 in Paignton
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amber House
Amber House
#8 of 96 in Paignton
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonachan House
Sonachan House
#9 of 96 in Paignton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleve Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleve Court Hotel

Property: Cleve Court Hotel
Address: 3 Cleveland Road, Paignton TQ4 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleve Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleve Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleve Court Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing