We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly stafff and ideal location”
Review of Cleve Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cleve Court Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The owners and all staff were excellent - friendly without being overbearing, and nothing was too much trouble. Very accomodating to babies - the high chair and baby plates were out and ready for us at our table without asking, every morning - a lovely touch. The hotel was quiet and in a good location. A 5-10 min walk to either Paignton beach or the excellent Goodrington Sands and Quay West water park. Harbour less than 5 mins away for boat trips and restaurants and shops about 10 mins away. Breakfast in terms of taste and variety was excellent. Rooms were OK - always cleaned but the ensuite was a little cramped - not suitable if you of a slightly larger build. Parking on site - good. Recommended for couples, families or with friends, or on your own. We would stay again if we go back to Paignton.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank izelennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely Review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you all again in the future.

Thanking you.
Kind Regards
Ma\rgaret, Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Kind and caring attention ,large, airy comfortable bedroom.
Excellent home cooked varied menu, terrific breakfast choice!
Nothing was too much trouble for the attentive staff.
Thank you ,Margaret, Carole and David for your kind hospitality.
I will return!
Best Wishes.
John Evans

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms ,for the less able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank navyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely Review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Cleve Court, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you had a pleasant journey home, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanking you.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Best in Paignton Lovely greeting when you arrive very clean and nice bedrooms Only had breakfast there but it was excellent and plenty of it .Will be going there again Hope you all do. Good location as its near the harbour.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank geofpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you all for your lovely Review. It was so nice to see you again, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanking you.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We really can't fault this hotel, in fact, we would happily stay again however...
Having stayed in SOOO many hotels around the world, we have never, ever, had our room cleaned whilst we were at breakfast! Never!

Normally, we go for for breakfast, return, finish up and leave the room in a state where we are ready for it to be cleaned (ie. put away our things, lock bags, etc).
We stayed two nights and each time our room was re-made by the time we returned from breakfast!
This was irritating the first morning and then it happened again on the morning we were checking out!! We had yet to shower!

Maybe some Do Not Disturb signs would be helpful!

Nice hosts, fine breakfast...
Parking a bit of a nightmare...

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Citizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for writing a Review - your feedback is always welcome. I am sorry you were unhappy about the early service of your bedroom, we did forget to advise our housekeeping that you were checking out on your second day.

However, we have also travelled to many places and have had our room serviced whilst at breakfast. This is sometimes necessary so that staff can complete their duties.

We apologise that you were unhappy about this, and your comments are noted for the future.

Thanking you.
Margaret, Carole and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful family run guest house with an enviable location. Nestled in amongst residential properties away but, with in walking distance of both Paignton & Goodrington Sands. Stayed here overnight on business midweek, service friendly and accomodating. Room comfortable, cleanliness was faultless but could do with an update in terms of furnishings & fittings. Breakfast service was excellent and surprisingly for a bed & breakfast, a good selection available on the menu. Would recommend & happily revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concierge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your Review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Cleve Court, and wish you every success in the future.

Kind Regards
Margaret Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely hotel, hosts very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The food was excellent and the staff really nice. The room we had (no. 16) was a triple room even though we only booked a double, it was very nice and bright with large bay window in the room, the linen was very clean and the bed very comfortable with plenty of storage space, the en-suite was a bit of a challenge (quite tight!)
Access to the hotel can be a bit of a challenge if you have difficulties with steps. The car parking issue was ok for us as there wasn't many guests the week we stayed but if the hotel was full then I think it might be a bit of a problem. One problem for anybody who has difficulties with stairs is the fact that the diningroom is down a fight of stairs, there is another entrance into the room from outside which could possibly be used but you would still need to go down the entrance steps to get to it.
Overall we had a really enjoyable stay and would recommend Cleve Court to our friends and family.
Thanks, Bill & Barbie Clarke

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the en-suite if you have slight mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your Review. It is always good to get feedback from our Customers. We understand that going downstairs to the dining room can be difficult for some guests. However we try to minimise difficulties with stairs, by offering a bedroom on the ground floor, which was offered to you on arrival. (We have six - most with sea views)

We also have two other entrances/exits into the Hotel - one on the side with two steps, and the other through the gate into the back garden, with just one step.

However we do thank you for your feedback, and hope to see you again some time in the future.

Kind Regards
Margaret Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

i stayed with my family last saturday and enjoyed our stay, very clean rooms.friendly staff and great breakfast plenty of choices parking available nice decor clean linens. easy to get to the beach from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahjahan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely Review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and the family, and we hope very much to see you again in the future.

Thanking you.

Kind Regards
Margaret Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleve Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleve Court Hotel

Address: 3 Cleveland Road, Paignton TQ4 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £73 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleve Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cleve Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleve Court Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing