We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
105
18
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
18
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooked a single roombreakfast menu ishome from homean excellent hotelrecommend this hotelfamily roommy husband and i have justmay bank holidaycleaned dailyclose to townchecking outother guestscouldn't do enoughfriendly hostsnight staycooked freshthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the joy of staying here with our two young sons after making a last minute booking. Thankfully, a family room was available after we had to leave a local caravan site due to unhygienic accommodation. We were overjoyed by the complete contrast of conditions at Cleve Court. This place really does live up to its 5 star rating – it’s warm, friendly, impeccably clean and extremely comfortable in every way. They also provide a World Class breakfast too!

We will definitely be returning as a family next summer. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveKerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your positive Review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you all.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thanking you
Kind regards
Margaret, Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I hate to give a negative review when clearly this is a much loved hotel. I booked several months ago on the basis of a very high score rating on a booking website I use a lot and is usually spot on. The first comment is about the size of our room, it was very small with a very small bathroom which really needed updating . As we were travelling with other friends we looked at their rooms in the hotel which were double if not more the size and much much nicer but we were paying the same price! Perhaps the price issue maybe justified because we had a balcony with sea view but it wasn’t very inviting as it was covered in moss and clearly hadn’t been swept in a long time . Overall the room didn’t feel clean. On the positive there was ample tea and coffee making facilities with cookies and 2 bottles of water a very nice touch. Breakfast was good . Owners were charming and I raised another issue about the room with them directly which they took on board with good grace.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank FUSSYBUTFAIRLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a Review. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the size of the double room. We agree that the bathroom is small and needs upgrading, we have a programme of refurbishment that is always ongoing during the winter months.
The rooms in your party were all allocated by the booking agent, with the exception of the large family room which was booked direct with us, and would have cost more if they had booked online.

Our balconies are swept regularly, and we are lucky to have a good housekeeping team. Unfortunately on this occasion due to recent heavy rain the moss had washed down from the roof onto part of the balcony, which had been missed, and we apologise for. The balconies are furnished with table and chairs to enable guests to enjoy the beautiful view of the Bay, no extra charges are made for these facilities. We are sorry on this occasion you felt you were unable to use them. Our team take pride in their work, every room is thoroughly cleaned after each guest and cleanliness is our priority.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast and found the room facilities to be good.


Thank you.
Kind regards
Margaret, Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a 3 day Bank Holiday break at the Cleeve Court with my Wife and Parents.
Rooms were large and very clean. The breakfast was superb with a fantastic choice.
Dave and Margaret were most welcoming and we spent each night in the large lounge area where the drinks are very reasonable. Dave often came over with a bowl of crisps for us all to enjoy with our drinks, a nice touch. Would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone. A great Hotel and a great host.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet in the evening.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We had a sea view across the bay which was lovely. Our room was very comfortable, although the shower pressure was a little weak. This was the only negative however as the staff were really friendly and the breakfast was great with loads of choice. Good position with only a short walk to Paignton or Goodrington sands. I would happily return if we visit Paignton again

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in an excellent position not too far from the town but far enough away to avoid all the noise. Very friendly hosts and staff and couldn't do enough to help (we even had a lift to the railway station as he was going to visit his daughter). The breakfast was superb with a good choice and plenty to eat. This hotel will be our first choice if staying in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews