We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Magic Bowl - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Magic Bowl
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Not the sleekest place you will visit but I base my 5 star rating on the fact it is so cheap and the good is excellent. You can take your own alcohol, so I would not recommend this place as a romantic setting for 2 but it is brilliant or a group of 4 or more especially if you have big bellies as there is aLOT OF FOOD. Enjoy

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jazcatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stick to what you know...”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Been thinking of trying this place out for a while. It advertises as serving authentic chinese/thai/singapore/malaysian cuisine - similar to some of the noodle bar style restaurants in bigger towns and cities. Well on close inspection the decor isn't great and there are a complexity of bargain deals (all-you-can-eat, etc) so alarm bells rang straight away - we wanted to give it a miss and go to the excellent 'thaisaan' across the road only to find it was closed and so we took the plunge. Apart form the decor and deals, the fact the waiter didn't seem to know any of the items on the menu was a concern. We decided to go a-la-carte and ordered a selection of chinese starters (fried squid, dumplings and curry trigon) then a beef udon and a nasi lemak to follow. The starters were lovely and made us forget about the shabby interior... unfortunately the mains were a let down. The beef udon was greasy and under-seasoned, though the meat was extremely tender. The nasi lemak was terrible - plain boiled rice instead of being flavoured with coconut milk and pandan leaf (the whole point of the dish!), dried out chicken drumsticks covered with a bland chinese curry and potato mash, no fried anchovies or sambal and an incinerated deep fried egg - at least the peanuts were edible. Am convinced the cook has never eaten it themselves and I dread to imagine what the other 'authentic' cuisines on the chef's specials would be like (which also includes chicken omelette and chips).
Now the place was not overly busy but it was popular with taxi drivers across the way and there were several take out deliveries being made, so I can only assume this is where they do best - cheap chinese meal deals. If I ever go again I will stick to the chinese menus and suggest you do the same. Would recommend for a cheap lunch if nothing else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krishnaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Leaving Meal”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I was leaving my job so had my leaving evening there. The staff we really friendly and helpful there was 18 of us. They put up 'good luck' banners for us and all the food was prepared fresh and tasted great. One of the party was a vegan this was not a problem they cooked everything how she wanted it cooked, nothing was too much trouble. Would def go there again. I also had one of their luntime specials 2 courses for £3.50 brilliant value for great food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzytart67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really nice meal and experince........”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

A really nice meal and experince. called in one evening with 3 friends for their £5.50 evening special. Great value for money - plenty to eat, served with a freindly smile in a very pleasant atmospher. This has now become our local for both takeaways and to book a table and a drop in. All round - excellent!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Have visited many times so review is based upon 10 plus visits.
Have never had a bad meal here, always good portions and great tastes, this is a family run establishment and it tells, the owners are always very friendly.

All in all a great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Magic Bowl also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing